Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape

FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape

Overall rating:
4.17 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
43 out of 47(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Review 1 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kittycat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Castleford

Great cushioning

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Loved the choice of colours, also very easy to use. Can't believe how much better the handle bars felt thanks to the Gel effect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tom200686

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great tape, I suffer from pains in my hands during long rides but this tape is thick and comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveBloke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Comfy & nice colour

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good comfy bar tape with a nice cushioned feel. Goes on easily enough although the tape to secure the final bit not adhesive enough (as with most other bar tapes)
Nice range of colours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wilko27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good value - shame about the adhesive tape

PostedJune 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Comfortable bar tape with good padding just a shame the tape to fasten it is not adhesive enough. Had to resort to the trusty insulating tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LemonParty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Standard tape but excellent quality

PostedJune 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I purchased this tape to put on my single speed bullhorn bars, and despite it being cheap(er) it is still a good quality tape.
Wrapped easily and has a good spongy feel that hasnt lost any quality a month after being applied.
I am definitely going to swing by and pick up a couple of rolls to keep for spares.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
HillLoather
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

adhesive backing not strong enough

PostedMay 15, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, not sticky
I returned this item to store, as it the adhesive backing on the tape was simply not strong enough to secure it to bot my handle bars and the tape itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Idontwantone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Feels great

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Bianchi colour is spot on and the tape feels very comfy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Themattshort
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Really easy to fit, good cushioning. Looks great on bike. Struggled to use supplied bar ends so reused my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tippers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Comfortable and a good length.

PostedApril 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I bought this tape as I needed bar tape in a hurry. The quality and length really surprised me. Price was a little more than I would have liked as the choice in the shop wasn't very good. Normally use Deda or Cinelli bar tape but I actually prefer this to the Deda.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dbh333
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Amognst the best tape I've used

PostedApril 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
With it's tacky non sticky base surface this was easy to apply and reseat if necesarry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geoff2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

easy to use and clean, comfortable

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have used this tape a couple of times and have had no problems with applying it, it also wipes clean with ease.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndyGT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great value, and good quality

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I took a chance on this bar tape, and given it was roughly half the price of the main brands I thought maybe I was being foolhardy. But couldn't be happier with it. It was really easy to fit, just enough tackiness on the rear to hold it in place but also to allow adjustments as you fit it. Feels really comfortable to the touch and is nicely padded, more so than I expected. The only minor gripe would be the finishing electrical tape could do with being longer for a more secure fitting, so would recommend using your own. Not tested it long term, but so far can't fault it.
One of those jobs I always put off for far longer than I should but at this price no reason not to always have a smart set of bars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
whatever2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

works well for me

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
I cant tell the difference between this and the Bontrager, so I just buy whichever is the cheapest in the colour I want.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Coolerrex

Rubbish

PostedMarch 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easton bar tape far superior with better adhesives, this tape has zero adhesive properties useless, won't use again real pain to put on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Julesfromleeds
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Product

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Hard wearing, comfortable and does a very good job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lordy210
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Not great but does the job

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not the best tape in the world no backing adhesive to give an extra sturdy grip and the bar plugs were extremerly tight almost riping the tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluecat2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Good quality

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Find this easy manageable even with winter gloves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Will2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

nice quality & good grip

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Good price for a tape that appears to be good quality and should last. Offers good grip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JCB43
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

A good value tape.

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I bought this after coming off of my bike and having the tape shredded completely on one side. As a student working on a budget I found this tape to be of good quality given the price and is comfortable to ride with, and I definitely recommend it if you're not looking to spend lots of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
None
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Nice look, easily fitted, comfortable and a good price, all in all very staisfied
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>