Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for FWE Road Brake Pads

FWE Road Brake Pads

These pads feature an advanced alloy braking compound. This is an outstanding compound that gives excellent performance on all alloy rims, giving market leading performance in both dry/wet conditions. This compound is universally considered to provide ideal all round performance. Allowing users to brake with the assertiveness that only comes from knowing you're riding the best.
Overall rating:
4.421 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Road Brake Pads
Review 1 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Markl2c
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Easy to fit shoes

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
I bought these for the shoes more than anything else as I wanted to replace all in one blocks with better performing pads and needed a compatible shoe.
They look good, are easy to fit and adjust. No complaints.
I can't comment on the performance of the pad provided as I replaced the pad before first use.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gavinski
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Great

PostedJune 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great pads, easy to fit and will be easy to replace the pads when required. Would recommend these breaks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jkpmtb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Well made

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: work well
Cons: Expensive
Well made easily fitted and adjusted, work well fairly soft material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geoff2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Easy it fit.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very easy to fit and adjust, the little wings are a little adjustment that may help some to make the final fine fitting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tom12345
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

does what they're say on the tin.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Went into my local Evan in Nottingham as I was unsure of what pad to replace with for my Trek 1.2. The staff were friendly and really helpful sorting me out with a set of pad which work perfectly. Since switching pad I have found my riding has been a lot more confident as I have way better feel of how hard I can break. Great service, good value what more can I say
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jimmym
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

These look good and work.

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These work well and are shiny and look good. They are easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclenat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great brakes

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very happy with these brakes. To me they were slightly expensive, but they make up for that in performance!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PaulHB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Excellent brake shoes

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The brake blocks are a very good improvement over the standard blocks on the Shimano BR R451, there is a lot more breaking power.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gower
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Basic but reliable breaking

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought these breaks to replace a worn set for my winter road bike. They offer decent breaking power in all conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FlapjackWheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

What more do you want?

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good stopping power, easy to install/adjust, and you can replace the rubber shoes without having to replace the whole pad unit. I have no idea what they weigh - about the same as the shimano ones, but there's plenty of other weight I can lose before I need to start worrying about my brake pads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
vijinho
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What's not to like?

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These are cheap, look great, fit-well, easy to adjust, provide good stopping power and were a nice shiny upgrade to the black plasticky blocks I had before. I don't see any reason to not purchase them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holcs

Good product

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
easy to apply to bike, work well, no problems at all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Functional.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The shop assistant was very helpful in suggesting what I should buy to replace my breaks and then fitted the new breaks for me in the shop. The service was very impressive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CVB31
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Clapham

Great service

PostedJune 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These were bought as part of the silver service - fitted brilliantly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
K1985
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Decent breaks at good price

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've had these breaks a few times and they've always lasted a long time and been reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great Value

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
For the price these are truly excellent value. They work plenty well enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gilgf3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Good pads, holding me whenever I need to stop.

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I haven't cycled many miles with these pads yet but they're proving better than the previous ones which only lasted 200 miles of commuting.
So far so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
b00g13

Exactly what they are

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
This is a simple product. Nothing fancy about it. It's not expensive. Does exactly what it should.
Would buy again :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dragonspawn

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Brakes... work. Good to have the ability to change the pads when needed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.