Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD Shoes

Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD Shoes

Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD Shoes
Review 1 for Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
john51
Country:New Zealand
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable shoe

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Great product, lokng forward to warm feet in the winter months
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BraeheadBullet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No complaints so far

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Decided to give these a go as I was fed up with cold feet and having to fiddle about with shoe covers in wet weather.My stealth tights fit over the top which provides an ideal combination for a winter commute. Cosy dry feet is the order of the day
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
porsche924
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good so far

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, fairly waterproof, quite warm
Bought these after struggling with cold and wet feet during late autumn / early winter.
They are considerably warmer than summer shoes and so far have kept me fairly dry. If it is really pouring down then the water eventually seeps down from the top but that is to be expected.
Sizing seems to be consistent with normal sizes but it doesn't leave a lot of room for an extra pair of socks, so if you think you will need this option then go a size bigger.
A 2 hour ride in 0deg did leave me with cold feet towards the end but i wasn't wearing the best of socks so probably not the fault of the shoes.
Easy to get on and off compared with overshoes and look to be quite durable.
Overall a better bet than overshoes i think but you don't have the advantage of taking off the wet and muddy overshoes to reveal clean shoes underneath.
I suppose it is always possible to wear overshoes as well in extreme weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nobull45
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

What a champion of cycling shoes.

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
What a fab shoe the Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD is, I do a total of 100 miles a week going to work along dirt tracks and canal paths, with the weather we have had this year it's been a great test for a shoe like this, it's been a champion shoe against the rain, mud and cold, my feet have been dry and warm all the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nobby11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What a fantastic pair of winter shoes.

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It is my opinion only, but the Shimano MW 81 boots are worth there weight in gold, I mountain bike all year round, in these boots and a good pair of socks my feet are dry and warm.
Would just like to say thanks to Evans I've spent a lot of money this year on a Hybrid for commuting, and clothing plus accessories, I've been well looked after on every purchase. And will not shop elsewhere, well done Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ben94
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The answer for cold feet.

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A really well made and effective answer to cold feet on a MB in winter, I live in the North of Scotland. these boots/shoes keep the feet dry and toasty, In sub zero weather I would team them with with a decent wool sock and make sure you size so there is room for them. Top marks for design and construction. Until I bought these I was often suffering on wild winter rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaxLight
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warmest boots ever!

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought these to replace my Lake winter boots and can only say I am majorly imopressed. I've not worn them in the rain yet, or extreme cold, but so far they have actually been too warm! Bring on the cold!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Commuter3000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good for the cold wet weather

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good shoe to keep your feet warm and dry on a winter commute
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano MW81 Gore-Tex MTB SPD Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
akseluk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Outstanding product

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Im realy happy with this shoes and can confirm that evans doing the best price on them. I know that because I made a price reserch in all possible shops and web sites. They realy water proof + they very warm (exellent for winter)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.