Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cycle Computers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer

Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer

Along with current, average, and max speed measurement, track your trip distance, elapsed time, and odometer.
Overall rating:
4.433 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
29 out of 30Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

inexpensive way to get essential features

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: none for the price
I needed a cheap, basic set of readouts when using my turbo trainer for indoor sessions during the winter months and this fits the bill perfectly. Easy to install , the readout is clear to read and it has a simple one button press to toggle between the different stats. The mph and distance stats appear to be pretty accurate as they compare closely to my mobile phone GPS tracker app that I use when I'm cycling outdoors.This is due to the ability to enter a specific wheel size into the device so the rotations can be calculated accurately. It doesn't track heart rate and calories but I wasn't looking for this anyway, my workouts are based in time and distance. Overall it did the job perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Just what I wanted

Posted11 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
It was just what I wanted in a computer for my bike. Just the basics in a clear and simple unit that is easy to use. Always interesting to see what the stats are after a day out. It was very easy to fit and set up, cant think how it could be better, great value too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excelent choice

Posted09 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
The cat eye has all the use full data you require for training and racing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says

Posted18 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
All worked according to plan, exactly was expected, easy to fit and set up. Nice big numbers so can at least read the speed without glasses.
Just hope it doesn't mind getting wet, we do live in England!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shame about scrolling display

Posted04 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: no scrolling display
Does what it says on the tin. Although this was fitted in the shop for me, I had to re-fit the sensor as it hadn't been put in the right place on the fork. That said, it was reasonably easy to fit. Slightly disappointed by the lack of a scrolling display - my last bike computer would cycle through each of the measurements, but this doesn't appear to have that functionality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gives me the data I want!

Posted24 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought the wired version as I had previous problems with a wireless one.
I have now had it for about a month and can't fault it. It is basic, but it provides me with all the data I want on my rides.
Easy to set up and wires hardly noticeable. It is well priced and would recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted11 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great product , easy to install and set up. Displays all information you need
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This is my second one....

Posted27 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: falls off!
This is a comprehensive, simple to use computer...Why is it my second one? The computer is detachable so you can remove it when you park your bike...unfortunately it fell off somewhere when I was on a ride out and was lost.
I have anchored number 2 with a very technical....hair bobble.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use and install

Posted14 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Very good display screen and easy to install. Only negative is that it doesn't scroll through the readings automatically whilst cycling so you can get a quick review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good balance of cost and features

Posted10 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This computer does all the useful things without stuff I considered superfluous like approximating calories used.
I'd like a optional backlight but they cost far more.
I'd always go for a wired computer. I've had problems in the past with wireless ones getting false readings due to local electrical fields (e.g. when on trains with overhead electric power, a wireless one I had used to read '99mph' and so messed up all my records).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great product functions are excellent. Easy to fit except the sticky pad moved and folded over on itself so I had to remove it so it moves a little now
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I like it because it is simple

Posted29 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
Good if you need simple computer. The only problem is the sensor that goes on the fork. It is very awkward to fit and too big. Other brands made it better. It survived a few rainy rides without problem. I like it because it is simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

just what i needed

Posted07 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I needed a wired cateye for my bike that is on the turbo trainer. As wireless ones don't seem to cover the distance needed to the rear wheel. Overall great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good basic computer. Not backwards compatible

Posted01 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: different mount to old cateyes
I bought this to replace an ageing Cateye Velo 8 computer, which is showing signs of packing up. I have two bikes and identical computer mounts on both bikes. I was expecting this to fit both mounts but Cateye have changed the shape of the mount so I have fitted the new mount on one of the bikes but I can't use this on the other bike, I am still having to use the old computer. It would have (1) been useful if the product description could have made this clear and (2) if a spare second mount could be purchased separately. I am not sure which one to get. I may even have to buy a second computer just to get the right mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stopped working after a while

Posted18 October 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Stopped working after only a year. Already after a short while it started to glitch and not always feel the magnet on the wheel and now it has completely stopped.
Maybe it did not like the swedish conditions, with the temperatyre ranging between 25 below and 35 above Celcius.
My next buy will most likely not be a Cateye.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value product

Posted05 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
Although quite bulky this product is easy to operate, easy to fit and gives all the basic information you would require. My only criticism is that you can't put in all previous miles clocked up from the old computer or from this one when changing the battery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent product!

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, actually does what it claims to do!
As a newbie to cycling, I wanted to actually track what distances I was covering (and was happy to see it was further than I realised!) this item was the best reviews for what I needed - miles covered, av. Speed, time taken and it even has a pace on it). Evans were the best priced. The item is very easy to install, easy to set to requirements (e.g. Wheel size, mph etc) and so far has proved to be a sturdy little gadget. Evans were very fast with delivery and very well packaged. Would recommend cateye products and am now a firm customer of evans.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

A good basic bike computer

Posted03 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This bike computer arrives with everything you need. The mounting bracket can be fitted to either a transverse or longitudinal bar. The mounting bracket and the receiver both have sticky pads to hold them in position, and they're really just to prevent slippage. The actual securing is done with tie wraps, of which plenty are provided. Instructions in many languages are provided. The computer needs to be calibrated to the wheel size, and you can either measure the circumference of the wheel yourself and enter it, or choose one of the many standard wheel sizes that are offered. Fitting is straightforward providing you take care to ensure the wire has sufficient flex to allow for handlebar movement.
While this isn't Cateye's bottom of the range bike computer it does everything I require. Models with more functions might allow me to see how much energy I've burnt, or what my CO2 footprint has been, but that didn't interest me. I like the fact that the display is easily removed and slipped into your pocket. Also that the display switches itself off if there hasn't been any movement for a while, but switches on again and carries on recording distance as soon as you restart cycling. You can reset the distance travelled by pressing and holding the control button. The odometer doesn't reset though so will continue to record the total distance cycled since installing the computer.
I haven't tried it in the rain, but having had Cateye products in the past I have no doubt it will perform well. All in all a good quality, basic bike computer at a reasonable price which should appeal to leisure cyclists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good all round

Posted21 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, ease of use
if like me your looking for a basic function computer which has the things you need to know on the road/trail then this is what you need.
a doddle to setup up, nice big screen and all the functions you would need to get you started.
rated 4* as a back light would of been nice for the darker rides but at this price im not complaining.
i have this mounted on my stem due to lights up front on bars.
sits well on my stem, no movement when on the trails.
looks well made and rugged so should hopefully last a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye Velo 7 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value

Posted03 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I'm new to cycling and after my first couple of rides I realised I would love to know how far and fast I was actually traveling - I'll admit to having a bit of a competitive streak! Bought this and after prompt delivery from Evans Cycles fitted it with minimal fuss.
I'm really pleased I didn't purchase the next model up as this one perfectly meets all my needs without providing too much information. Have used it on two or three different times out and overall really pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>