Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Avenir Deluxe Padded Bike Bag

Avenir Deluxe Padded Bike Bag

Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Avenir Deluxe Padded Bike Bag
Review 1 for Avenir Deluxe Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ftls

Not worth full price

PostedMay 13, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I bought this product at a strongly discounted price when it was on offer here, and for that amount I can say it's fair, you don't pay much, you can't expect much. The bag got my road bike safely through a couple plane rides, but that was as much an achievement of my adding serious padding inside the bag, as well as airline staff treating the thing well.
For the full price currently listed (about 280 Euros), this bag is not worth the money at all. Add the 70 bucks and get the real deal, the Evoc Bike Travel Bag. I have used a range of bags and cases, and the Evoc is probably the best product on the market, especially if you have to transport larger bikes like full-suspension MTBs.
The Avenir is flimsy, unstable due to the asymmetrical arrangement of the wheels, the zippers are a nightmare, packing is tedious because of lacking stability of the bag itself (it constantly collapses on you), and protection against frontal or lateral impact where the wheels don't cover the frame is basically absent. Simply a badly-made knockoff, I hate to say it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Avenir Deluxe Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
maddog37
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The bike bag is great value, and is exactly what I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Avenir Deluxe Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bigtime
Country:Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Very good value

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I bought this bag so that we could cram two kids road bikes in for airline travel. The bag handled the job well. It actually has fork braces on both sides so it accommodated two frames surprisingly well. The interior set-up is similar to the EVOC bag otherwise including the fork harness itself. As a result, you could probably purchase the EVOC road bike adaptor if you felt you needed the extra protection for the fork. The workmanship of this bag is mediocre. This did not cause any issues for me but I felt that tightening the straps securely would have put too much stress on the sewn seams of the interiour straps for instance. I'm guessing that durability will be an issue - at the current price this is to be expected. The bag did not offer much in the way of wheel protection but the wheels seem to have survived flight #1. If you are looking to transport a bicycle that you care a lot about, I'd recommend upgrading. Otherwise, this will do the job with tons of room to spare.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Avenir Deluxe Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ali0772
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Great product, does the job without the cost

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Had two medium priced (£1-2k each) bikes to ship around. These have worked perfectly, no damage, plenty of space. Generally come in at 16k (bag and bike and helmet).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Avenir Deluxe Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigDaddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value, but limited protection

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: limited protection
I bought this to take my road bike on a plane. It did the job well, with no damage on either leg of the journey. It is also very good value compared to other bike bags and boxes. However, I was expecting a little more protection for the bike; other bags I have seen have fold-out struts and supports that add a little rigidity to the frame. This one, however, is just a heavy duty material bag. If that's what you want, then it's a good product. I just think that for a little extra you can get a bag that offers quite a lot more protection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Avenir Deluxe Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
goforit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Too flimsy

PostedAugust 13, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: big enough
Cons: Expensive
Either buy a harder case or obtain thick transparent cover from British Cycling or elsewhere.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Avenir Deluxe Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suds3223
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great value and protection.

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Superb value for money and provides really good protection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Avenir Deluxe Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stevethechef
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bike Flight bag

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great value at discounted price , strong enough for the occasional trip.
Light weight . Can get bike , kit and still get 23kg BA luggage allowance.
Overall pleased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.