Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Handlebar Grips & Tape or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape

FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape

Overall rating:
4.321 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
74 out of 81Would you recommend this product to a friend?91%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Review 1 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent Tape

Posted05 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought as spare set as new bike has white handlebar tape. Not used yet but looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Grippy in wet, easy to install

Posted07 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Used this for my first attempt at doing my own bar tape.
Once I'd got past my own stupidity (make sure you empty the box fully!) this was very easy to put on the bike and comfortable on a long ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Comfy and many colours

Posted16 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Super comfy grips, and nice choice of colours. One problem is the amount of fixing tape as this is a bit short, and I needed to use a bit more electrical tape to secure it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Good grips for the price shame about the tape

Posted23 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: poor adhesive end tape
I found these easy to fit, sit nicely on the bars and are well cushioned for the amount of time I am on the bike and I don't find the grips wear off in little chunks like some of the other brands. The only floor is the tape that is supplied I don't think it sticks too well so best to use electrical tape initially then when the supplied tape falls off you won't notice too much
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Excellant grip

Posted20 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This is one of the best grips and value for money.
I have my Cannondale bars double wrapped with the Gel cork bar is great for the wet also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Comfy, cheap and great if you like to fettle.

Posted02 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I use white tape and change it often as I fettle regularly! This is spot-on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good grip but bulky

Posted12 September 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, thick
The bulk of this tape meant that the ends were difficult to finish neatly. The tape ripped easily too when I tried to adjust it. Good grip tho and good padding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

This product is hard wearing.

Posted24 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I had to renew the bar tape after only a few weeks as the old tape had become worn - I had bought the old bar tape with Evans, and the Evans Cycles assistant who saw to me kindly re-taped my bars with more hard wearing tape. He offered to bind the tape with specific coloured tape, so as to be the same colour s my tyres. He was also very forthcoming with informative answers to my numerous questions. I like Evans Cycles as it's fairly central in Cardiff, offers quite good value for money and has lots of products to sell such as lights, helmets, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Good quality bar tape.

Posted30 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: finishing tape
The bar tape itself is perfectly fine, but the finishing tape that comes with it isn't great. So, absolutely fine, but get your own electrical tape to finish it off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Comfortable on the long rides

Posted13 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This is a really comfortable tape for long rides - definitely recommend. Looks good as well!
The store also fit it for me for free which was an added bonus! LOVE EVANS
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Excellent quality

Posted27 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Just comfy bartape at a good price......not much more to say.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Fantastic Value and Better than Advertised!

Posted16 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, easy to fit and refit, set is complete
I wanted to cut down finger numbness on my old tourer I use for 22-40 mile training runs on Surrey roads. I watched tape and gel pads being applied in the Guildford branch (really great helpful crew) and it gave me the confidence to have a go. I bought gel pads and this tape pack which includes everything you need bar scissors! So easy to apply and not overly sticky tape so if you are a perfectionist you can redo the first side to match up with the other if you want. The result is transformational and no way will I ever pay £20, £30 or more as this tape set is perfect - a great buy and double satisfaction doing it myself - thanks Evans Guildford.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

As good as Specialized S-WRAP CORK TAPE

Posted25 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I use to use the Specialized S-Wrap Cork Tape but this looks and feels identical and is a lot cheaper.
I don't use the bar ends or sticky tape which comes with the product as I prefer plain electrical tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Nice tape

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: need more colour choice
Purchased the pink bar tape, found it easy to wrap and also cleans up well. Also found the padding to be very good. Good value also. No need to purchase expensive tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pretty good for the money

Posted11 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Length is good and goes on easy. The backing isn't too sticky so you have the chance to shift around a bit.
I’m sorry to say, there is a “But”, the finishing tape, it’s about as sticky as Teflon! My advice, use isolating tape to finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Guildford

great

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit and looks great, what more could you ask for?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Very good

Posted21 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Used the FWE and have to say it us very good. Easy to put on and gives as much comfort when riding as the original Bontrager equivalent
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good looking but I fear won't stay clean for long

Posted07 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: the brighter colours will get filthy in five secon
I got the Celeste colour to match my bianchi, feels nice and grippy but as its on the bright side it will no doubt get filthy in two rides. Will replace with black. Excellent value though and nice and soft.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Generious length

Posted18 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Decent quality, easy to apply no backing tape to get raveled up as you apply tape to the bars, tape has some sort of clear medium applied to the underside to ensure grip to the bars that does away with backing tape.
Also the length of each roll is generous so you are not struggling to ensure full coverage as is the case sometimes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Why pay more?

Posted18 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Excellent product - good length and lovely feel. I started at the top of the bars and fed the end into the end of the bars, using the bar plug (Supercaz) to hold it in...just like we used to do. Looks lovely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>