Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cycle Computers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer

Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer

Along with current, average, and max speed measurement, track your trip distance, elapsed time, and odometer.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
deadone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good all round

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, ease of use
if like me your looking for a basic function computer which has the things you need to know on the road/trail then this is what you need.
a doddle to setup up, nice big screen and all the functions you would need to get you started.
rated 4* as a back light would of been nice for the darker rides but at this price im not complaining.
i have this mounted on my stem due to lights up front on bars.
sits well on my stem, no movement when on the trails.
looks well made and rugged so should hopefully last a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HighlightsOnly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I'm new to cycling and after my first couple of rides I realised I would love to know how far and fast I was actually traveling - I'll admit to having a bit of a competitive streak! Bought this and after prompt delivery from Evans Cycles fitted it with minimal fuss.
I'm really pleased I didn't purchase the next model up as this one perfectly meets all my needs without providing too much information. Have used it on two or three different times out and overall really pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GotLeGear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An excellent piece of kit.

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, excellent display
Cons: none at all
Highly recommended. Does exactly what it says on the website. Easy to fit and set up. Excellent easy-to-read display with intuitive push-button change from one parameter to another. Built-in clock display a very useful feature - it means you don't need to wear a watch and get the wristband all sweaty!
The fitting instructions suggest you wind the relevant part of the connecting wire around the brake cable to guide it, which I did, but I also found it useful to also add a couple of wraps of black insulating tape to stop the wire slipping down along the cable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Transbalham
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Basic but gives me everything I need

PostedJune 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I'm an old guy (71) and finally decided to get a very simple, accurate computer to see how my "guesstimates" of distance and speed compared with reality. Cateye were recommended to me and had decent reviews. I went for the Velo 7 because the slightly cheaper Velo 5 apparently won't go on the stem where I wanted it, and the Velo 9 has silly things like calories and carbon offset I would never use. The initial setting of the clock and tyre size needs a bit of careful reading (and re-reading) of the instructions if you've never done it before, but fitting the sensor and magnet wasn't difficult. Not much more to say, really. It works fine, the display has big, clear numbers, it's easy to scroll through the readouts on the move with the single big button, and if you just want the basics it seems like a good budget buy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jasper8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple but effective

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This product does all the things I need to know,speed and distance.
Simple to use and fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mitso100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cheltenham

Godd value for money.

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Didn't want to spend a lot on a computer as they can get stolen/damaged. This gives all the basic information required and also saves data from when fitted and trip info.
Its a nice and clear display with one button to scroll through.
I decided on a wired model from the reviews I have read and this fits the bill.
Also gives the time, and is easy to remove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kevredfox
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Cycling computer for basic needs

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this computer for my mountain bike having already purchased the Cateye Velo 9 for my road bike. Having set them up before installation was straightforward and the instructions clear.
This computer tells you all you need to know for basic needs. Your time, Time elapsed, Average speed, Maximum speed, Calories burned, Trip distance and odometer. It will work with all sizes of wheel, in this case a 26 inch mountain bike wheel. The unit is well waterproofed as I have now tested in many rides in the rain. In my opinion for the money this is the best cycling computer for basic needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AdeofBrighton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Easy to set up and use. Clear display

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Clear instructions on how to set up and easy to assemble. Has good clear display when riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
neil74
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple but effective.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Simple function, gives you all the basic info that you need: speed, ave speed, distance, clock and time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
theengineer
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Back to simplicity

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, easy to use
I wanted a basic computer for my commute bike and this does very well.
As it is a rigid fork I went for the wired version assuming it will be more reliable. 7 functions are enough for all the information I require. Looks well built and has survived a few rainy rides to work. My only issue is the fastening of the computer into its dock, I have with previous computers push the computer out of the dock when resting my hydration pack on the top tube/stem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
etiben
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ergonomically designed and refined product

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Simple to program and install, clear display, and easy to use on the bike. The only criticism I have is that the cable is a bit too long, at least for my Trek road bike, and this means the excess is coiled up on the fork near the sensor. This doesn't affect operation; it just looks a bit cluttered.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
benston
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reliable, easy to read, basic computer.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to fit, large display
This Velo 7 has all the functions I need, with a large, easy to read display and is superb value for money. It was very easy to fit and calibrate. If you don't want or need a wireless computer, this one is just about perfect!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.