Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for FWE Alloy Seatpost

FWE Alloy Seatpost

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Review 1 for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulW1966
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Great. Also great.

Posted03 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Just a seat post, yes but this is EXACTLY what I was looking for. Never thought I'd find it in plain sight... in the FWE range. Great value but also extremely clean lines (and restrained graphics means it doesn't shout LOOK AT ME!).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Land041
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Very happy

Posted09 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Sturdy and reasonably light weight. I wonder if this length is necessary, I cut about 100mm off the end. Would probably go for the 300mm in hindsight. But good quality and good price generally.
Didn't realise when I bought it online, but it is possible to change the angle of the saddle when the bolt is loose. So it can be set to your preference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WheelyBob

Slipping seat post problem solved for twenty quid.

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I went into Evans with a slipping seat post. It twisted during riding and gradually got lower too.
The guy established that the seat tube in the frame was a little out of round so he reamed it out a size and fitted an oversize seat post all for the cost of the part.
Very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
sanddune
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good Value

Posted02 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Not the last word in quality o weight. But hey, it looks fairly nice and has complimented a classic build nicely. Also lets not forget the price, it is great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
luke1992
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Pay for what you get.

Posted12 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I wouldn't say there was anything special about this seat post, and since it is the first one I have bought I have not got much experience. But I can tell you it looks great and if you are not too bothered about weight but more about price i'd say for about £20 you've got yourself a fairly well priced piece of equipment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
laceypa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Does the job at a very decent price

Posted24 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Bought this for my 10 year old's mountain bike - bought it a couple of years ago and she's shot up so the frame is a big small and she was really struggling on longer rides. The stock seat post was pretty limited in its extension so couldn't put the saddle any higher, but the bike itself is still in excellent nick and i didn't want to get rid of it just yet. This was the perfect solution, now the saddle is the right height for her and there is plenty more left to eke the bike out for a bit longer. She is very pleased, and so am i
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
robertt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

good

Posted29 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
fitted and tried out today, all ok, pleased with seatpost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
GrimWilo
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular

Poor quality product

Posted14 December 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I bought this as a replacement for one that was stolen. I had problems with the seat slipping due to the poor design. Evans did refund the cost of the post, which is to their credit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Booboo88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value and solid product

Posted28 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this post to replace one for a commuter bike. I specifically looked for a set back seatpost. I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised and am very happy with it. it is actually much more comfortable than my existing post, I think the setback has something to do with it and with the seat set right back so that there is overhang, it absorbs quite a lot of the shock. Others have complained about the fwe logo which is in an old fashioned font. But it looks great on my bike which is retro anyway. If you don't like the logo, just rub it off with some solvent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
benoobie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Solid product

Posted27 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: fwe logo
Was looking for a chrome/silver seat post for a project bike that i am working on and Evan's measured and ordered this post for me and it arrived in a few days. Post is long enough for my needs, feels solid and looks great with my Brooks saddle and black vintage frame bike. Only con is that there is a small black branding on the post stem which detracts from the overall clean lines.
Ben
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Luke520

Yes but too long for my frame

Posted22 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
For some reason the stem would only drop into my frame by about 200-250mm. This left too much of the stem sticking out for my height so I had to chop it down a bit with a hack saw.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE Alloy Seatpost
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyB1273
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Simple replacement for a knackered old steel post

Posted12 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This post was to replace an old steel post that had a separate saddle mounting gizmo which kept working loose. The new one slotted right into the tube, gripped well when tightened and the saddle mount seems nice and solid.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.