Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes

Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes

Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
51 out of 51(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
37 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Review 1 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
RobW85

Very good value

Posted01 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
First cycling shoes, no complaints and very easy to use. Definitely reccomended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Sleaford14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect entry-level shoe

Posted11 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
A comfortable and keenly-priced shoe. Easy to attach and adjust the cleats for a perfect fit. Quality of the finish is fautless. Velcro straps well positioned and secure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Sultana93
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Easy to use, definately recommended

Posted29 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought these along side shimano spd pedals and cannot fault them one bit. For the price the are excellent and I have great comfort when using them would definately recommend ideally for someone who is starting up for the first time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
Zippy83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A comfortable shoe, good for wide feet

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, decent fit for slightly wider feet
I do have slightly wider feet than most and the best thing about these shoes is the reasonably square toe; allowing for a comfortable fit even for those of us with non-standard foot shapes.
The velcro works well and the shoes feel relatively pleasant even when walking (I'm using the Shimano R540 SPD SL Road Pedal clips) which is useful as I suspect I will be doing a little bit of scampering in them during my triathlon - I'm not experienced enough for the whole clipped-in start!
Anyway, so far so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rafaziro
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Quality

Posted09 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
That's my first bike shoes.Very nice and comfortable, I don't have anything to complain about so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Adagiophil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great entry level shoe ....comfortable and simple

Posted03 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
These entry level shoes are good value for money and easy to use. Be aware that although I wear a size 9 (43) shoe I had to get a size 45 in these to get the correct fit.
Fitting the cleats was made easier by using the markings on the sole to assist in getting them in the right place.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Youngling
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted02 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent shoe for price.
Only issue sizing.
Suggest you opt for a size up from your norm.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SMacP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable choice for first SPD shoes

Posted13 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
As a newcomer to spd pedals, these shoes seemed to fit the bill. And they did. Really comfy, easy to attach the cleats and sizing was fine. I am a size 10 in all shoes, but have quite wide feet. The size 10s in these shoes are a fine fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
treborit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

An excellent all-round shoe

Posted04 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: none
Having raced for many years, always with clips and straps, transition to cleats was with trepidation. The Shimano R064-SL road shoe was both recommended by Evans Cycles and certainly fitted the bill. I shouldn't have had any need to worry about casting aside my old systems and with Shimano pedals, can't believe what I've been missing.
Shimano shoes tend to be a little smaller than the size quoted and with the recommendation by Evans Cycles that I go for a size larger (endorsed by my cycling friends) the shoe is so comfortable, if I could wear it all day at work I would!
Great fit, fantastic clip-in action and okay to walk to and rom the bike in. Would recommend this show for newcomers and intermediate riders alike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
thecooperman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great Shoe

Posted21 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Very lightweight makes for a very comfortable ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Jsmithiii
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Entry Level SPD/SPD-SL Shoe

Posted22 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
These are my first SPD shoes as I've just taken up road cycling. So far, I've been very impressed with them; very light and comfortable as well as fitting very well.
As a note, Shimano advise that an adapter should be added to the bottom of the shoe in order to support SPD Clipless (non SPD-SL) pedals. From personal experience, you do not need this adapter and they work perfect well with SPD Clipless pedals without. I have Shimano M520 Clipless pedals and there are no problems at all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Ryan87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Great riding shoe!

Posted06 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Feet get a little cold in the winter due to the openings at the bottom and the vented sides, but apart from that great shoe!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adrian26
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Order one size up!

Posted03 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
As per other reviews of Shimano shoes (on Evans' website and others), please order one size up and you'll be fine. I am usually a 43 but ordered 44 and it fit me perfectly. I'm sure that if I had gotten a 43, I'd be struggling! Anyway, I ordered from Evans as they had the widest range of shoes to compare and one of the cheapest on the interwebs ... the shoes reached me in less than 7 working days since I live in Singapore so delivery was great.
Installing the cleats was a simple process and while I've only gone on a quick 2km ride to practice clipping/unclipping (these are my first clipless pedals), the shoes seem really comfortable.
Would recommend these shoes to a beginner who doesn't want to spend too much - spending US$250-300 on cycling shoes seems a bit nuts to me at the moment! - but wants a trustworthy brand and quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dave4friends
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

well worth the money

Posted09 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Unattractive
I was looking for a good value road shoe and these are well worth the money! I would recommend them as an entry level shoe.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Fari
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

great for my first ppair

Posted05 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
this is my first pair of clip-ons and loving every moment of it. I was scared it was going to be hard to clip in and out.. specially as everyone was telling me you will fall. So far so good! Great for my first pair!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
RuinedRoads
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good starter shoe

Posted07 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
These shoes have been a good starting point for me. The shoes are highly breathable and rather robust. They have been used for 8 months of regular use and are not showing any major signs of wear and tear above and beyond what would normally be accepted of any product. The only downside I have currently faced with the shoe is sizing in that I have a very narrow foot and the velcro is doubled over with a large amount of it hanging over the side of the shoe. They should fit well for an average width foot though!
Overall a no-frills good shoe for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Markb2610
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great value for money.

Posted07 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Excellent choice for an entry level shoe offering secure fastening with robust velcro straps, easy to put on and very comfortable.
Great vlaue for money, would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
benjamin89

Good Place to Start

Posted22 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I bought these as an entry level product. Have been everything that I have wanted so far. Easy set up and use. Great value. Only con is that they are pretty ugly.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
goblinhat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Thumbs up for first road shoes

Posted18 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
As the title suggests these are my first road shoes. As such I didn’t want to spend a fortune so went for something a little more reasonably priced. In honesty I don't know what advantage the expensive shoes give (maybe being 2 grams lighter is important), but these shoes are very comfortable and they are easy to adjust...velcro.
These shoes seem good quality and do exactly what I need them to do. Also half the time I've worn them its been soaking wet and they remain in excellent condition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wade28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent product!

Posted12 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are my first pair of SPD shoes and they're fantastic, really comfortable and true to size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>