Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cyclocross Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike

Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike

The Arkose rolls fast over tarmac, towpaths, woodland trails and country bridleways. It takes influence from Cyclo-Cross race bikes without compromising its intended use as an efficient high-mileage, all-round, cross-terrain machine. Using a tapered-steerer all-carbon fork and a taper-oval top tube for accurate handling and reduced impact shocks makes this a comfortable ride at speed. The geometry is relaxed enough for high-speed off-road use in wet conditions as well as retaining a neutral feel on tarmac. A chainstay disc mount with maximum heel clearance matches well with narrow Q-factor road chainset and ensures simple fitting of mudguards or racks.
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Review 1 for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ste56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

A brilliant multi-terrain bike

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Had a Giant Terrago MTB for a few years and realised that I was using it more on roads, cycle ways, canal paths and the odd forest track. I started making it a bit more of a hybrid by putting touring tyres on, locking out suspension and dropping handlebars. With the difference this made to its performance I began toying with the idea of a road bike but would have been a bit restricted on the routes around my local area. So I looked into the idea of a Tourer or a Cross racer. This bike really caught my eye in the Liverpool store with it's eye catching piano black finish and all round solidity. Really glad I opted for the Arkose2. I've done over 1200k since July 2013 over various terrain. It handled a muddy Delamere forest surprisingly well, climbs well as it's now been up the category 3 Pen y Pass and a 1500 ft. climb from Bangor into the Ogwen valley. It gets up some serious speed on the road and around the Lanes of North Cheshire. Put a pair of Continental Tourers on and left the Kenda 8's for winter and more rugged tracks even though they roll well on the road. I'm currently in the process of upgrading the brakes to the Avid BB7's and I thought why didn't I go for the Arkose 3.... It was all down to the colour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LittleDave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good bike for commuting

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this bike to replace my singlespeed commuter bike after I moved to a more hilly area. Cyclocross bikes make good commuters and this one is good with fat tyres and disc brakes.
Good value compared to other options and this was one of the few which came in a size small enough for my 5'2" frame.
NIce to deal with a real shop rather than chancing the fit of online options.
Highly reccomended for those who need a sensible bike for use during the week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cedros9802
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

A fantastic bike !!!

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A joy to ride.....
Sharp handling,very responsive,nimble and stable
Cornering at speed is intuitive and precise whatever the road condition.
The breaking is diabolic...
The look outstanding..
The aluminium frame and its geometry ,combined with the carbon fork
gives the ride a comfort that I only experienced in steel touring bikes
nearly twice the weight .
This thing is begging to be ridden fast ,in any condition ...
It is a miles cruncher ...
I love it and can not stop riding it ...
I would like to thank the team of York for their outstanding service !
A very happy rider .
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pestr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

ticks all the boxes - great fun.

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This bike is a great balance: fast enough on the roads but surprisingly nimble & stable on the rough. Gear range is good: not as low as with a triple chainset bike but it climbs well & I got up a short sharp climb on this that had eluded me on a mountain bike. The only thing I would maybe want differently is that I haven't sussed out how to adjust the brakes easily yet: get a bit of rubbing. However, they still work just as good in the wet & I don't have to worry about the rims wearing out so a good choice over cantilevers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have recently returned to the world of cycling mostly to get around as I don't drive and starting a new job I'm planning on using it for the commute.
I have always rode big sluggish MTB's in the past and when I started researching "all rounder" bikes cyclocross seemed the way to go.
Having rode around 60 miles so far I must admit I am impressed with the bike. It is much lighter than I am used to and overall a smooth ride. I've taken the bike onto slightly rough terrain such as bridleways etc and it is still a dream to ride there too. As my first drop bar bike it feels very comfortable and gear changes are very sleak and effortless.
I was very impressed with the staff in store as they were not too pushy and gave me sound advice when selecting my bike. Even swaying me from a slightly more expensive cycle as this one suited my needs perfectly. Well done evans, love it, can't stop riding it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pz1800
Country:Switzerland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exactly what I wanted

PostedMay 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
I bought this a few months ago as a commuter - I took the knobbly tyres off and fitted Continental Gatorskins. It works well - a comfortable ride with a more upright (traffic-friendly) position than my other bikes, the rack and mudguard eyes mean it is practical in the rain and to carry my clothes and shopping on the way home.
It needed a bit of adjustment and the Tektro bar-top levers don't seem to leave much room for lights, which is a problem I will have to solve by Autumn. I may take them off - I don't actually use them much, and they also make it impossible to use the handlebar bike-stands which are the norm where I live.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Derek999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Excellent bike, great spec

PostedMay 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought this 2 weeks ago to replace my aging Raleigh with a view to communting. So far only managed 2 commutes (16 miles each way) but its been great even down potholed country lanes.
The only criticism is that the shop were unable to fit the front full mudguard as they do not carry a long enough bolt in stock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Lightweight and Robust, Fast and well spec'd

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, robust
I bought this bike as an addition to my mountain bike (Scott Reflex also bought from Evans). I was looking for a road bike that i could break easily when i forgot i wasnt on my mountain bike and bunny hopped of curbs etc. Apart from turning the stem round to drop the seating position a little, the bike has needed nothing, and has already taken 5 minutes off my 25 minute commute time! I can put my sons child seat on the back and it copes with canal towpaths admirably. By switching tires to some nice thin slicks, i can match most of my mates road bikes for speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Justjonbrown
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

The perfect commuter ride

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Had the arkose two for three weeks and have done the commute almost every day - it's the perfect commuter ride, great on Tarmac, great handling on cobbles and cinder paths, and more than capable of withstanding the vagaries of the extremely dodgy roads in Liverpool. Have previously had a straight forward road bike and the arkose feels a thousand times more stable, robust and safer. It's also pretty stylish and pacey. A lovely bike .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaxLight
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Totally blown away by how good this bike rides!

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I initially thought that I had made a mistake buying a cyclo cross bike instead of a road bike. But only until the first time I rode it!
I normally ride a mountain bike, hardtail for the winter and full suss for the better month(s!), but this bike will definitely be making an appearance all year round. It handles decent off road riding with ease, soaking up/rolling over rocky bridleways. It's no slowcoach on road sections either, zipping along and eating potholes for breakfast. My only gripe is the saddle, but that is probably personal choice. If you want something that can handle road/canal/fireroad and bridleways, or an alternative to a hybrid, then this is the bike for you.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andrew42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

An excellent bike

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I use this bike to commute between North London and the city. it copes very well with potholes, and is easy up hills. The build quality is extremely good, and i have to say the disc brakes are fantastic. i was also surprised with how light it is. A great bit of kit!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pinnacle Arkose Two 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sub5orange
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

excellent all rounder

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: no choice of colours
Bought as a commuter. Looked for a cyclocross as it needs to handle canal paths and muddy areas. Do not have anything to compare it to as I have been riding a full suspension mtb for the last 10 years. First impressions are good, once the bike is set up properly it is a fun ride. It handles canal paths, small cobble sections responsively. It is quick on the road. Not sure yet about the disc brakes, they are far inferior to my hydraulic one's on the mtb but apparently they are better then the v brakes or frog brakes that come on cyclocross bikes. I can see that my mtb will stay in the shed on non technical outings from now on.
I am 6f 4 and they originally ordered a large for me but they quickly exchanged it for the xl. Shame there is a limited choice of colours.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.