Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads

FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads

These pads feature an advanced alloy braking compound. This is an outstanding compound that gives excellent performance on all alloy rims, giving market leading performance in both dry/wet conditions. This compound is universally considered to provide ideal all round performance. Allowing users to brake with the assertiveness that only comes from knowing you're riding the best.
Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Review 1 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rogerdodge4

You need brakes!

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit with different sized spacers to give you future adjustment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
oldmaidstonian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Efficient brake pads

PostedMay 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I replaced the original pads with these to give them a try. Installation was easy and they seem to work very efficiently in the dry -- not had any rain yet to test them in that!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dougal1965
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good product, good proice

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Easy to fit, decent stoppers. Does what is says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dozza
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good, responsive braking even in the wet

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Got these fitted a couple of weeks ago. I've got lots of downhills on my city commute so these brake pads are really put through their paces. They do the job well so I'm confidant enough to freewheel past the queues of traffic knowing I will come to a quick stop if I need to brake suddenly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RaviSubbie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

ecent brake D

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
New pads fitted when I got my bike serviced. They do the job very well. recommended
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sirrus13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Great brake pads in the wet or dry.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I would like to especially thank Carlos for taking the time to check my brakes and fit them carefully as my rims are a little worn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
p1nk1e
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

just what my bike needed!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I knew I was having problems with my brakes when I had to pull the levers that tight that my hands were sore (especially going downhill) :-(
The brake blocks and cables were replaced as part of the bikes service and boy do I know about it! The first time I used the brakes after its service ( and going down hill ) realised I didnt have to pull so tightly that I nearly went over the handlebars, ooops! :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jim117
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Easy to fit

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Extremely easy to fit for someone with no previous experience of fixing bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Do the job well

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Had to get some new pads at the 6 week service of my Genesis Vapour. I was a little surprised and a bit annoyed!
However, as soon as I rode out of the shop I could feel the difference. Better stopping power in dry and wet, also silent in the wet which made a nice change. They seem to be wearing much better than the stock set too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jamie38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Works like a....... bicycle brake

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A fantastic, good value for money product. No complaints!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jana85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Good breaks at an excellent price

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having seriously gotten as much use as I could out of my old brakes, this brand new set of FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads installed by Evan's Cycles was much needed. So far I have no complaints, they have been working great in very cold and wet conditions ( haven't had a chance to try dry and hot, as it is winter), getting me safely to work and back every day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

do what it says on the can

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
They'e brake pads. They do their job. They last, oh, 3 months or so on a daily ride basis. That's it. Do what it says on the tin
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rrm1990
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

cheap but good stopping power

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The guys at Evans cycles breahead put these on my trek fx 7.6 to replace my worn out rear break pads that came with the bike. These pads offer much better breaking in all conditions even snow! Than my stock pads ever did. And the rubber seems to be a lot harder so they should last me longer than 2 months just need to change my front pads now. And they don't squeek at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smarty11

Realiable

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good set of brakes is essential - and these do the trick, work well to deal with our British weather - gives the rider confidence, that the stopping power, at speed , in slow traffic, will perform time, and time again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kirsty1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Great Brakes

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought to replace old brakes which had become worn and stuck on. Fitted by staff and showed how bad my old brakes were when I first tried the new ones!! Would definitely recommend and feel much safer, especially now its getting wintery during my commute.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MeTo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

the best

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Simple, reliable, what more do you need. The pads feel responsive even in wet conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elainer03
Country:United Kingdom

They do what they should

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My brake pads were completely shot and now my brakes work again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dwairn

Good value

PostedAugust 15, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
They have stopped my bike every time so far, and seem to be holding up quite well. What more can you ask for in brakes?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrSpeedy
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Straightforward, sensibly priced and effective!

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I put my bike in for a bronze service and was a bit suprised to be advised I needed new brake pads, as they'd been changed within the previous few months. But what a difference! The guys said the old ones hadn't been fitted properly (by another bike shop), so had worn down unevenly. It's this kind of expertise and honesty that's about Evans, I really feel I can trust them to look after my bike, make sure it's safe, and not overcharge me unnecessarily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.