Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mirrors or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Zefal Z-Eye Mirror

Zefal Z-Eye Mirror

Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
6 out of 8Would you recommend this product to a friend?75%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Review 1 for Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Mirror good, mounting system useless.

Posted21 August 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality
The mirror itself works fine and gives good visibility.......so long as it remains fixed to the helmet, but it only lasted 4 rides before the sticky pad came unstuck from the inside of the helmet and the whole thing begain to fall off. It was not user error as I had the shop set it up when I bought it: It is the fixing method. Sticky pad and velcro will never last in the way demanded by the design of the product. This is a shame as I felt much safer being able to see behind me. Price would be good if it worked/lasted. It is now sitting unused waiting for me to come up with a way to bodge up an enduring way of fixing it to the helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

No where does it say this is for right hand drive

Posted12 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable
Cons: not for left hand drive without adaption
I had to dismantle the mirror to adapt it to fit on right hand side of helmet.
Once that was done it works quite well but shakes a lot. Not as fixed as the original. Could do with a second fixing point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not Quite Good

Posted05 July 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable, insecure fixing
Idea is good, but....(a) the single velcro pad is insufficient to ensure the mirror can take the inevitable odd knock and I've had to use some twine to secure the base more securely to my helmet. A two-point fixing would be better. In addition, the presumption is that the polystyrene moulding of the helmet is flat enough to accommodate the base, which is not the case in all helmets. Hence, another reason why a two-point fixing would be better. (b) The swivel-joint and rotation of the mirror give good adjustment. However, a fore-aft adjustment would be beneficial, since the mirror is very close to the eye and this means squinting rightward or leftward out of the corner of the eye - uncomfortable and producing less rearward information than desirable. So, being able to increase the distance between eye and mirror would be desirable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant tool!

Posted28 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Light and helpful tool, that helps you look back without having to take your focus from the road - I realy recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:Hong Kong
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

This product can be improved

Posted17 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
This product is good, however, the distance of the mirror can be longer and the size of mirror can be larger.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is great for town or country.

Posted26 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I recently purchased this mirror, I am impressed with it.
Gives you a reasonable view of the road behind, although it does take a bit if adjusting and getting used to it.
Overall a good product and safely addition to cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

OK but ...

Posted06 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: there may be a focusing issue for elderly cyclists
The idea is brilliant and it will work for most folks, but I was forgetting how eyesight changes as you get older - I am now an OAP - and even with varifocal glasses on, I could not focus down to the mirror, which was only 200 mm away from my eye! This won't be a problem for youngsters with flexible eyeballs!
In the end I kept the Zefal (useful for looking into small holes!) and bought the Mirrycle MTB bar-end mirror. This is a great product, very well made and does the job perfectly - highly recommended and certainly much better than the Zefal for me!
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Zefal Z-Eye Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fantastic.

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Lovely item, very easy to fit, less than 30 seconds for me. Very effective rear view, I'm always aware of traffic approaching from behind, this lets me see everything.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.