Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set

Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set

Overall rating:
3.238 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
10
31 out of 42(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Review 1 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Strat
Country:Republic of Ireland
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Truly dismal

Posted07 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
These are awful lights, even at the deeply discounted price I paid. Evans shipped replacements promptly when the originals were faulty. The replacements were equally poor build quality, and effectively unusable. Thankfully customer service has been very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
UT71
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good price - good light

Posted29 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
For the price the lights is very good. I use it during winter for adding ekstra light on my bike when riding on the city.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
ngcgnm
Country:Portugal

sale item with included damaged batteries

Posted07 July 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive
the batteries included where damaged and the lights where old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Angela24

Front light not working on arrival

Posted15 June 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Rear light ok but either front not working on arrival or I broke one of the led's as I was fitting that battery, can't be sure. The batteries are very tight to fit in and led easily knocked out of place. Purchased another front light from a bargain store and this works fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hywel123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great basic lights

Posted08 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great basic lights to augment existing set or as primary for a child.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eemaen

Super cheap

Posted31 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The cheapest way to be seen on the road. I found it a bit difficult to attach the mount to my handlebar and it doesn't look too good but it does what it should. Remember sometimes to check that the screws are tight. Rear (and front) light still works after driving without mudguard in heavy rain a couple of times.
One concern is the battery pack supplied. I've ordered 3 of these and battery pack had leaked on all of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leo0417
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

a convenient light set for multiple use.

Posted04 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The light set is very light. It can be used on the bike or pinned on the backpack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Juxtalo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Disapponting

Posted06 April 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Ordered this twice and returned the first set as it had leaky batteries.
The second set arrived with the same fault so I wasted my time twice and finally got a refund
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
CycleCat15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Do not buy these!

Posted02 April 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I bought these lights as a cheap option for my new bike. When they arrived in the post they were already broken! I sent a message to Evans and they sent me out a new set. This time they were in one piece, however, the battery slots were slightly too small for the batteries, rendering them useless! I managed to force the batteries in into the white light (and I mean force) only to find that the on/off switch didn't work and the light continually cycled between flashing states and never turned off. Cue prising the batteries out again with a pencil! Contacted Evans again and they gave me my money back straight away. In summary, Evans are lovely and deal with problem items promptly and easily, these light are not lovely. Buy better lights from Evans (as they'll treat you right if you ever have issues!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BM197
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Poor quality

Posted31 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
These lights are not great quality. Everything about them feels flimsy: the brackets don't tighten up properly, the buttons are difficult to press and they are not that bright. I got them for a reduced price so I can't really complain, but they are nothing like the same quality as cateye products and certainly not worth the RRP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
feedup

Poor quality

Posted25 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I think products should be fit for purpose. This one is not. I've given up. The first time the batteries were leaky. The second time one of the lights didn't work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Themayor
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

both attachments to the bike have snapped

Posted24 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Poor quality
the lights seem fine but both attachments have snapped without any shock or 'hit'. Evans have replaced one of the attachments, and I will try with the other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jsmac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright lights, decent enough quality

Posted22 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
They probably won't last forever but they're inexpensive and a good option if your main light is nicked or stolen. I attach one the strap of a backpack and the red one to the backpack itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DNT2014
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lights are good for the price

Posted21 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Only disappointment was that the batteries received with the product were leaking. The leaks were found in both sets purchased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MariaF21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good value, easy fix lights

Posted02 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cheap but good little lights to have as extras or as backups.
Arrived quickly after ordering. My batteries were corroded and unusable on arrival but a quick email to Evans and the next day they posted a brand new set of batteries out to me and they are working perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jon44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good product

Posted26 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought these at the same time as my new bike as purely an emergency device if i am caught out on the bike after dark and they are a good product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
rugbynut
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Good as an additional set

Posted24 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I use these as an additional set of lights, just set in flashing mode to add it touch more visibility. Fittings not great but does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DAMO44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

price worthy

Posted21 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Just a great set of lights for the price, you can't go wrong!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Baz4005
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good value

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: front light not that bright
We wanted two sets of lights for our bikes for an extended trip to Spain. We are not serious cyclists but enjoy level cycling in good weather. We wanted small lightweight lights that would cover us getting caught out if it got dark early etc. These lamps fitted the bill 100%. The front light is not that bright and serious cyclists might want something bigger but if you are like us they are ideal and at this price you can't go wrong.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Raleigh RX4.0 Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fuzzle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Don't buy

Posted06 February 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Both sets of lights supplied with all batteries leaking acid and useless. Back lights OK with new batteries but front lights barely visible (even with Eneloops).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>