Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Handlebar Grips & Tape or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape

FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape

Overall rating:
4.343 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
67 out of 73Would you recommend this product to a friend?92%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Review 1 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TSOC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Good quality bar tape.

Posted30 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: finishing tape
The bar tape itself is perfectly fine, but the finishing tape that comes with it isn't great. So, absolutely fine, but get your own electrical tape to finish it off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zain
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Comfortable on the long rides

Posted13 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This is a really comfortable tape for long rides - definitely recommend. Looks good as well!
The store also fit it for me for free which was an added bonus! LOVE EVANS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrTheodore
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Excellent quality

Posted27 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Just comfy bartape at a good price......not much more to say.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
franco13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Fantastic Value and Better than Advertised!

Posted16 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, easy to fit and refit, set is complete
I wanted to cut down finger numbness on my old tourer I use for 22-40 mile training runs on Surrey roads. I watched tape and gel pads being applied in the Guildford branch (really great helpful crew) and it gave me the confidence to have a go. I bought gel pads and this tape pack which includes everything you need bar scissors! So easy to apply and not overly sticky tape so if you are a perfectionist you can redo the first side to match up with the other if you want. The result is transformational and no way will I ever pay £20, £30 or more as this tape set is perfect - a great buy and double satisfaction doing it myself - thanks Evans Guildford.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhunkyPhil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

As good as Specialized S-WRAP CORK TAPE

Posted25 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I use to use the Specialized S-Wrap Cork Tape but this looks and feels identical and is a lot cheaper.
I don't use the bar ends or sticky tape which comes with the product as I prefer plain electrical tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lizzy155
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Nice tape

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: need more colour choice
Purchased the pink bar tape, found it easy to wrap and also cleans up well. Also found the padding to be very good. Good value also. No need to purchase expensive tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pretty good for the money

Posted11 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Length is good and goes on easy. The backing isn't too sticky so you have the chance to shift around a bit.
I’m sorry to say, there is a “But”, the finishing tape, it’s about as sticky as Teflon! My advice, use isolating tape to finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
luke0770
It was bought:Guildford

great

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit and looks great, what more could you ask for?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DavidJ48
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Very good

Posted21 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Used the FWE and have to say it us very good. Easy to put on and gives as much comfort when riding as the original Bontrager equivalent
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jeroen0110
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good looking but I fear won't stay clean for long

Posted07 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: the brighter colours will get filthy in five secon
I got the Celeste colour to match my bianchi, feels nice and grippy but as its on the bright side it will no doubt get filthy in two rides. Will replace with black. Excellent value though and nice and soft.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rodders69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Generious length

Posted18 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Decent quality, easy to apply no backing tape to get raveled up as you apply tape to the bars, tape has some sort of clear medium applied to the underside to ensure grip to the bars that does away with backing tape.
Also the length of each roll is generous so you are not struggling to ensure full coverage as is the case sometimes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigredhelmet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Why pay more?

Posted18 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Excellent product - good length and lovely feel. I started at the top of the bars and fed the end into the end of the bars, using the bar plug (Supercaz) to hold it in...just like we used to do. Looks lovely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JB74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Comfy, good range of colours.

Posted12 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfy, good range of colours. Easy to apply, and not sticky, so you can adjust it or remove if you need to. Too early to say how hardwearing it is though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marie88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crouch End

Great product

Posted09 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Good value for money, and does the job! Not the most attractive material but is light weight and comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matt97
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Pretty Good

Posted07 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, nice finish
Cons: Expensive, gets dirty easily
I went for the Dark Blue Bar Tape as it matched my kit.
Being the first time I've wrapped Bar Tape I wasn't too sure how much bang I was getting for my buck...
The quality of the tape so far is pretty good, however the adhesive quality of the specific cut of tape to go under the hood of the bars is far from impressive... I'd recommend you have a roll of electrical tape on hand so you can tape it in place while you're wrapping.
However once fully wrapped and taped in place the tape adds a touch of colour to an otherwise boring area of the bike, the black end plugs are a rather pleasing finishing touch and fit excellently unlike many of the tacky silver ones you see.
When out riding the tape is comfy on the hands however it is getting dirty very easily when in such a dark colour it shouldn't!!
Not tested it in the wet so can't comment on the claim on the box that "provides extra tackiness in the wet" - whatever that's supposed to mean...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chig
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Takes some of the pressure off your hands

Posted30 December 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very comfortable with lots of grip. Also looks good on the bike and available at a reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DD2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great looking bar tape

Posted12 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This tape was great value and looks great. Feels grippy even in the rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dan66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice padded tape

Posted12 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
The extra gel padding on this tape helps give a good grip and soaks up some of the bumbs from the road. Remains to be seen how hardwearing it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blacktooth
Country:United Kingdom
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Posted16 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great feel, looks great too. Highly recommended. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
abcdefg123456
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Good quality

Posted15 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought this tape in the aqua colour instore, good length, comfortable and well padded for longer rides also unusually the finishing tape was quite good (sticky and enough for two full turns of the bar) Looking forward to testing it on the road once I fix the rest of the crash damage!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>