Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes

Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes

Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes
Review 1 for Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
RyanBMC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Excellent product

Posted19 May 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
I would definitely recommend this product. The most comfortable cycle shoes I have ever owned. Size chart was spot on as I ordered online. They look great as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
RCITGuy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shooze Glorious Shoozeeee

Posted12 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
So having tried several pairs of other brand SPD shoes already, and suffered the agonising consequences, I was a bit worried about spending any more of my really lazy, easily earned cash on bike footwear..
Seems I should have done this to start with, as these Shimano shooze are awesome comfy...
It all seems to boil down to the unique weird offset straps across the top and the fact that they have a nice amount of flex in them when they grab hold of your slabs, but without strangling your feet..
No more aching red marks on the tops of me slabs and total comfort!
Odd on size though, because in Nike running shoes, I wear a 9(43) or 10(44) with thick socks, yet with these, a size 45 feels snug in thin cycling socks, so am hoping they will wear in by the winter..
I would highly suggest going to try these on, or order 1 size up, and 2 sizes up at the same time when trying these, and trying them with both thin and thick socks..
Your feet WILL thank you for it though, and these look great on the road bike :-)
Cheaper than the 2 other pairs I bought, yet a world apart in comfort :-)
I am planning to get another pair for the mountain bike too now..
Wish I had bought these to start with.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
bikenhike

Great Shoe Just Not Wide Enough

Posted23 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
Bought this shoe as a 3 or possibly 4 season option as I have got on well with Shimano shoes in the past. Design was excellent but I found the shoe a bit tight for my wide feet without much stretch in the upper. Probably will have to opt for the much pricier Sidi Mega shoe instead.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chainrings
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable and look great

Posted21 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great fit, very comfortable and lightweight too. We have the black and also white versions in our house and both look great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MBec
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Top notch

Posted20 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have had these shoes for a month now and have no complaints. They are well made, comfortable and fully adjustable for most shape of foot. I mostly like the fact that the SPD cleats do not contact the floor when walking....no more tap dancing! All in all I am extremely pleased with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tommill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, Stiff and Comfortable Commuting shoes

Posted13 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've been wearing these shoes for commuting for the past week and have found them pretty comfortable so far. They are plenty stiff enough for use on the road bike for commuting, not tried them off road yet but would think they'll be fine for any short hike-a-bike sections. Fit is quite different from the northwaves I had last, 42 in NW 44 in these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Affen
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoes for a reasonable price

Posted09 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great shoes with a pro-like feeling. I got a nordic model which has no ventilation gaps. That's good in colder atmosphere.
Fits fine for my wide nordic foot, unlike many other shimano shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
james2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

a very good shoe with stiff sole and grippy tread

Posted19 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
this is an excellent shoe for those who are looking to improve performance either on the trail or commuting. the ratchet mechanism and velcrostraps secure the foot well allowing for comfort on both the up and down strokes, this combined with the stiff sole means that this shoe really helps efficiency. This is really obvious when accelerating hard or cycling over long distances. the build quality of the shoe is second to none, the only niggle is the soft rubber tread which will wear fairly quickly on rough surfaces like concrete. on the upside the soft rubber tread does mean that you are not sliding on wet roots or rocks etc.
overall an excellent shoe for cycling but not ideal for long walks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pipkin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, stiff shoe - but not too waterproof!

Posted19 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not winterproof!
These shoes are really comfortable. I do all day rides in mine and race enduros. They're impressively stiff through the sole which means you get all the power you're putting down through the cranks.
The XC50's come up a little large. I'm a size 10 in most shoes. I have these in size 10 and they're a little large if I wear standard socks. However, I combine mine with sealskinz cycle socks which are a) waterproof and b) thick - taking the excess space out of the shoe and for me making a perfect match! - And to that point - given that these shoes soak through quite easily, I would always recommend some waterproof socks with them
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano XC50 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IThinkICan
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

My first shoes

Posted06 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are my first set of cycling shoes. I wanted a shoe that I could use for commuting and xc racing and these are perfect. They are a great as my foot is narrow and these fit snug.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.