Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots

Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots

Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots
Review 1 for Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shoewearer
Country:USA
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good multitask boot, no fit issues

Posted30 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
My feet are low-volume, very wide forefoot, high arch, high instep. I took my normal size. The only issue is pressure on my instep, which I resolved by skipping 1 set of lace holes. Arch support is moderate. I plan to add an insole.
The sole plate seems to be standard touring shoe stiffness. It has reasonable flex and rocker for walking. Support is very good. I doubt I could roll an ankle. I found it comfortable on and off bike. I have not experienced wet weather to see if they are waterproof. The tongue gussets, which I hope are gore-tex, stop 2 lace holes below the top of the cuff.
Cleat is recessed more than most shoes, does not touch the floor. Sole interferes slightly with clipping in. I have not tried adjusting cleat position. There are a few mm of side-to-side adjustment that might help. Cleats are not included.
If you want a waterproof walkable boot that doesn't look like a sneaker or a motorcycle boot, this is the best option available. Unfortunately hard to find outside the UK for some reason.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ryugo
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent warm SPD shoe, but with awkward sizing

Posted30 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: sizing is off
This looks to be really good quality boots, however did not field test it yet due to sizing (waiting on smaller size replacment). People recommend 2 sizes up, so I've listened and it came too big. On the other hand, 1 size up is probably a must, since 2 size up was just slightly too big, not as big as one would expect.
Bottom line, really good looking SPD boots (no one would tell you will clip in with these), with nice details and good sole. I would recommend to anyone that can try out in store, as for those buying online, be careful with size. Try 1 size up and go from there is what I would recommend.
They are also not that heavy as they look, really nice actually to walk in!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jangar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great shoe and comfertable

Posted22 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The shoe was good in the wet had dry feet and very comfertable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BarneyJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent warm and dry boots

Posted14 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
When I first saw these boots I thought "That's just what I need". Boots I can use on and off my mountain bike on mixed terrain. I've used these boots in a number of situations where I have to walk through puddles and mud, opening and closing gates, walking steep slopes and so on and they haven't let me down. They are quite heavy as biking boots, but clipped in they feel very secure. Just the thing for real situations where you're crossing mixed ground and still want to stay warm and dry.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mudflap2u
Country:USA
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

hiking boot with SPD

Posted04 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, can wear in public
Cons: Expensive
As a trail addicted mtn biker, nasty, cold , and muddy conditions are no longer an excuse to stay home. I have bad ankles, and was searching for a spd winter boot that has a wide enough heel for support.(most bike shoes have small heel print) These are comfy, and warm and can be worn around town without anyone knowing your in bike shoes ! Many winter boots have a neoprene ankle to keep dirt out , but no ankle support ! these might let mud in in a deep puddle, but typical rides, I had no problems. great boots.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlternativeMTB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

MT91 perfect for wet winters

Posted31 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Had these now for a couple of weeks ordered online from Evans. Had the opportunity to try in some real English rain and some proper mud on south downs and NF with SPD's. Went for the MT91's mainly based on having some good summer Shimano MTB shoes (size 47) so could be fairly certain they'd come up the right size.
So nice to ride with warm feet!! They are clearly waterproof, however, after a couple of hours riding in heavy rain, the water enters the boot from the top. Now think some kind of neoprene gaiter might be very useful.
Quite chunky with great grip for scrabbling up steep hills. Very light and they don't look like biking boots, which is a good thing! Like that the SPD cleat is recessed in the sole
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
artH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great, once the correct size is found.

Posted14 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Cold feet in winter is a constant problem; over covers and water proof socks are no solution to wet, cold feet.
Although they are expensive, these MTB boots are comfortable and warm. They look waterproof also (and with Gortex they should be), but I have yet to put them to the test.
BUT...........sizing is a REAL PROBLEM: I normally take size 43....I couldn't get my feet in them!
Size 44.... no chance of warm feet, even with thin socks; still too tight.
Size 45. Finally, comfortable with thickish socks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
drfredi
Country:United Kingdom

Excellent for cycling and walking. Very small.

Posted05 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, good walking, good cycling
Cons: too small
This boot is stiff enough for effective cycling and comfortable enough for easy walking. Excellent in cold and wet whether.
Excellent quality, lasts years.
It comes very small, you need to buy it 2 or 3 sizes larger than your regular size. So, big feet come quick to the limit since even the largest size is quite small. The small size makes it unsuitable for freezing conditions.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
offshore
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too Narrow, Poor Grasp of Sizing

Posted01 November 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: confusing size
All the reviews of this product on the internet (going back several years)state problems with sizing. They perform the exact winter function I need, so I decided to risk it.
I ordered two sizes larger as generally recomended - they were too long, but also too narrow.
I have just paid £10 postage to get them returned - what a waste of time and money.
If I can research this item and see many problems with sizing, surely shimano should have the manners to do the same (in the age of internet shopping); seems like they have been wasting peoples time for years with this item.
I would suggest you dont buy this item via the internet - shop only.
For the price I wouldnt say the quality was anything that brilliant.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano MT91 Gore-Tex SPD MTB Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iisailovic
Country:Serbia and Montenegro
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

perfect

Posted24 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: small sizing
excellent shoes, cofortable and light, yet robust
be aware of small sizing, runs 1 size to small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.