Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Shoes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes

Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes

Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
35 out of 37Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Review 1 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good Quality Shoes

Posted07 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
I am new to cycling and so this is my first pair of shoes. I have not used much but have used for Spin classes and they fit well and are comfortable. They also look good and seem robust so expect them to last
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

super shoes, walkability & pedalling rigidity

Posted03 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, efficient product
super shoes combining pedaling rigidity with walkability
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good commuting shoes

Posted21 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Bought these for commuting and very happy so far. Did have to get size 45 although only 43 in normal shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
It was bought:Maidstone

very comfy first pair of touring shoes.

Posted01 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I was warned that touring cleats would make my toes numb after a while, which they do. HOWEVER I love these shoes very comfortable, secure and not to flashy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very happy

Posted17 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
First pair of proper road shoes and I'm very happy with them. Comfortable, easy to tighten and release. Look smart too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shoe

Posted11 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Comfortable with good features, pleased I looked at previous reviews and elected to go for a size up from normal shoe size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Very Good Shoes

Posted21 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable
These are my first pair of road shoes and so far I have found them to be very comfortable. I would recommend going a size up as they come up on the smaller side (I am usually 44, but bought 45).
The ratchet system ensures a snug fit and is a good idea over normal velcro, hopefully the mechanism will stand the test of time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Online

great shoes

Posted01 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
these are my first bike shoes so I have nothing to compare them with
but they are really comfortable , I went for these because they have the buckle on and they can be adjusted they feel really secure.
I'm pleased I read the other reviews and bought a size larger very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

good quality shoe

Posted07 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
ordered larger size than normal and fitted ok.
nice comfortable shoe
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Comfortable shoes

Posted21 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Shoes are a very personal thing, but they seem OK so far...sizing was a bit out though, I am a 45 in Specialized but needed a 46 in Shimano. Nice looking shoe too, not too flashy, and the cleat is recessed so walking is reasonably easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good all round shoe

Posted02 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Was looking for a shoe I could commute in so I could save my 'best' shoes for the weekend or racing. These really fitted the bill. Comfy with a nice wide toe area so winter socks don't feel to tight. Nice and grippy sole for walking in. Sole is flexible but not so much as to be a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable but large shoe

Posted19 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: large fit than size suggests.
Comfortable shoe but fits larger than I expected. It is a little wider than a normal fit. Stiff but could do with a tighter fastener. Overall however a good shoe and time will tell how it wears.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Delighted

Posted19 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Delighted with these shoes , comfortable, good to walk in but still hold you into the pedal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Really comfortable shoes

Posted12 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The RT82's fit like a glove and are still comfortable hours later whether cycling or walking around somewhere. Easy to adjust, and clean. Really good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable

Posted16 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Ordered two sizes as recommended by other reviews, 45 & 46, 45's too short and toes touched front, went for 46's, a little bit wide but ok in winter with two socks on. Will need to wear thicker socks in summer or put a second insole under the Shimano one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Clip clop no more!

Posted19 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Haven't used much yet but happy so far.
They're comfortable for my wide feet and the fasteners work well.
You will need a bigger size than your regular shoe size, try different sizes first.
Nice to pop into a shop on way home from work with out turning heads clip clopping around!
It does seem like the slots for the cleats could be slightly further forward as I've got the cleats as far forward as they go to get them under the ball of the feet. They are under the ball though so it's ok for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Very pleased with these

Posted13 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I'll start by adding my voice to all those others that say Shimano sizes are too small. Every shoe I own is a 43 except these which are a snug 44.
I have spd's on my mountain bike and bought these to go with A-600 pedals on my road bike thinking that I could then use either shoe on either bike; not sure why I would though?!
That notwithstanding, walking around is great with the recessed cleats. The sole is stiff enough for me but some people may prefer a more rigid platform.
I tend to leave the bottom velcro alone, the top one is useful. The upper strap works brilliantly, it feels a bit cheep and flimsy but I have not actually had any major issues; one slight niggle, there is enough room under the clip for the strap and some times this can make it a bit of a fiddle to put the strap into the actual clip, rather than under it.
All in all a good stable platform, I have no hot spots,would buy these again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Superb first cycling shoe

Posted14 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I was nervous about getting 'clippy' shoes worried that I wouldn't be able to detach. Then I had an accident caused by soft soled trainers slipping of the pedal.
Now I've made the leap, I can't recommend them highly enough. They look the part, are comfortable and with the subtly recessed cleat, you can still make your way around tescos.
I bought them with the Shimano T400 Click'R Pedals - Pop-up Mechanism (OE)
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:Romania
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted01 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The size 40, that I bought, is too small for me, although this is the size I usually buy.
I went to a local store and I tried other sizes and it seems that for Shimano I need 42 size, instead of 40.
I didn't get to wear this shoes, because they were too small, but they seem very well made.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Comfortable shoes, try different sizes

Posted17 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I decided on a touring shoe so I can still walk with cleats and that they have a vague road look about them. Having two velcro strips as well as the binding holds the foot well and I find them quite comfortable. Watch out for the sizing, as the official Shimano sizing is way out, so you might want to go one size up. I'm a UK size 8 and in the end went for a 43 (I also tried on a 44 to make sure). I really advise trying on a size or two in a side-by-side comparison to make sure. Also try on he show you want, as I tried on a Shimano road shoe and a 44 fit me better there! These shoes also came with cleat nuts, so you won't have to buy any.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>