Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads

FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads

These pads feature an advanced alloy braking compound. This is an outstanding compound that gives excellent performance on all alloy rims, giving market leading performance in both dry/wet conditions. This compound is universally considered to provide ideal all round performance. Allowing users to brake with the assertiveness that only comes from knowing you're riding the best.
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
54 out of 56Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Review 1 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crouch End

Great braking, even in wet conditions...

Posted07 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Brakes were fitted as part of my annual service (also a great product). Really effective braking, even in slippy, oily, wet city road conditions where I commute to work every day. Not a glamorous product but is continuing to keep me safe in Central London's highways and by ways, so all good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good replacement

Posted31 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit - good braking. Standard replacement for most bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value

Posted17 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good V-brake pads for a commuting bike, nothing fancy, they work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Great brake pads

Posted05 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Provides very good grip and braking performance - keep well adjusted for startling braking potential - essential for the daily commute through London's busy streets and stopping for the pedestrian emerging from in front of a bus and looking the other way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Norwich

Does the job

Posted04 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
What can I say? They're brake blocks and they work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good value for money

Posted04 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Had to exchange my brake pads and these are the best value for money at the moment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:London Bridge

Posted30 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
These brakes are really good value for money. They are extremely easy to put on the bike, even for non-mechanic like me. they are responsive, and I really feel safe when I brake.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Excellent - made a huge difference to rear brakes

Posted08 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Made a huge difference to rear braking, so feel much more confident about stopping, esp. In rain. Fitted by Evans staff as part of service - all really straightforward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Brakes

Posted22 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
When I apply the brakes these brake pads stop the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

All OK so far...

Posted14 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
These brake pads were fitted to my folding commuter bike which I have since ridden approximately 200mi without issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:London Bridge

Great brakes

Posted29 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, safety
Really good brake pads, even with wet wheels the bike stops immediately and without a noise. Feel safer than with my previous brakes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Just what you need

Posted25 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to install
Good value and easy to install. I'm new to cycling and this was my first break pad replacement. I put these on myself. I took a picture of the old set with my phone and installed the new ones based on that. Easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Very efficient braking

Posted23 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
When you have to be cautious on how much you press on the breaks you know there working correctly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good brake pads, good price

Posted17 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Really pleased with these. They fitted them for free when I had my bike serviced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

They are brakes!

Posted21 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It is hard to know what to say about brakes. My logic in buying them was that I know nothing about bkes, I wanted to buy the cheapest ones but was a bit afraid that I would not be able to stop in a week and then die as a result. So I did what we all do in such a situation and counted up a few models to one where I felt comfortable I had spent enough to justify being upset if I was to be killed failing to stop whilst hurtling towards a bus in a weeks time. I am not sure that I am qualified to judge their looks as they just look like brakes to me, but a bit more knobbly- if that helps? To sum up my purchase I would say that I have a rubbish- steel framed massively heavy bike which I bought in the Sale at Halfords (sorry). When riding at high speeds down hills towards roads I am still comfortable that I will be able to stop should I face inpending doom. In no small part due to the fact that these brakes are quite good. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Fantastic

Posted19 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Expertly installed in no time these brake pads work a treat. Very impressed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

brake blocks

Posted12 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Got 2 sets for a friends bike and fitted them he's very happy he can now stop
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Its a v-break break pad

Posted12 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
What more can one say... they work fine! Nice and smooth breaking without any noise or vibrartions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Guildford

Great product

Posted09 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent product easy to fit, provide great grip though not used in wet yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

Great Value no frills brake block

Posted09 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A trusted staple and used every time I need replacement blocks. Easy to fit and great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>