Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes

Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes

Overall rating:
4.227 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Review 1 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
BigCityCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Clip clop no more!

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Haven't used much yet but happy so far.
They're comfortable for my wide feet and the fasteners work well.
You will need a bigger size than your regular shoe size, try different sizes first.
Nice to pop into a shop on way home from work with out turning heads clip clopping around!
It does seem like the slots for the cleats could be slightly further forward as I've got the cleats as far forward as they go to get them under the ball of the feet. They are under the ball though so it's ok for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ToastyGoose
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Very pleased with these

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I'll start by adding my voice to all those others that say Shimano sizes are too small. Every shoe I own is a 43 except these which are a snug 44.
I have spd's on my mountain bike and bought these to go with A-600 pedals on my road bike thinking that I could then use either shoe on either bike; not sure why I would though?!
That notwithstanding, walking around is great with the recessed cleats. The sole is stiff enough for me but some people may prefer a more rigid platform.
I tend to leave the bottom velcro alone, the top one is useful. The upper strap works brilliantly, it feels a bit cheep and flimsy but I have not actually had any major issues; one slight niggle, there is enough room under the clip for the strap and some times this can make it a bit of a fiddle to put the strap into the actual clip, rather than under it.
All in all a good stable platform, I have no hot spots,would buy these again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TerminalSilver
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Superb first cycling shoe

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I was nervous about getting 'clippy' shoes worried that I wouldn't be able to detach. Then I had an accident caused by soft soled trainers slipping of the pedal.
Now I've made the leap, I can't recommend them highly enough. They look the part, are comfortable and with the subtly recessed cleat, you can still make your way around tescos.
I bought them with the Shimano T400 Click'R Pedals - Pop-up Mechanism (OE)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
MBog
Country:Romania
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The size 40, that I bought, is too small for me, although this is the size I usually buy.
I went to a local store and I tried other sizes and it seems that for Shimano I need 42 size, instead of 40.
I didn't get to wear this shoes, because they were too small, but they seem very well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
shardlojik
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Comfortable shoes, try different sizes

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I decided on a touring shoe so I can still walk with cleats and that they have a vague road look about them. Having two velcro strips as well as the binding holds the foot well and I find them quite comfortable. Watch out for the sizing, as the official Shimano sizing is way out, so you might want to go one size up. I'm a UK size 8 and in the end went for a 43 (I also tried on a 44 to make sure). I really advise trying on a size or two in a side-by-side comparison to make sure. Also try on he show you want, as I tried on a Shimano road shoe and a 44 fit me better there! These shoes also came with cleat nuts, so you won't have to buy any.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
EssexCyclistIG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
A good pair of cycling shoes that are easy to walk in. Size 46 fitted my size 44 feet fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
creakin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A shoe for the winter

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I was looking for a lightweight summer shoe with SPD fittings for an event in late August where I am likely to be riding for around 6 hours
What's good? The double Velcro strap and the locking strap work well and allow a good fit and I'm sure they will be fine for the winter but this very hot spell sees them consigned to the cupboard.
What's not so good? - You have to take extra care to make sure the tongue fits properly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arjimlad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great all-rounder

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I cycle to work most days, 10 miles or so, and these shoes have been really good. I've used them on a 10 mile road race too, and have ridden 50 miles in one day wearing them with no discomfort at all. I wanted some shoes which would be lighter and more road bike than the other ones, whilst still being SPD and practical to walk in.
I get no hot-spots, and find these are really comfortable. I am usually a size 8.5 and the 44 fit very well. They are fine to wear off the bike, being SPD with recessed cleats (which aren't included with the shoes, by the way). They dry quickly when they get wet especially if you remove the insoles.
My other SPD shoes are black trainer-like lace-ups which shout "cyclist" a bit less for wearing off the bike. I sometimes get hot-spots and numb feet with those on longer rides, though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
JMcFay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strange shape at toe makes uncomfortable

PostedJuly 8, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Uncomfortable
For me the toe end of this shoe had a strange shape such that although the overall size was ok they were too uncomfortable and I sent them back. It seemed like this might have been due to some stitching near the big toe but hard to tell. Perhaps this is only a problem for my foot shape or it was just a bad shoe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Dag67
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Smooth

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Fits perfectly and feels like quality. looks realy great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheNunnster67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Makes cyclng easier with a comfortable pair of shoes, they not only look the biz, they tick all the boxes for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dtdtdt
Country:Japan
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

recommended

PostedMay 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
I was using the peal izumiUSA until now.
Feel comparison, step in the whole foot is strong, it is easy to do even dancing.
May have a feeling of hold, cloth is not extended.
recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Brasso600
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great shoes at a good price

