Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike

Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike

The Arkose rolls fast over tarmac, towpaths, woodland trails and country bridleways. It takes influence from Cyclo-Cross race bikes without compromising its intended use as an efficient high-mileage, all-round, cross-terrain machine. Using a tapered-steerer all-carbon fork and a taper-oval top tube for accurate handling and reduced impact shocks makes this a comfortable ride at speed. The geometry is relaxed enough for high-speed off-road use in wet conditions as well as retaining a neutral feel on tarmac. A chainstay disc mount with maximum heel clearance matches well with narrow Q-factor road chainset and ensures simple fitting of mudguards or racks.
Overall rating:
4.474 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer reviews for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Review 1 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Squonk12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Excellent Commuter bike

Posted25 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Evans know their market well, and this is an excellent commuter bike, coming in right at the ride to work limit of £1000. Whilst it says cyclo-X, i'd be more inclined to pitch it as a fast commuter. It has holes for fitting a carrier and mud guards.
The bike has a fairly relaxed geometry, and it feels as though it would be comfortable for longer rides. It would probably also be a good touring bike.
The tyres soak up the London roads well (35mm knobblies) and the carbon fork is nice and responsive without being too twitchy.
Component-wise, I think good choices have been made, Shimano 105 shifters & rear mech are very responsive. FSA rings and a Tiagra front mech complete the groupset. This is my first time on a Shimano road set-up and it feels well tuned.
The provision of extra Tektro brake levers means you've got a additional hand position, but you can still hit the anchors in a hurry when you're off the drops. And speaking of anchors, front and rear mechanical disks (Avid's) feel very secure.
The finish of the bike is high quality and the grey/silver colour is nice and muted. Little details like putting rubber boots on the cables where they contact the frame (to prevent rubbing) show that this is designed by someone who cycles and takes pride in their bikes.
I fitted a Topeak carrier, mudguards and Shimano 424 SPD pedals.
Other points.
I changed the stock seat with a narrower more comfortable one. I think the factory-fitted tyres should be replaced with slicks. Also at 44cm, I think the handlebars are too wide - 42cms would be a bit more comfortable, and still be able to fit the Tektro levers, but these are minor points.
I think Evans have produced an excellent bike here, and looking at the demand on their website, I don't think I'm alone in holding this view.
Excellent Value
****
I should also call out the staff in the Fenchurch St branch. They are all knowledgeable and approachable. There are often a lot of people looking or asking for advice, but the service is always good. They acknowledge customers, and at busy times, also let people know roughly how long they have to wait. The bike was set up well when I collected it, and we spent some time getting the final few adjustments right before taking it.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Andytee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Great overall bike let down by poor headset

Posted20 November 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: poor headset
Ever since I bought this bike, my mountain bikes have been gathering dust. It's comfortable, fast, and has proven itself on the long towpath commutes that I do every day. Unfortunately the headset has let the bike down and needs tightening every two weeks or so. It simply refuses to stay tight. I think this is a combination of the shiny carbon steerer, the poor quality steerer bung and the type of headset. Matters improved after fitting a decent two bolt stem, using carbon grip paste on the steerer, and replacing the useless standard steerer bung with a decent Deda expander one but it still moves. I would simply not buy a bike with this type of semi integrated headset again where the cartridge bearing sits directly on the frame (angular contact - it's not press fit). It might be fine on a road bike with calipers but for an off-road machine with discs, it doesn't cut it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
penfold104

Light, fast and a lot of fun!

Posted03 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am loving this bike so far. It is much lighter than my old hybrid and the Shimano 105 gears are so smooth. I have done mainly road cycling so far but the roads are very potholed, so I am glad of the slightly chunky tyres. The looks are very clean and understated, which is to my taste. I didn't want a bike that looked to flashy.
I have added SKS full mudguards and they have gone on a treat. Took a little sawing down of the stays to get a good fit but it was no hassle with a dremel. Have also added a pannier rack for my daily commute. Both the rack and the mudguards are in black which I think complement the silver frame nicely.
Overall I think Pinnacle bikes are very practical and good value for money in terms of the kit you get. This one is no exception and, in the end, it was the spec that convinced me to go with it over other well known makes like Norco and Cannondale, It may not get such envious looks as those but I am happy that I have a bike that is well made, well kitted out and does what it is supposed to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kimjongun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Decent all-rounder

