Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer

Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer

Along with current, average, and max speed measurement, track your trip distance, elapsed time, and odometer.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
verity
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

just what i needed

Posted07 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I needed a wired cateye for my bike that is on the turbo trainer. As wireless ones don't seem to cover the distance needed to the rear wheel. Overall great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tpatvelo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good basic computer. Not backwards compatible

Posted01 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: different mount to old cateyes
I bought this to replace an ageing Cateye Velo 8 computer, which is showing signs of packing up. I have two bikes and identical computer mounts on both bikes. I was expecting this to fit both mounts but Cateye have changed the shape of the mount so I have fitted the new mount on one of the bikes but I can't use this on the other bike, I am still having to use the old computer. It would have (1) been useful if the product description could have made this clear and (2) if a spare second mount could be purchased separately. I am not sure which one to get. I may even have to buy a second computer just to get the right mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Berkan
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stopped working after a while

Posted18 October 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Stopped working after only a year. Already after a short while it started to glitch and not always feel the magnet on the wheel and now it has completely stopped.
Maybe it did not like the swedish conditions, with the temperatyre ranging between 25 below and 35 above Celcius.
My next buy will most likely not be a Cateye.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
l1nd1lou
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value product

Posted05 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
Although quite bulky this product is easy to operate, easy to fit and gives all the basic information you would require. My only criticism is that you can't put in all previous miles clocked up from the old computer or from this one when changing the battery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like2cycle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent product!

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, actually does what it claims to do!
As a newbie to cycling, I wanted to actually track what distances I was covering (and was happy to see it was further than I realised!) this item was the best reviews for what I needed - miles covered, av. Speed, time taken and it even has a pace on it). Evans were the best priced. The item is very easy to install, easy to set to requirements (e.g. Wheel size, mph etc) and so far has proved to be a sturdy little gadget. Evans were very fast with delivery and very well packaged. Would recommend cateye products and am now a firm customer of evans.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pugwash53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

A good basic bike computer

Posted03 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This bike computer arrives with everything you need. The mounting bracket can be fitted to either a transverse or longitudinal bar. The mounting bracket and the receiver both have sticky pads to hold them in position, and they're really just to prevent slippage. The actual securing is done with tie wraps, of which plenty are provided. Instructions in many languages are provided. The computer needs to be calibrated to the wheel size, and you can either measure the circumference of the wheel yourself and enter it, or choose one of the many standard wheel sizes that are offered. Fitting is straightforward providing you take care to ensure the wire has sufficient flex to allow for handlebar movement.
While this isn't Cateye's bottom of the range bike computer it does everything I require. Models with more functions might allow me to see how much energy I've burnt, or what my CO2 footprint has been, but that didn't interest me. I like the fact that the display is easily removed and slipped into your pocket. Also that the display switches itself off if there hasn't been any movement for a while, but switches on again and carries on recording distance as soon as you restart cycling. You can reset the distance travelled by pressing and holding the control button. The odometer doesn't reset though so will continue to record the total distance cycled since installing the computer.
I haven't tried it in the rain, but having had Cateye products in the past I have no doubt it will perform well. All in all a good quality, basic bike computer at a reasonable price which should appeal to leisure cyclists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
deadone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good all round

Posted21 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, ease of use
if like me your looking for a basic function computer which has the things you need to know on the road/trail then this is what you need.
a doddle to setup up, nice big screen and all the functions you would need to get you started.
rated 4* as a back light would of been nice for the darker rides but at this price im not complaining.
i have this mounted on my stem due to lights up front on bars.
sits well on my stem, no movement when on the trails.
looks well made and rugged so should hopefully last a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HighlightsOnly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value

Posted03 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I'm new to cycling and after my first couple of rides I realised I would love to know how far and fast I was actually traveling - I'll admit to having a bit of a competitive streak! Bought this and after prompt delivery from Evans Cycles fitted it with minimal fuss.
I'm really pleased I didn't purchase the next model up as this one perfectly meets all my needs without providing too much information. Have used it on two or three different times out and overall really pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GotLeGear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An excellent piece of kit.

Posted02 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, excellent display
Cons: none at all
Highly recommended. Does exactly what it says on the website. Easy to fit and set up. Excellent easy-to-read display with intuitive push-button change from one parameter to another. Built-in clock display a very useful feature - it means you don't need to wear a watch and get the wristband all sweaty!
The fitting instructions suggest you wind the relevant part of the connecting wire around the brake cable to guide it, which I did, but I also found it useful to also add a couple of wraps of black insulating tape to stop the wire slipping down along the cable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Transbalham
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Basic but gives me everything I need

Posted08 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I'm an old guy (71) and finally decided to get a very simple, accurate computer to see how my "guesstimates" of distance and speed compared with reality. Cateye were recommended to me and had decent reviews. I went for the Velo 7 because the slightly cheaper Velo 5 apparently won't go on the stem where I wanted it, and the Velo 9 has silly things like calories and carbon offset I would never use. The initial setting of the clock and tyre size needs a bit of careful reading (and re-reading) of the instructions if you've never done it before, but fitting the sensor and magnet wasn't difficult. Not much more to say, really. It works fine, the display has big, clear numbers, it's easy to scroll through the readouts on the move with the single big button, and if you just want the basics it seems like a good budget buy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jasper8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple but effective

Posted22 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This product does all the things I need to know,speed and distance.
Simple to use and fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mitso100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cheltenham

Godd value for money.

Posted12 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Didn't want to spend a lot on a computer as they can get stolen/damaged. This gives all the basic information required and also saves data from when fitted and trip info.
Its a nice and clear display with one button to scroll through.
I decided on a wired model from the reviews I have read and this fits the bill.
Also gives the time, and is easy to remove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kevredfox
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Cycling computer for basic needs

Posted21 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this computer for my mountain bike having already purchased the Cateye Velo 9 for my road bike. Having set them up before installation was straightforward and the instructions clear.
This computer tells you all you need to know for basic needs. Your time, Time elapsed, Average speed, Maximum speed, Calories burned, Trip distance and odometer. It will work with all sizes of wheel, in this case a 26 inch mountain bike wheel. The unit is well waterproofed as I have now tested in many rides in the rain. In my opinion for the money this is the best cycling computer for basic needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AdeofBrighton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Easy to set up and use. Clear display

Posted29 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Clear instructions on how to set up and easy to assemble. Has good clear display when riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
neil74
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple but effective.

Posted26 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Simple function, gives you all the basic info that you need: speed, ave speed, distance, clock and time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
theengineer
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Back to simplicity

Posted25 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, easy to use
I wanted a basic computer for my commute bike and this does very well.
As it is a rigid fork I went for the wired version assuming it will be more reliable. 7 functions are enough for all the information I require. Looks well built and has survived a few rainy rides to work. My only issue is the fastening of the computer into its dock, I have with previous computers push the computer out of the dock when resting my hydration pack on the top tube/stem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
etiben
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ergonomically designed and refined product

Posted10 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Simple to program and install, clear display, and easy to use on the bike. The only criticism I have is that the cable is a bit too long, at least for my Trek road bike, and this means the excess is coiled up on the fork near the sensor. This doesn't affect operation; it just looks a bit cluttered.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
benston
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reliable, easy to read, basic computer.

Posted31 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to fit, large display
This Velo 7 has all the functions I need, with a large, easy to read display and is superb value for money. It was very easy to fit and calibrate. If you don't want or need a wireless computer, this one is just about perfect!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.