Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape

FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape

Overall rating:
4.274 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
56 out of 62Would you recommend this product to a friend?90%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Review 1 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigredhelmet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Why pay more?

Posted18 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Excellent product - good length and lovely feel. I started at the top of the bars and fed the end into the end of the bars, using the bar plug (Supercaz) to hold it in...just like we used to do. Looks lovely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JB74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Comfy, good range of colours.

Posted12 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfy, good range of colours. Easy to apply, and not sticky, so you can adjust it or remove if you need to. Too early to say how hardwearing it is though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marie88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crouch End

Great product

Posted09 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Good value for money, and does the job! Not the most attractive material but is light weight and comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matt97
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Pretty Good

Posted07 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, nice finish
Cons: Expensive, gets dirty easily
I went for the Dark Blue Bar Tape as it matched my kit.
Being the first time I've wrapped Bar Tape I wasn't too sure how much bang I was getting for my buck...
The quality of the tape so far is pretty good, however the adhesive quality of the specific cut of tape to go under the hood of the bars is far from impressive... I'd recommend you have a roll of electrical tape on hand so you can tape it in place while you're wrapping.
However once fully wrapped and taped in place the tape adds a touch of colour to an otherwise boring area of the bike, the black end plugs are a rather pleasing finishing touch and fit excellently unlike many of the tacky silver ones you see.
When out riding the tape is comfy on the hands however it is getting dirty very easily when in such a dark colour it shouldn't!!
Not tested it in the wet so can't comment on the claim on the box that "provides extra tackiness in the wet" - whatever that's supposed to mean...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chig
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Takes some of the pressure off your hands

Posted30 December 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very comfortable with lots of grip. Also looks good on the bike and available at a reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DD2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great looking bar tape

Posted12 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This tape was great value and looks great. Feels grippy even in the rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dan66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice padded tape

Posted12 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
The extra gel padding on this tape helps give a good grip and soaks up some of the bumbs from the road. Remains to be seen how hardwearing it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blacktooth
Country:United Kingdom
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Posted16 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great feel, looks great too. Highly recommended. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
abcdefg123456
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Good quality

Posted15 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought this tape in the aqua colour instore, good length, comfortable and well padded for longer rides also unusually the finishing tape was quite good (sticky and enough for two full turns of the bar) Looking forward to testing it on the road once I fix the rest of the crash damage!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
daddysamples
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted08 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Had this fitted whilst bike was serviced at Evans. Looks good and feels comfy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PlanetX
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Greatlooking tape

Posted19 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great traditional looking tape with a nice feels and sufficient cushioning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DOTY
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted02 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Good value and does the job. Goes on as easy (or better than) other 'cork' tape. And the end plugs look 'posher' than some other brands!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acadda
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good value, good quaulity

Posted01 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: picks up dirt
Good value quick way to spuce up a bike, for spring or when selling a bike. cannot be beaten, a value upgrade that makes a bike feel new. good choice of colours too
Had the tape fitted a while and is hard wearing and comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cady
Country:United Kingdom

Snazzy Tape

Posted29 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
For my first bar taping experience this stuff was easy to apply and had obvious end tape and bar plugs to insert. The best thing though is it's colour and comfy grip. I'm sure if I was a pro at taping, and had applied it better I would have had a pro finish.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MPDEV
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

It's OK but not great

Posted07 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's sometime since I purchased bar tape and my son's road bike needed re-taping so purchased the FWE product while in the local store. As bar tape its good once its on but the self adhesive backing had no tack and the finishing tapes keep peeling off, again due to low tack. Insulating tape has sorted it but I would not use this product again purely on the installation. My son is happy though so that's all that matters :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kittycat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Castleford

Great cushioning

Posted29 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Loved the choice of colours, also very easy to use. Can't believe how much better the handle bars felt thanks to the Gel effect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tom200686

Posted27 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great tape, I suffer from pains in my hands during long rides but this tape is thick and comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveBloke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Comfy & nice colour

Posted08 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good comfy bar tape with a nice cushioned feel. Goes on easily enough although the tape to secure the final bit not adhesive enough (as with most other bar tapes)
Nice range of colours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wilko27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good value - shame about the adhesive tape

Posted08 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Comfortable bar tape with good padding just a shame the tape to fasten it is not adhesive enough. Had to resort to the trusty insulating tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LemonParty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Standard tape but excellent quality

Posted06 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I purchased this tape to put on my single speed bullhorn bars, and despite it being cheap(er) it is still a good quality tape.
Wrapped easily and has a good spongy feel that hasnt lost any quality a month after being applied.
I am definitely going to swing by and pick up a couple of rolls to keep for spares.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>