Posted11 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Having done c. 500 miles with this bike on road, gravel tracks and not-too-gnarly-offroad I’d say it’s a pretty decent all-rounder that is comfortable on most surfaces - though this means it suffers a bit from ‘jack of all trades, master of none’.
As previous reviewers have noted it could do with slightly lighter/faster tyres for commuting and the gearing isn’t great (though not impossible) for steep uphills with luggage.
Another minor gripe I have is that Evans set it up with a bell and reflector on the handlebars – I think it would’ve been better to position the reflector above the front wheel, as the Tektro bar-top brakes means there’s no room for a front light on the handlebars (the forks are too broad for any of the various light fittings I have) without removing the bell or reflector. Oh, and they charged me an additional £25 for pedals because the online description wasn’t specific about whether they were included or not.
On the plus side, it’s sturdy and responsive, the shifting is really smooth and the Tektro brakes give some welcome extra stopping power when you need it. It’s also easy to fit a rack and has been great so far for both touring and commuting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lukeyrada
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

A Robust, Quick, light versatile bike.

Posted11 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I needed a new all year round commuter (for Road) as my 3 year old 2010 Ridgeback Meteor Hybrid (£299) was beaten up and needed £160 worth of work/repairs. I'm no expert nor am I a Bicycle Mechanic and I only really use my bike for short distance commuting.
It took me a while to decide what type of bike to get & once I'd decided which type I then needed to decide on a bike. After looking at numerous reviews on numerous sites I ended up test riding 4 bikes: Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013, Genesis Day One Alfine 8 2013, Specialised Tricross Sport 2013 and the Arkose Three. Coming from a Hybrid flat bar bike the drops and gears took some getting used to on the test rides but every bike felt lighter, quicker & more responsive to what I was used to. There wasn't too much difference between them to be honest. The Genesis looks great and it felt good but I needed a wider range of gears than 8. The Specialised felt good too but in the end the spec of the Arkose Three at that price point was the best I found anywhere & wasn't much more than the Arkose Two.
My requirements were for something robust that could handle uneven, lumpy, bumpy, glass scattered, potholed roads. The bike also needed to be quicker (not difficult), lighter (the old one was very heavy) & be able to take a Rack and Mudguards. Also to be low maintenance as it'll only get serviced in store 2-4 times a year. This ticks all the boxes. It's quick, can reach over 25mph on the flat with no head wind with no problem, could only reach that speed going down hill on the Ridgeback! It climbs well, even fully loaded with the rack, mudguards & 2 full Panniers on gradients up to 10-15% (that's all i've tried it on so far, no steeper). And because my old bike was heavy this feels light in comparison, even when fully loaded. 1 or 2 comments mentioned that this bike is heavy and doesn't climb well/needs the gearing changed but I'd disagree; it depends on your requirements I guess. I have used the bike off road, mainly trails, fields & pathways & it does well with the exception of grassy fields where it's very hard going. A golf course or well kept football pitch would present no problems. The Tyres have also performed well but I did get a flat tyre on my commute this morning. At some point I may get some bullet proof road tyres as I don't really want to be walking the bike to work too often & paying for the repair. My old bike had 1 puncture in 3 years! It had some sort of continental road tyre I think and they were great. I've also found the saddle comfortable. The extra set of brake levers are useful but I hardly use them as I'm mostly on the drops rather than upright. There isn't much room for accessories (light, cycle computer, etc) because of the brakes & Bell on there.
All in all I'm pleased with the bike and would recommend it. It's performed superior to my old bike but so it should at 3 times the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Argyle12
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Happy beginner

Posted14 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
New to the bike world I was looking for a bike to use for both road and commute and friends recommended a cyclocross and at least a rear mech with shimano 105. This bike fits the bill for a really ok price. The 35c tires are great for commute and I bought a couple of 28c tires for road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KeithieMo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Posted13 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
I opted for this rather than a road bike. I wanted something a lower geared but with the drop bars. Slightly different riding position to my hybrid but I am now getting used to it and find it comfortable. I particularly like the secondary brake leavers which allow me to sit upright coming to junctions. I am not up to speed with cycle components so can't really advise but overall the bike is what I expected and I have not been disappointed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RobHen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Overal good for the money

Posted11 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: gearing
I bought this for bombing around town and the occasional longer trip. It's a good quality bike with decent equipment levels, but the gearing could do with being a bit more hill friendly.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
riggles67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Agile and Fun to Ride

Posted03 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is my first foray into Cyclocross bikes and this bike is a great way to get into it as it so easily doubles as a robust fast commuter or even a winter road bike with addition of some mudguards and some slightly narrower slicks. I have opted for 30mm. The riding position is more upright than I would like but this can easily be rectified by turning the stem upside down.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaganPaul
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great Value for money at a highter end specifactio

