Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes

Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes

Overall rating:
4.561 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
41 out of 41(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Review 1 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Jsmithiii
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Entry Level SPD/SPD-SL Shoe

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
These are my first SPD shoes as I've just taken up road cycling. So far, I've been very impressed with them; very light and comfortable as well as fitting very well.
As a note, Shimano advise that an adapter should be added to the bottom of the shoe in order to support SPD Clipless (non SPD-SL) pedals. From personal experience, you do not need this adapter and they work perfect well with SPD Clipless pedals without. I have Shimano M520 Clipless pedals and there are no problems at all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Ryan87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Great riding shoe!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Feet get a little cold in the winter due to the openings at the bottom and the vented sides, but apart from that great shoe!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adrian26
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Order one size up!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
As per other reviews of Shimano shoes (on Evans' website and others), please order one size up and you'll be fine. I am usually a 43 but ordered 44 and it fit me perfectly. I'm sure that if I had gotten a 43, I'd be struggling! Anyway, I ordered from Evans as they had the widest range of shoes to compare and one of the cheapest on the interwebs ... the shoes reached me in less than 7 working days since I live in Singapore so delivery was great.
Installing the cleats was a simple process and while I've only gone on a quick 2km ride to practice clipping/unclipping (these are my first clipless pedals), the shoes seem really comfortable.
Would recommend these shoes to a beginner who doesn't want to spend too much - spending US$250-300 on cycling shoes seems a bit nuts to me at the moment! - but wants a trustworthy brand and quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dave4friends
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

well worth the money

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Unattractive
I was looking for a good value road shoe and these are well worth the money! I would recommend them as an entry level shoe.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Fari
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

great for my first ppair

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
this is my first pair of clip-ons and loving every moment of it. I was scared it was going to be hard to clip in and out.. specially as everyone was telling me you will fall. So far so good! Great for my first pair!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
RuinedRoads
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good starter shoe

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
These shoes have been a good starting point for me. The shoes are highly breathable and rather robust. They have been used for 8 months of regular use and are not showing any major signs of wear and tear above and beyond what would normally be accepted of any product. The only downside I have currently faced with the shoe is sizing in that I have a very narrow foot and the velcro is doubled over with a large amount of it hanging over the side of the shoe. They should fit well for an average width foot though!
Overall a no-frills good shoe for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Markb2610
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great value for money.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Excellent choice for an entry level shoe offering secure fastening with robust velcro straps, easy to put on and very comfortable.
Great vlaue for money, would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
benjamin89

Good Place to Start

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I bought these as an entry level product. Have been everything that I have wanted so far. Easy set up and use. Great value. Only con is that they are pretty ugly.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
goblinhat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Thumbs up for first road shoes

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
As the title suggests these are my first road shoes. As such I didn’t want to spend a fortune so went for something a little more reasonably priced. In honesty I don't know what advantage the expensive shoes give (maybe being 2 grams lighter is important), but these shoes are very comfortable and they are easy to adjust...velcro.
These shoes seem good quality and do exactly what I need them to do. Also half the time I've worn them its been soaking wet and they remain in excellent condition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wade28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent product!

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are my first pair of SPD shoes and they're fantastic, really comfortable and true to size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ljac17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:St Paul's

Good value for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought these a few weeks ago and have worn them a couple times since. They're a good fit, but like others, I'd recommend looking at the Shimano sizing chart, as I had to buy a size up from usual. They're relatively lightweight and seem pretty comfortable so far!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1AMc1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these to replace the cheapo shoes I had bought from ALDI so they are a massive improvement from them. That aside they are genuinely very comfortable and nice and light. They have good ventilation as well and my feet stay nice and cool. At a great price as well so hard to fault.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveB2

Good entry level shoe

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Used for 30 mile round trip commute and weekend club ride. Compatible with both two and 3 pin cleat, solid manufacture, and relatively comfortable. Big pro is having the cleat alignment markings on the sole to get position just right, but despite this I have found my feet cramping above the cleat after 25 miles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Davvylad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Happy with these...

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Very light and good value for money... Worn recently on a sports tour and came through in them ok.... Obviously they aren't as good (perhaps) as those 200 pound pairs but to be honest for most folk these are absolutely fine....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good comfortable starter shoe

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
My first pair of clip on cycling shoes and very comfortable they are too. ideal for general commuting and the occasional sportive ride
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
draco26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great price point

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
My first pair of cycling shoe, comfortable and light. Very pleased
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Micycles

Ideal for my needs

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I've had these shoes for about a month now and have been on some fairly long rides. These shoes have been comfortable throughout. For my use (commuting and weekend rides) I'm not tempted to pay more for weight savings - these feel pretty light to me.
Only negative is that I've found that my cleats do not stay tightly screwed for very long (day or two max). This might be standard though - I've nothing to compare with as this is my first pair of SPD shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jordy90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

A well tested and worn shoe

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Very comfortable, minimal flex in the sole, and an excellent price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rasputin1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, well ventilated
Excellent product with rigid sole perfect for pedalling efficiency. Straps are better than laces which would get in the way. Only problem is how hard it is to walk in them with cleats on and how much it scuffs the bottom of the shoe. Otherwise perfect with a lovely vent to allow air to the foot!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R064 SPD-SL Road Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fauzuld

great fit, comfortable

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
- excellent fit and comfortable
- good quality finishing and looks awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>