Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for FWE Road Brake Pads

FWE Road Brake Pads

These pads feature an advanced alloy braking compound. This is an outstanding compound that gives excellent performance on all alloy rims, giving market leading performance in both dry/wet conditions. This compound is universally considered to provide ideal all round performance. Allowing users to brake with the assertiveness that only comes from knowing you're riding the best.
Overall rating:
4.419 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
30 out of 31Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for FWE Road Brake Pads
Review 1 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

Posted29 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit and good stopping power. Also to fit other pads when the initial ones wear out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Replaceable

Posted29 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought these because you can replace the pads which are cheaper than replacing the entire unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Does the jobs as described.

Posted02 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Fitted as part of a routine Evans service so not really my choice but I'm quite happy with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great replacements

Posted17 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The pads I am replacing are the fully moulded, these fit perfectly and now allow me to only replace the rubber in the shoe which in the longer term will save a couple of quid a time. Used on standard Shimano brake calipers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Now I am cool as Froome

Posted08 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Sometimes an unexpected item arrives to your life and changes everything forever. FWE road brake pads did that to me.
I didn't know my life needed shinny/chromed brake pads like these. I was not aware how much they would improve my looks and social life. I can't imagine a life without them now.
When cruising the slopes with my crew we look rad as Froome and can't even explain what happens when the warm sun beans hit these beauties... I imagine the feeling is something similar to what TDF winners feel when entering Paris with their teams.
These pads have made me the envy of the cycling club. Not only I reduce speed with style, all the other cyclists want to ride with me (even though my Strava segments are rubbish) and people even stops me to ask if they can take a picture of me and my bike. Thank you FWE for creating the sleekest brake pads since forever.
If you aspire to look cool as Froome buy these pads and change your life forever.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Good product and excellent advice

Posted04 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Can't fault the product and advice given to me on the day. Thanks guys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Easily fitted

Posted23 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The service at the Braehead store was great and I appreciated the time taken by the mechanic to speak with me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

These blocks will not fit the Shorty Avid brakes

Posted21 August 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
this is not the fault of the manufacturer, but although they look the correct size the shanks do not bring the blocks close enough to the rim to work with Shorty Avid brakes. The rubber insert blocks will come out and fit in the original Avid fittings, but the avid blocks require a 1 mm alan key to remove the old block which is unusual and will not appear on most mulit tools. so be warned.
It's best to get genuine Shorty Avid blocks, but the design changed in 2014 so be very careful to quote exactly your brake model
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Italy
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good

Posted17 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Seems what I wanted, yet to see how durable they will prove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Posted04 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does as it says on the tin. Put about 500 miles into them so far, good upgrade from the solid block the bike came with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Excellent

Posted19 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Very good, easy to change when they are worn out. All good. Would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Direct replacement

Posted27 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This product is a direct replacement and will work the same as the original removed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Easy to fit shoes

Posted10 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
I bought these for the shoes more than anything else as I wanted to replace all in one blocks with better performing pads and needed a compatible shoe.
They look good, are easy to fit and adjust. No complaints.
I can't comment on the performance of the pad provided as I replaced the pad before first use.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Great

Posted05 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great pads, easy to fit and will be easy to replace the pads when required. Would recommend these breaks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Well made

Posted03 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: work well
Cons: Expensive
Well made easily fitted and adjusted, work well fairly soft material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Easy it fit.

Posted03 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very easy to fit and adjust, the little wings are a little adjustment that may help some to make the final fine fitting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

does what they're say on the tin.

Posted22 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Went into my local Evan in Nottingham as I was unsure of what pad to replace with for my Trek 1.2. The staff were friendly and really helpful sorting me out with a set of pad which work perfectly. Since switching pad I have found my riding has been a lot more confident as I have way better feel of how hard I can break. Great service, good value what more can I say
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

These look good and work.

Posted17 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These work well and are shiny and look good. They are easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great brakes

Posted05 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very happy with these brakes. To me they were slightly expensive, but they make up for that in performance!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FWE Road Brake Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Excellent brake shoes

Posted24 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The brake blocks are a very good improvement over the standard blocks on the Shimano BR R451, there is a lot more breaking power.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>