Posted02 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very capable and comfortable cross bike with great value for money spec. This was the only cross bike that fell within the Gov't Cycle to Work £1k scheme that offered shimamno 105 / tiagra groupset and disc brakes. Every other cross bike under £999 was speced with cantilever brakes and sora or tiagra. Only minus point was saddle supplied being a too hard racing style saddle. But saddles are such a personal item that almost everybody purchasing a bike at this price point will swap over to a saddle of their personal preference.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jules1969
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good spec for the price

Posted11 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Excellent buy through ride to work scheme. Good spec as I wanted. Not as lightweight as it could be but not heavy. Only had it 3 weeks but seems good geometry. Set-up for mudguards and racks if you need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ben321
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good all rounder

Posted06 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I use this for my longish commute which includes smooth tarmac, towpath, potholes and a few kerbs.
Comfortable, rock solid and easy to maintain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PenTommy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great all-rounder

Posted25 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I’ve had this bike for a month now and I’m very satisfied with it. I chose this as a multi-purpose bike, mainly as a commuter but also for trails and light touring. The Kenda tyres are a bit sluggish for regular road use and there isn’t a huge amount of clearance for mudguards with these tyres. I fitted some SKS wide road (after some back-and-forth conversations with evans staff – some saying they would fit, others saying the opposite) They do fit but are not disc specific so I needed to bend the stay a little to get around the calliper. Under heavy breaking loads there was quite a bit of noise/vibration due to the close clearance. I then changed to a set of schwalbe durano 28’s and the performance of the bike improved exponentially (like night and day!), and the noise and vibration disappeared. I’d say it’s only marginally slower than my road bike, and I’m very pleased with the performance of the brakes also. I heard that there can be a bit of a squeal problem with BB7’s but mine are as quiet as a church mouse. The gear changes are very smooth, and although it’s not full 105 the difference in performance between a tiagra and 105 front mech is negligible.
The saddle is taking a bit of breaking in. I’ve done a couple of 50 milers and I was feeling it the next day so I am considering changing it for something slightly narrower.
I have also fitted a Tortec ultralight rack and the bike still handles well with panniers attached. All in all, I’d say if you’re looking for a versatile, robust bike then look no further!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
keithb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well specced, good commuting bike.

Posted21 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The cross style makes for a good general bike suitable for different types of riding. I use it mainly for commuting. The disc brakes, upright position and higher bottom bracket all help when in traffic and negotiating corners. Only downside so far is that the routing of the cables and the extra brake levers have got in the way when attaching the front light, the mount has ended up over to one side meaning i cant use the additional lever on that side. I have also replaced the tyres with road tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mefastidias
Country:Spain
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent bike

Posted09 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Amazing ride i'm very happy whit the purchase. Great service and packaging
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JRP1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great all round bike

Posted01 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I needed a bike that would do many different things and the Arkose 3 does the job. I am running slick tyres for road use at the moment and will be using it on long distance lightweight touring next spring. I would agree that it might be a bit heavy for serious cyclocross use but as an all rounder it is great. The brakes are very effective and the 105 gearing is precise.
I am really pleased with the bike so far.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MichaelNI
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Fast and loose...

Posted05 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: difficult to setup headset
Nice bike and great kit for the price. Likes fairly smooth surfaces and carries great speed, now if I could just get the stem to stop slipping on the carbon steerer it would get a 5* :-(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
EddieS
rh10
 
Please wait while more information about EddieS is loaded.
Additional information about EddieS could not be loaded.
Hello, to stop the slipping you might like to try
Posted 25 January 2013
Hello, to stop the slipping you might like to try a smear of fibre grip. Hope this helps.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rainorshine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Pretty much the ultimate commuting bike

Posted05 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Bought this as I wanted a disc wheeled bike but without moving away from drops. Swapped the tyres for gatorskins, fitted a rack and full length guards (frame has proper mounts for all) and it's all set. Marginal loss of speed compared to full on road bike but good enough and feels bomb-proof. Brakes squeak though which is annoying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pinnacle Arkose Three 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marko13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Good commuter

Posted17 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
This is branded as a cyclocross bike but I think its a bit too heavy for somebody who is serious about cyclocross racing and they would probably want to look else where. I bought the bike purely for commuting and winter training and after having the bike for two weeks I can say its a joy to ride. The bike is well spec'd for the money, the disc brakes are great, albeit noisy! After after changing the saddle, the tires for some good 32mm slicks and putting some sks mudguards and lights, riding to and from work is good fun. As this bike is 1k you can get it on the cycle to work scheme and at this price point I think the only bike that matches it is the boardman CX bike but I dont think that has mudguard mounts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.