Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads

FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads

These pads feature an advanced alloy braking compound. This is an outstanding compound that gives excellent performance on all alloy rims, giving market leading performance in both dry/wet conditions. This compound is universally considered to provide ideal all round performance. Allowing users to brake with the assertiveness that only comes from knowing you're riding the best.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
29 out of 30Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Review 1 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
robm88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

good VfM

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Good product and easy to fit. Has started well and I bought a spare.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iRideRacer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Slowing down has never been so good

Posted11 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easily installed and have the desired effect of slowing me down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
arigold
It was bought:Guildford

As expected

Posted05 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
V brak pads, nothing more nothing less. Brought for a friend as bday present. Universal, fits most bikes,i hope it doesnt wear out quick or my friend should brake less
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Threeps
It was bought:Bristol

Posted17 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Only just fitted them but they seem like decent pads for the price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EvoDan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Good stoping power

Posted28 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I really would be lost without these, no other blocks come close from my experience of v brakes, use them for enduro style winter rideing as was getting feed up with changing disc pads every other ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mikenine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

good basic product

Posted07 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
no frills, basic brake pads that do the job perfectly fine. Good quality build.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
leperxx

Good value and performance

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good value and relatively good performance for the price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DiverClive
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The bike stops so they must work !

Posted08 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, hardwearing
Works well in wet and dry. Isnt wearing out too quickly and doesnt appear to be wearing the rims out either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Laser

Posted07 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
These were a replacement for worn parts, and the bike does now feel much safer. However, they don’t seem quite as effective as the previous set when they were new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CrazyGeorge99

A great essential

Posted23 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great in all weather! Stop instantly which is a bonus around London.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lahsin

Do the job

Posted23 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These pads do the jobs they are supposed to, haven't had any issue with them so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rogerdodge4

You need brakes!

Posted03 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit with different sized spacers to give you future adjustment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
oldmaidstonian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Efficient brake pads

Posted02 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I replaced the original pads with these to give them a try. Installation was easy and they seem to work very efficiently in the dry -- not had any rain yet to test them in that!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dougal1965
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good product, good proice

Posted25 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Easy to fit, decent stoppers. Does what is says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dozza
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good, responsive braking even in the wet

Posted28 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Got these fitted a couple of weeks ago. I've got lots of downhills on my city commute so these brake pads are really put through their paces. They do the job well so I'm confidant enough to freewheel past the queues of traffic knowing I will come to a quick stop if I need to brake suddenly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RaviSubbie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

ecent brake D

Posted28 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
New pads fitted when I got my bike serviced. They do the job very well. recommended
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sirrus13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Great brake pads in the wet or dry.

Posted08 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I would like to especially thank Carlos for taking the time to check my brakes and fit them carefully as my rims are a little worn.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
p1nk1e
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

just what my bike needed!

Posted22 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I knew I was having problems with my brakes when I had to pull the levers that tight that my hands were sore (especially going downhill) :-(
The brake blocks and cables were replaced as part of the bikes service and boy do I know about it! The first time I used the brakes after its service ( and going down hill ) realised I didnt have to pull so tightly that I nearly went over the handlebars, ooops! :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jim117
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Easy to fit

Posted22 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Extremely easy to fit for someone with no previous experience of fixing bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FWE MTB 1-Piece V-Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Do the job well

Posted26 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Had to get some new pads at the 6 week service of my Genesis Vapour. I was a little surprised and a bit annoyed!
However, as soon as I rode out of the shop I could feel the difference. Better stopping power in dry and wet, also silent in the wet which made a nice change. They seem to be wearing much better than the stock set too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>