PostedApril 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
Bought to go with the Shimano M540 SPD pedal and they seem a good match. They fit well but I would recommend going up a size - I am normally a 10 but went for an 11. You can always do them up tightly but you cant make them bigger ! The result is that they are very, very slightly too big but nothing to worry about. Comfort is great.They will accommodate winter socks and I am more than happy. I did try the true 10 size but they were too tight.
Fitting of cleats was easy and they are easy to use on the bike and as they are a touring shoe, they are easy to walk in for short distances.
The only downside is design. They are not the prettiest and could do with more of a 'sports shoe' makeover in my view :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
Steelie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Buy them now. All you need in a non-race road shoe

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Just picked these up today. Great looks, great fit, great feel.
These shoes pick up where their hugely popular RT31 predecessor left off. Typical great quality of Shimano, two hook/loop straps and micro adjust ratchet, excellent heel support, nice ventilation, two-bolt cleat compatible. Same fit and platform as the Road and Mountain versions, look them up. NB the MTB shoe fit is slightly larger, a more 'true' 42.
Hard riding through London on my road hybrid feels steady and locked in, but with comfortable release on the cleat. Great support on the arches and ball of foot; at first the shoe felt small but when I assumed the position the flex of the foot puts them in just the right place. No hot spots.
I also tried the Specialized Touring Elite shoe, I'll be comparing the two because they are both around the £70 mark.
For me, these Shimano are a far nicer fit. I have slightly small but slightly wide size 8/42 feet. The Specialized were too narrow and tight, although the length was good. These RT82 come up slightly shorter which suits my 'size 7 3/4' foot, but the width is just right; to compare with a common shoe I'd liken it to the flat feel of a Vans classic style skate shoe compared to the Specialized's more Converse-style fit. The Shimanos look far nicer; the Specs looked and felt like school shoes to me, albeit with dodgy OTT silver reflective striping. Couldn't handle it myself.
RT82 shoes have a flat platform but with cleat recesses so you're not walking uphill when you have your cleats on like Look/SPD-SL shoes. Something worth noting is that there is a 5mm heel on this shoe which raises the arch off the floor, and therefore you get a clip-clop when walking, rather than the Specialized's more through-stepping sole.
Evans also price-matched these with an online bike gear retailer so shop around, get a comparison price and get these from the store where you can try them on.
I'm currently using them with single-sided pedals so half SPD half for trainers etc. No issues once I got used to the new feel and positioning of the cleat recess. About to put my Crank Bros Quattros on, will be interested to see how the shoes handle egg beaters.
For now, hugely recommended. I don't believe you need anything more from a shoe at all, unless you have £150 to spend and you're a weekend racer where a carbon sole and a few less grams count. But then you'll be on three-bolt cleats and these will be irrelevant so if you're on SPDs then just buy them and thank me later.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
LWaB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Durable, comfortable shoe

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
A decent shoe that adjusts to fit a variety of foot shapes. Comfortable for long rides, the SPD cleat doesn't clatter too much off the bike and it doesn't look luminescent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Viopop
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Had to exchange the product

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: sizing appears to be an issue.
When I purchased this item I checked the sizing guide and although my size was unavailable I went for the size above as it advised they are smaller than most footwear. When it arrived it was still too small, I then went to my nearest Evans store and unfortunately they still didn't have the right size. However, a helpful member of staff gave me an alternative pair of shoes, I did have to pay an extra £10 on top of the cost of the shimano's.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Steelie
London
 
Please wait while more information about Steelie is loaded.
Additional information about Steelie could not be loaded.
Irrelevant review of these shoes
Posted March 29, 2014
Sorry to hear about your customer service gripes but this is not a product review, it's you telling us how much hassle you had with mis-sized shoes. My advice is always try shoes on in the shop. One size does not fit all
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pestius
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoe does its job

PostedJune 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I wear these on my road bike, I've always worn MTB cleats with previous bikes (mountain & hybrid) and saw no point changing the habit for a road bike. These do the job perfectly well and feel really secure with the two Velcro and one ratchet strap I feel no foot movement within the shoe. Plus they look the part and stop the bigger boys on their carbon machines taunting me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
life34
Country:Turkey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great

PostedApril 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Quality and comfortable. Good compatibility with PD M540 pedals. Image looks pretty stylish. Getting dressed, this shoe was full of number 47 number 46.5. While walking very comfortable.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Essexboy53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shoe, comes up small in size though

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Comfortable once I got the right size. I'm normally a 44 but ended up needing a 46 as they are quite narrow.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Steelie
London
 
Please wait while more information about Steelie is loaded.
Additional information about Steelie could not be loaded.
Not quite
Posted March 29, 2014
Small, yes, but not narrow, I don't think. These are average width, if not slightly wide-sized. Specialized shoes are narrow.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Shimano RT82 SPD Touring Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
franman79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality touring shoe

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Really happy with this purchase. Have used both road & mtb shoes in the past and these are a perfect compromise between rigidity/efficiency and comfort/practicality. Not quite as natural to walk in as some spd shoes but definitely worth it for the support they give you for longer days in the saddle.
I have wider feet and these fit fine. In terms of size, I had to go for the upper end of the range of shoe sizes I normally have to purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>