Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cycle Computers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer

Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer

Along with current, average, and max speed measurement, track your trip distance, elapsed time, and odometer. Now featuring calorie consumption and a carbon offset measurement to help you track how much of a difference you are making.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's not as good at it could be

Posted14 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: wire not long enough
quite complicated to set up the computer, although fixing it all to the bike is fairly simple! The wire doesn't quite stretch to the back wheel, but if you fit the computer to the top bar then it'll work!!
Over all, I've figured it out and it works!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good tracker

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
A good product although a little dissapointed that could have bought over£10 cheaper from online bike shop. Instructions a little confusing. Does what it says will do when working.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just what I was after

Posted10 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
A great little computer for a new starter. Fairly easy to configure and displays information I want (distance travelled, speed). It is my first cycle computer but pleased with it. Easy to take on and off so you don't have to leave it unattended when the bike is locked up. Would recommend. If you're buying to go with a bike there is a light and computer set for a similar price with the lower spec Velo 7 elsewhere on this site which I found after I'd already bought this, and would be an ideal gift or starter set for a new bike, but having used this now, I'm still happy with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great product, very easy to fit and use!

Posted08 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very easy to use and has all the functions I wanted and more - great product for a great price - would recommend to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what is required

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fits perfectly on the stem.
Easy to fit.
Easy to set up.
Easy to operate - giving max speed, ave speed, trip distance, cumulative distance etc etc.
Wires are not an issue as wrapped around brake cable and cable tied to front wheel fork.
I did have a Polar wireless computer which always dropped out when climbing hills and even when at full speed - useless. So decided to go for the wired version and Evans had a good reduction, and results is exactly what I require.
I would definately buy Cateye again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Mounting system not too good and gimmicky features

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, gimmicky
This computer looks good and has been working well. My main criticism is that it was not easy to install securely on handlebars (well, impossible to install really securely), because of the shape of the bracket and thin feeble sticky rubber pad supplied. The problem lies in the fact that Cateye are trying to accommodate both handlebar and stem mounting with one bracket, curved in two directions, which really will not work. It doesn't give enough contact area, so I had to add more bits of rubber to fill out the hollow.
A more minor criticism is that I don't think it's a good idea to make the sensor mounting pad sticky, as that makes it hard to reposition if you don't get it right first time.
I think the readouts for "CO2 saved" (how on earth do they calculate this? Compared to what?) and calories used are pointless and gimmicky, and just get in the way of the information you want to see if you are cycling through the display.
Apart from these criticisms it is a basically good product, but only average value for money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Easy set up and usage...

Posted02 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
If all you need is a basic computer then this is the one, it was very easy to install, very simple to use and seems reliable after a few weeks of cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Decent run-of-the-mill wired speedo

Posted31 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Simple features, easy to use
Unsure why Cateye included a CO2 offset meter, waste of space in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product with nice simple features

Posted17 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Really easy to fit and set up, much better than wireless versions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Velo 9 Wired Bike Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid product if standard features

Posted28 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Hasn't been used for long but hopefully the longevity of the product shouldn't be a problem. Easy to attach despite being a wired model and was set up and running quite easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.