Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Giro Privateer HV MTB Shoes

Giro Privateer HV MTB Shoes

Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Giro Privateer HV MTB Shoes
Review 1 for Giro Privateer HV MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Taffin

Great looking confortable shoe

Posted22 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
does exactly what i wanted it to - am a commuter so wanted something to walk the pavement with that looks decent. is comfy, however i would recommend getting the size up from your usual size, as is the case with most cycling shoes.
nothing bad to say about this shoe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Giro Privateer HV MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thebyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very happy

Posted22 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Look good, very comfy, light and easy to walk in as well. Normally size 10 UK and the 45s fit perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Giro Privateer HV MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
penmi

Comfortable and stiff enough.

Posted10 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Quality of this shoe is great. HV is wide enough for my scandinavian foot. Sole is stiff enough for riding my fixie. Great product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Giro Privateer HV MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Prev25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Excellent

Posted30 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are my first pair of cleat shoes and I couldn’t be happier. They are a great all rounder shoe. I’m using them for my road bike with Shimano M520 pedals and they work a treat. I was looking for shoes, which I could use for riding but also that I could walk around in so I don’t need to carry a separate pare of shoes and these certainly ticket those boxes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Giro Privateer HV MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BBfettler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really good, understated MTB shoe.

Posted30 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, understated style
I had almost resolved myself to always wearing shoes that looked something out of a carnival until I saw these, the understated looks are very tasteful and the performance matches.
Still able to walk in them fairly comfortably, but the sole where the ball of the foot is, is considerably stiffer, meaning they transfer power much better than say, the Shimano M087 shoes these are replacing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Giro Privateer HV MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PandaMcNab
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not an expert but...

Posted10 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These seem very good in my novice opinion. I'm using them with eggbeaters on the commute and they are a massive leap from platforms, perhaps obviously...
They're comfortable - I do 15miles each way no probs and they're are big enough to accommodate my massive (though not wide) feet - HV may be a misnomer as they're not too wide or tall but will definitely fit big winter socks. Currently though, pretty breathy in the warmer weather...
Cleats don't protrude, look alright as far as cycling kit goes so I'm happy.
Not sure why they don't get 5 stars but they definitely deserve 4 - I just wasn't blown out the water, maybe I thought they'd be more stealth...
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Giro Privateer HV MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WindyWo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A step in the right direction

Posted24 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
A great shoe versatile on both MTB and road bilkes. Construction is solid and feels comfortable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Giro Privateer HV MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
maddog88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Excellent all round shoe

Posted23 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This shoe is excellent. I use them whilst riding my road bike as well as my MTB.
Listen to the other views and go for the half size above your usual size. Also I noted that these are 'extra wide' I think they fit me perfectly and I'm not 'extra wide'.
Buy them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Giro Privateer HV MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tufty

Great shoes - especially at this price

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great shoe, really well made. Light and stiff for a non-carbon sole. Bought mainly for Cyclocross but will probably end up using them for mtb trail too in summer.
The offset straps allow a snug yet comfortable fit. No issues with heel-lift, and the right amount of room in the toe box.
A note on sizing - the Giro website states that the HV privateer is for 'extra wide' feet. I don't even have 'wide' feet, so I initially purchased the standard privateer, but found it too tight. Really liked the look and quality of the shoe, so decided to order an HV pair on the off-chance that they would fit - but expecting them to be too wide. However, the fit of the HV is perfect for my 'average' feet in 'average' riding socks, so I'm a little non-plussed by the extra-wide tag. Don't let it put you off giving the HV a go. These are great shoes, and at this price, incredible value.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.