Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike

Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
amyamy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Pretty and easy to ride

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
I wanted a bike to ride around town, and have been happily peddling about by the seaside for a few weeks now, and love my bobbin. Its easy to ride, looks pretty. I debated getting the Brownie or the Birdie, and am glad I opted for the one with a few more gears, I dont have experience of 3 gears to compare, but I have definitely used all 7 in a flat town.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lisaloo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

fun retro bike

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
retro bike in pink just purchased basket for front for novice rider wanting to get fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jenifa87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Really like the bike, it looks great and is a good run around. I had problems with the seat and lowering in and getting it to stay in position which i had to take it to an alternative bike shop to fix, but whether that is an issue with the model i dont know. The problem was easy to fix though.
I would suggest buying in store though if possible as i was unable to take the bike to evans as i lived quite far away which meant i had to pay to get the seat changed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bobbinadventure
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Perfect

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It is just what I wanted. It makes me smile every time I go out on a Bobbin Adventure.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hulababy73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

This bike looks great

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: would have liked a couple more colour options
I love this bike. It's probably best suited to roads or smooth surfaces but i took it on track with gentle ups and down and also lots of pot holes and stones. It coped really well. It's pretty and nippy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toddstar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Most comfortable ride.

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have wanted an upright bike for years and opted for the Bobbin Brownie. I love it! It is extremely comfortable to ride and looks fantastic. I have spoken to Bobbin Bicycles about a new bolt for the seat and the customer service was first class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amy1000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy riding, gorgeous retro look

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
I am really chuffed with my new Bobbin Brownie. Regularly attracting coos of admiration from males and females alike the Bobbin Brownie has a gorgeous retro look. The brown handles and saddles offset the smart navy blue and bright white detailing which gives it an effortlessly smart look.
Saddle is relatively comfortable for the non-marathon rider. Have slight issues getting in gear sometimes with the twist turner for gear changes but all in all absolutely chuffed!
Long may the British summer weather continue so I will remain out pootling on the roads and in the parks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fatima
Country:Brazil
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Don't know

PostedJune 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Very confortable with a nice looking. Easy to ride and exclusive shape
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shasel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great looking easy to ride bike

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I was looking for a more relaxed bike than a racer or a mountain bike for a bit of gentle riding about. I also wanted something that was quite comfortable and easy. This fits the bill beautifully and is great looking too. This has really got me back into my cycling. Great bike.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dayne912
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great leisure bike

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
My wife recently bought this with me as I bought a sub 45, and she looks absolutely superb on it! A great traditional design that results in a comfortable ride that's great for that easy strole to the pub.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tjtrouble
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

The Bobbin brownie is a great retro style bike.

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After taking my time looking at all available classic retro style ladies bikes this Bobbin ticks most of my boxes!
I wanted a pretty, retro classic, sit up and beg bike. My old bike was a 24 speed mountain bike. Great for cycling over terrain but as a physio with aching neck and shoulders at the end of the week.; my old bike was no longer a pleasant ride! Very painful!!!
The must have for the bike for me was: style, light frame, at least 7 gear speed.
It arrived in 5 days after calling to check thanks to Sarah. (During the Olympics when road travel can be delayed!)
Yes it looks great. No scratches, great shiny blue paint work that appears to be very good quality. It does make me smile because, it is indeed very pretty!
After riding it for an hour along the beach I can safely say, no more aching neck or shoulders! A very comfortable ride. Very fast, went up the steep slopes very well. Nice and light and easy to carry up steps. No ache in my behind!!!
2nd ride to the butchers in town: So comfortable, felt proud and the bike does make you smile! No worries of parking, panniers did the job well.
Evans were very helpful: I ordered a basket, but it never arrived. After telephoning on the 3rd occasion. Stephanie & I realised that the bike lock I thought they sent free with the tool set had been sent instead by mistake. Stephanie B was amazingly polite and helpful and more than compensated for my lost basket & having to make 3 phone calls. (A big thank you to her!)
The things I have added: A Brooks B67-S leather ladies saddle (Although the seat supplied was comfortable & sprung. It didn't do the bike justice).
Ortlied back roller panniers in blue. ( Great looking on this bike, sturdy and strong for shopping in town!)
A wicker basket and bracket.
How could it be improved? More colour choice & a must have a bike skirt .
Definitely recommend. Hope all enjoy the brownie as much as I do.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Barbara140
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good compromise

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I wanted a lightweight, 7 speed bike with step-through frame and classic looks - not easy to find, certainly not in showrooms. Although not as light as I would have liked, this bike is lighter than many with classic frames so carrying it up a flight of stairs is just about do-able.
The rear carrier can take 18kgs so, using my own pannier and front baskets I can carry a substantial amount of shopping while coping with hilly roads - the main purpose for which I bought it.
I was a bit disappointed by the cheap looking build. The high gloss paint chips very easily, though a small tube is provided for touching-up.
Still trying to decide how I feel about this bike - it does the job and is a useful compromise - I guess I will grow to love it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bobbin Bicycles Brownie Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LotteLello
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fabulous

PostedJune 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Love the new Bobbin Brownie and love riding it around the Heath. It's pretty enough to have in the house. Now am convincing the other half to get the chaps equivalent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.