Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set

Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set

Suitable for rigid MTB.
Overall rating:
3.823 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
15 out of 17Would you recommend this product to a friend?88%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Review 1 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It was bought:Brentford

Useless

Posted24 January 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Awkward to try to fit onto your bike. Says it fits with V-brakes but doesn't. Has a screw to attach them to the bike frame, but ridiculously it's too small so I can't actually use them!
Waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Excellent mudguard for 26" wheeled mountain bike

Posted01 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, keeps most water and mud off
I have fitted these guards on my wifes Giant hardtail mountain bike, They are easy to fit and give reasonable protection, They fit through the brake caliper hole in the frame and top of the forks, there are no mudguard stays, but as there are no holes on the bike for stays this is not a problem,
The bracket allows the guards to be removed if needed, however they may loosen off in time if removed too often.
If you ride on mainly tarmac, and gravel tracks then these are excellent for leisure rides and commuting. Far better than clip on guards or worse still no mudguards for keeping dryer in he rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Be careful of fittings

Posted09 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: fittings
This is a good value for money product as long as it fits your bike! The fittings for the front mudguard require a hole to be present in your fork arch (? apologies don't know technical term). The rear requires a similar hole to be available in the place where the frame splits to hold the rear wheel. Have a number of different bikes and therefore by shifting around various types of mudguards have managed to make full use of the product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good value

Posted01 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: Unattractive
Fits well onto my bike, easy to fit, they are also good at keeping mud out of your face, they certainly are not good enough to keep the rest of you or your bike clean, i do however have a very muddy commute to work along the bridal path.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Robust mudguards at excellent price

Posted08 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought these for my son's bike. They were easy to install and do an excellent job of protecting him - and his clothes - from grit and spray.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value for money and does the job

Posted24 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, easy to install
Cons: slight floppy
I bought the mudguards because of the rainy weather and wet roads.
The mudguards are lightweight, easy to install, does the job when cycling on wet roads and it is value for money.
The con being the unsecured end of the rear mudguard is slightly floppy.
Overall, it is a good product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A bit floppy

Posted03 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: floppy
Fitted to a 24" boys MTB, these are slighty big, but more importantly aren't stiff ennough to stay over the back tyre. They are made of good quality plastic, with a single solid zinc plated fitting per guard, but the profile is probably a bit flat to provide the necessary stiffness. I'm thinking of cutting down the rear mudguard.
I have grudgingly recommended for 24 inch wheels as choice is limited for this size, and I couldn't find anything better.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted26 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: didn't fit
Bought this for my specialized hard rock mountain bike. They would have been ideal for long touring type rides over rough tracks, Unfortunately when fitted, there was inadequate clearance to the tyres in fact they were touching the tyres and so I had to take them back.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Value for money, don't fit all bikes

Posted15 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: not universal
be careful when buying these, they don't fit all types of MTBs, back ones fitted my wife's bike fine, front ones not at all, but luckily the did fit my sons dirt bike perfectly, so just swap his front one for these. other than that they are good value for money and if you have the right bike will be spot on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

Posted21 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Strong plastic, cleanly finished, very easy to fit.
Mudguards stable on the bike, don't flap about.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to fit,look good

Posted29 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
these fit my requirement for a low profile mudguard set which don't interfere with fitting lights to the seat stem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb value for money - classic fit.

Posted20 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, classic
After spending money at Halfords and other local shops for unsightly or impracticable mud guards I purchased these. Don't hesitate if you want a good coverage mudguard, excellent value for money with great service from Evans.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great

Posted18 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cheap and easy way to stop wet bottom on my pub /commute bike
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for winter road riding

Posted12 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
These are perfect for what I wanted - to ride my MTB on the road through the winter, without having my legs drenched. They are a little on the flimsy side, but for the price, there is no arguing. Fit well and do a great job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value and does the job

Posted03 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
For £8, this set of mudguards is excellent value. Quality and fit are decent too, they do the job and are easy to fit. I've used them on my daily commute on my mountain bike, but on-road, for the last 4 months over the winter. Not sure how they would stand up to off-road use, but for £8 a replacement set is very cheap.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better than expected for the money paid.

Posted24 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Bought for my daughters 24" wheeled mountain bike to give her a chance of staying clear of spray, they were easy to fit (just a few minutes), look nice and do the job they were bought for. They do wobble a bit but not too much that it would be a problem. All in all they are well worth the money paid.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Zefal Classic MTB Mudguard Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:Thailand
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

May not suit disc brake bikes

Posted03 June 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive
I got these from LBS and when I tried to install the front I then realised it won't fit my disc-equipped MTB that has no v-brake mounts. Ok, so that's my fault for checking it out beforehand.
But the plastic seatpost mount strap broke after just a month of commuting that I fixed with a rubber strap from an unused Zefal mirror which has lasted over a year now.
Yes, it can keep my bum dry not my backside should I be unable to avoid a puddle.
There's got to be a better set of MTB mudguards out there.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.