Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml

White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml

Clean Ride is a unique, wax-based lubricant, so it is important to start with a clean chain, for optimum 'self-cleaning' performance, do not mix Clean Ride with oil based lubricants. The dirtier the ride, the more active the shedding action, so to this extent, Clean Ride will require more frequent re-application after dirtier rides. When Clean Ride is used regularly and properly, you'll rarely have to clean your chain again. So, while your buddies are cleaning their chains, you'll be applying a fresh shot of Clean Ride and heading out for yet another great ride.
Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Review 1 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scottishlady
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what it claims

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have used various chain lublicants on top spec. SRAM based 10 speed Whyte 905. Oil based products work, but attrack dust in summer and turn the lubricant into grinding paste. The wax based products are expensive, but much better. I have tried them all and the best yet is White Lightning. I had to thoroughly clean the chain first to remove other lubricant traces. White lightning is easy to apply. I have now done around 100 miles on the drive train in mixed conditions - mostly dry and the chain is clean - yes, clean! As we head into November I will see how well th echain copes with mud.
David, Bedfordshire
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Setro36
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

PostedMay 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was fed up with constantly cleaning the chain and mech.Since using this lube for the last two months I'm no longer cleaning. Just re apply after every ride which in the long run saves time and money and means more riding.
The average ride I take is 50 plus miles no problem at all a fast fluid chain and mech.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarkleSparkle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, highly recommended

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Nice straightforward lube, goes on easily, keeps the chain clean. What more could you want?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
markwww

good lube

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
does as you would expect. Good size tube. does seem to keep my chain cleaner and running smoother.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul18

Great lube

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have been using this for a few years now. It is fantastic in dry conditions and lasts a few weeks. Only downside is that it needs applying after each ride if very wet. No more messy drive train
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HighlandPeat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

'Clearly' a good lube?

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I was fed up with endlessly cleaning up and lub'ing the chain on my road bike, only for it to look dirty after a few hours riding. So yes, I bought this primarily on aesthetic value, and it certainly works on this level. The chain stays clean for a lot longer - the lube somehow doesn't seem to pick up the dirt that other 'dry' lubes I have used do. It needs a bit of patience to apply to the chain because it is so low on the viscosity scale (it's very runny) and I tend to apply it quite frequently because the chain is so dry, this may not be required I don't know, I am still getting use to it I guess. Although the chain runs smoothly and quiet enough, I have not used it long enough to know about its long term effectiveness on protecting the chain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikethebike44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing chain lubricant

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: simply a great product !
Cons: absolutely none
I read the reviews and bought and cannot believe how good this stuff is. Started to use it on my new MTB and have now done 200 miles with reapplication of 5 ml every 50 miles or so. The chain and all rings look the same as they did 200 miles ago. Grip the chain and your hand is almost clean. Shifting the SRAM 27 gears are smooth and precise. What a pleasure to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bigredhelmet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Very good...

PostedMay 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does exactly what it says - certainly makes the bike run quieter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sunDOG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent chain lube

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
An excellent, non-gunky chain lube that doesn't act like a magnet for road grime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
R19Jones95
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One of the best lubricants I've used.

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, cleans itself, convenient
Cons: doesn't last as long as others
Clean ride is brilliant. I use it on my BMX chain as the park near myself is quite dusty, and wet lubricants seem to pick up a lot of the dirt and this means you have to clean and re lubricate your chain regularly. Clean ride solves this problem. All you need to do is top up the chain every now and again, because the wax cleans the chain for you! It doesn't last as long as the heavy wet lube that I use for my mountain bike, however it is my first recommendation whenever anybody asks about chain lubrication.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MarkN38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super smooth but needs re-applying often.

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've tried a fair few lubes in the past on my commuting bike as the chain takes a lot of abuse picking up loads of road grit. Being a commuting bike it also has work day in day out with minimal maintenance. In recent weeks the weather has been horendous with floods and freezing conditions so this lube has been well tested.
This lube produces an amazingly smooth ride and really does leave the chain visably clean. It works well in all weathers but I did make the mistake of not re-applying the lube one weekend to find a rusty chain on Monday morning.
I'd highly recommend this lube but just remember to apply regularly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flyingpedals
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good clean ride

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Follow the instructions and this does exactly what it says. Nice clean chain. Smoothes the gear changes too. Works when wet and muddy too with the mountain bike - you need to reapply though for the next ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for White Lightning Clean Ride Chain Lube - 240ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigMo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lube. Durable

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've used this lube for years. I tried other brands of late, but been dissapointed, so returned to White Lightning. I use it on road and mountain bikes in all conditions and it has always been durable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.