Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Books or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Book : Park Tool Big Blue Book 2

Book : Park Tool Big Blue Book 2

Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Book : Park Tool Big Blue Book 2
Review 1 for Book : Park Tool Big Blue Book 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whitters
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Fantastic reference

Posted28 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A fantastic book that shows you how to do most of the stuff that you would want to do at home.
The pictures and descriptions are clear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Book : Park Tool Big Blue Book 2
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Daniel7529
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good quality but lacking in areas.

Posted30 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This covers the main areas of maintenance well but was lacking in some others. Specifically from my point of view the lack of detail an suspension maintenance and servicing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Book : Park Tool Big Blue Book 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skybluescooby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Book

Posted02 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: informative
Cons: needs more pictures
This is a good book packed with some useful nuggets of information.
My only criticism would be the lack of pictures as they can solve many a mystery when trying to fathom out why what and how.
Plus the pictures that are featured could be a bit bigger to show more detail other than that it is a useful book that will probably have me spending more money on new parts or indeed saving buckets loads by doing the job myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Book : Park Tool Big Blue Book 2
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Socket60

BB30 issues

Posted30 December 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This 2008 edition clearly needs updating. P82 makes only a passing reference to BB30 & 90 bottom bracket bearings with no explanation on removal & replacement. There is also no reference to the tools required unlike other bearing systems as shown in table 7.3, p85. No wonder the book was in the sale!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Book : Park Tool Big Blue Book 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
snowanddirt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

fantastic information, clear instruction

Posted08 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, informative
Great buy, saved me so much money as the information on all the repairs and brands was detailed, one of the best purchases I've ever made, saved my life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Book : Park Tool Big Blue Book 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tarmacburn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to follow instructions and photos

Posted28 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Excellent for novices who want to start maintaining their own bikes or those who have been doing so for nearly 40 years. Something in here for everyone with updated info on new kit/technology. You're never to old to learn!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Book : Park Tool Big Blue Book 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
It was bought:Online

extensive mechanic handbook

Posted16 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, extensive
the bbb has been around for a while. version 2 has a raft of updates including the latest technology and how to deal with it. It is useful for the home and shop mechanic alike. clear and precise with lots of pictures. a must have for everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Book : Park Tool Big Blue Book 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scubasam9
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Concise Book

Posted03 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: clear english, useful photos
I did a one day maintenance course and was looking for a book to cover what I had learnt. As most of the tools used on the course was by Park Tools, opted for this book. It is the same standard as their tools, excellent. Have just adjusted by brakes, the procedure was explained well in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.