Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape

FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape

Overall rating:
4.216 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
34 out of 37(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Review 1 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geoff2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

easy to use and clean, comfortable

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have used this tape a couple of times and have had no problems with applying it, it also wipes clean with ease.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndyGT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great value, and good quality

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I took a chance on this bar tape, and given it was roughly half the price of the main brands I thought maybe I was being foolhardy. But couldn't be happier with it. It was really easy to fit, just enough tackiness on the rear to hold it in place but also to allow adjustments as you fit it. Feels really comfortable to the touch and is nicely padded, more so than I expected. The only minor gripe would be the finishing electrical tape could do with being longer for a more secure fitting, so would recommend using your own. Not tested it long term, but so far can't fault it.
One of those jobs I always put off for far longer than I should but at this price no reason not to always have a smart set of bars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
whatever2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

works well for me

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
I cant tell the difference between this and the Bontrager, so I just buy whichever is the cheapest in the colour I want.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Coolerrex

Rubbish

PostedMarch 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easton bar tape far superior with better adhesives, this tape has zero adhesive properties useless, won't use again real pain to put on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Julesfromleeds
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Product

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Hard wearing, comfortable and does a very good job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lordy210
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Not great but does the job

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not the best tape in the world no backing adhesive to give an extra sturdy grip and the bar plugs were extremerly tight almost riping the tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluecat2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Good quality

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Find this easy manageable even with winter gloves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Will2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

nice quality & good grip

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Good price for a tape that appears to be good quality and should last. Offers good grip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JCB43
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

A good value tape.

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I bought this after coming off of my bike and having the tape shredded completely on one side. As a student working on a budget I found this tape to be of good quality given the price and is comfortable to ride with, and I definitely recommend it if you're not looking to spend lots of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
None
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Nice look, easily fitted, comfortable and a good price, all in all very staisfied
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Land041
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Happy with it for sure. Good service and staff and products
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MD79

Comfortable and great value for money

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Evans fitted the tape, so I can't comment on how easy it was to fit, however they FWE Gel Cork is very comfortable to grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lukaas
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Cheap, light, padded bar tape

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great price, lightweight bar tape with padding. This tape is nice and thick, but won't add weight to your rig. Easy to fit with mildly sticky strip in them middle, and the finish looks great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
custardtree

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
good squdigy tape, with more than enough for each handle bar. easy to put on, but could do with more end tape.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peelee

Strong does the job

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Strong, does not wear easily and has a great range of colours
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
colshy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Gel Bar Tape tested over 300 mjiles of Cycling

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, quality
the Gel Cork Bar Tape was purchased by me as a replacement for tape that was wearing a bit. I was recommended this by the staff, and informed of it's quality, lightweight, and comfortable feel.
Having had this fitted professionally by the Evans staff, i have used this tape for over 300 miles and it hasn't had any issues whatsoever. It's been tested in the rain, the sun and it holds my grip, allows me to ride safely and comfortably. But more so, it's of such a high standard that it almost allows you to concentrate on your cycling whilst you don't know it's there, because it's so comfortbale to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marcus15
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner

Really simple and works great

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought for my first road bike. It was surprisingly easy to fit, and looked great when on, and adds a lot of comfort!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tommill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to wrap comfortable tape

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: easily marked
The only thing I don't like about this tape is that it marks easily, at least the white one does!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BattlinButler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

A new lease of life for my steed!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Beautifully packaged, affordable, plus I got 3 for 2 along with a couple of other bits (both FWE, incidentally).
Can't fault the performance and it came with all the necessaries to fit it - the FWE branded bar plugs and electrical tape were a nice touch.
Breathed a bit of life into my two-year-old Specialized Allez, lookin' well cool, now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FWE Gel Cork Bar Tape
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigbananafeet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality tape at a great price.

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Nice cushioned tape with plenty of grip.
Used this stuff to wrap my bars for the first time after upgrading my old thumb button Sora shifters to the newer STI type Sora shifters.
Wrapping the bars was a far easier job than I was expecting and the tape is plenty strong enough to give it a little stretch to ensure it grips the bars tightly. There is a silicone layer on the back to assist with its grip onto itself and the bars. The tape is a little thicker and has a nicer cork like feel to it than the stuff that came fitted to my Giant Defy.
The tape comes in a good selection of colours and is very keenly priced compared to some of the bigger brands.
I wouldn't hesitate to use this stuff again if I have to re wrap my bars again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>