Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brake Pads or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for FWE MTB V-Brake Cartridge Pads

FWE MTB V-Brake Cartridge Pads

These pads feature an advanced alloy braking compound. This is an outstanding compound that gives excellent performance on all alloy rims, giving market leading performance in both dry/wet conditions. This compound is universally considered to provide ideal all round performance. Allowing users to brake with the assertiveness that only comes from knowing you're riding the best.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for FWE MTB V-Brake Cartridge Pads
Review 1 for FWE MTB V-Brake Cartridge Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
clipbinder

Does the job

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good pads for the price. The linger profile add up to the breaking power.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FWE MTB V-Brake Cartridge Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CodLegs
Country:United Kingdom

Perfectly silent

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Not once have these pads squealed, from the moment they were unpacked. I conclude that they have been well cared for by Evans. Other less well adjusted pads have, in comparison, squealed like billy-o
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FWE MTB V-Brake Cartridge Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Geoff2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

easy to fit, holds well

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Brought these for my hybrid bike, have brought them for other bikes and have always had good use from them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FWE MTB V-Brake Cartridge Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cariad
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

easy to renew pads

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to install,iook great and easy to renew pads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FWE MTB V-Brake Cartridge Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Roos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Good quality

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great stopping power, no squealing. That's about all I want in a pair of brakes (and being a reasonable price and being easy to fit) and these fir the bill on all counts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FWE MTB V-Brake Cartridge Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Specializedride
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Stylish

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
What's to say, other than these are effective brake cartridges that look exceptionally good. I really can't say how they compare to other brake-blocks, because the weather's been constantly raining recently. Riding more slowly in the wet, I can't compare these brakes' effectiveness to other cartridges I've used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FWE MTB V-Brake Cartridge Pads
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
marcheto1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Notting Hill

The right price for the goods

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Easy to fix, although no instructions on the package, so if you've never done it before go to Evans How to...? videos. Pads are providing good grip and do the job in wet conditions as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FWE MTB V-Brake Cartridge Pads
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Blunderwheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Average quality item,slightly above average price

PostedJuly 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Not the best brake block I've ever owned however it does the job up to a point. These things are like crème eggs, they seem to get smaller over time. Less surface area seems to = less braking power and expect it will probably wear out faster as well as the smaller block attempts to cope with an ageing heavier cyclist (refer back to crème egg comment) who still likes to go flat out :) Quite a hard compound which may help longevity but does not offer the same grip as softer option I've replaced. The blocks I've just ditched were well worn but still functioned better than these, which is what I'm basing this fairly negative review on, and yes I do know how to fit and adjust them. However I suspect the clue is in the description for this item, they're aiming for all round performance when, if your in the UK it's usually tipping it down! If you're a dedicated downhiller who goes out in the winter expect your chums to be scraping you off a tree! (Suggest you upgrade to disc breaks if you are, trees are bad!) All things considered though its an average product for a slightly above average price for what you get. If you know what your looking for would recommend you check these things out in the shop rather than taking the lazy internet option (as I did) and buying without inspecting the product first.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FWE MTB V-Brake Cartridge Pads
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JSibbles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Long-lasting brakes!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Had these brake pads fitted a few weeks ago now and they still feel as new!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.