Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set

Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set

Overall rating:
3.343 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
7
27 out of 35(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Review 1 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Juxtalo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Disapponting

PostedApril 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Ordered this twice and returned the first set as it had leaky batteries.
The second set arrived with the same fault so I wasted my time twice and finally got a refund
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
CycleCat15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Do not buy these!

PostedApril 2, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I bought these lights as a cheap option for my new bike. When they arrived in the post they were already broken! I sent a message to Evans and they sent me out a new set. This time they were in one piece, however, the battery slots were slightly too small for the batteries, rendering them useless! I managed to force the batteries in into the white light (and I mean force) only to find that the on/off switch didn't work and the light continually cycled between flashing states and never turned off. Cue prising the batteries out again with a pencil! Contacted Evans again and they gave me my money back straight away. In summary, Evans are lovely and deal with problem items promptly and easily, these light are not lovely. Buy better lights from Evans (as they'll treat you right if you ever have issues!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BM197
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Poor quality

PostedMarch 31, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
These lights are not great quality. Everything about them feels flimsy: the brackets don't tighten up properly, the buttons are difficult to press and they are not that bright. I got them for a reduced price so I can't really complain, but they are nothing like the same quality as cateye products and certainly not worth the RRP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
feedup

Poor quality

PostedMarch 25, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I think products should be fit for purpose. This one is not. I've given up. The first time the batteries were leaky. The second time one of the lights didn't work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Themayor
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

both attachments to the bike have snapped

PostedMarch 24, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Poor quality
the lights seem fine but both attachments have snapped without any shock or 'hit'. Evans have replaced one of the attachments, and I will try with the other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jsmac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright lights, decent enough quality

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
They probably won't last forever but they're inexpensive and a good option if your main light is nicked or stolen. I attach one the strap of a backpack and the red one to the backpack itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DNT2014
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lights are good for the price

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Only disappointment was that the batteries received with the product were leaking. The leaks were found in both sets purchased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MariaF21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good value, easy fix lights

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cheap but good little lights to have as extras or as backups.
Arrived quickly after ordering. My batteries were corroded and unusable on arrival but a quick email to Evans and the next day they posted a brand new set of batteries out to me and they are working perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jon44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good product

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought these at the same time as my new bike as purely an emergency device if i am caught out on the bike after dark and they are a good product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
rugbynut
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Good as an additional set

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I use these as an additional set of lights, just set in flashing mode to add it touch more visibility. Fittings not great but does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DAMO44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

price worthy

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Just a great set of lights for the price, you can't go wrong!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Baz4005
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good value

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: front light not that bright
We wanted two sets of lights for our bikes for an extended trip to Spain. We are not serious cyclists but enjoy level cycling in good weather. We wanted small lightweight lights that would cover us getting caught out if it got dark early etc. These lamps fitted the bill 100%. The front light is not that bright and serious cyclists might want something bigger but if you are like us they are ideal and at this price you can't go wrong.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fuzzle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Don't buy

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Both sets of lights supplied with all batteries leaking acid and useless. Back lights OK with new batteries but front lights barely visible (even with Eneloops).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Plasticfrench
Country:France
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and cheerful

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A bargain, even if one set of batteries was dead-on-arrival. Bright LEDs with a variety of flashing/steady options. They've survived a few weeks in the rain. It's great that Evans delivered this to mainland Europe for no extra charge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Corinthian
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Online

Excellent value. Suitable for urban areas.

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent value. Suitable for urban areas for greater visibility to other road users.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ben537
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I'm really happy that I bought this light set because they are to my surprise fairly bright! Obviously they can't be used to light up the road in front of you but they are more than bright enough to let people see you and your bike in the dark.
It is extremely cheap for what you get. There are even several lighting modes for you to choose (flash, full and other intermediate ones). Definitely worth buying.
One thing that I'm less impressed at is the batteries. They were leaking alkaline juice when I opened the package. It's not too much of a big deal - I simply use the new batteries.
The attachment is rigid and the lights can be easily disconnected and connected. The lights are small so you can also put them in your pocket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dotC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good for the price but a little ineffective

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, undesirable to thieves
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, lacks brightness
GF tells me I'm hardly visible on North London's roads with these on.
Build quality is small a step up from the ones you get form pound stores, but you do get two for a pound there - So I'm not sure they're very good value, even at the massively reduced price.
They have been through light-moderate rain, with no adverse effects so far. Seem to be energy efficient. Rubber padding allowed them to fit my bike just fine. They were cheap, so I'm not too precious over them, and no one has seemed interested in nicking them when left on the bike outside.
Final thought: I will need to supplement/replace with brighter lights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jd198627
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good value

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very good value, decent lights set, fits a specialised unlike some brand of lights.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jas1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lights, suit a variety of locations.

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great lights, suit a variety of locations. Secure attachment. Would readily recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JK1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Budget Lights

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: low brightness
I got these as emergency backup in case my main lights failed. They at least provide some light and can get you home ok, but they certainly lack the brightness of higher quality lights and should really only be used in conjunction with your main lights. Watch out for the specials and you may get them for under £10 for the pair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>