Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bike Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc

Bontrager Back Rack for Disc

Overall rating:
4.765 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
58 Questions | 61 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Review 1 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EscapeEveryday
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid, rattle free and easy to fit

Posted13 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This was my second attempt at finding a rack to fit my Boardman Hybrid Pro. The Decath' one didn't fit however the Bontrager rack comes in small and large size depending on your frame size, so check before ordering
As this is the disc brake version it is designed with extra clearance where is mounts to the eyelets near the axle. This prevents any fouling of the disc brakes but does widen your bike by an inch, but this is only an issue when traveling with full panniers
The rack does not rattle and is well built. The upper fixing rods are solid unlike the Alu strips you get on other racks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nj616
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple to fit

Posted10 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
No need for any adjustment around disc brake, fitted in a few minutes. Lightweight, used it for a 7 day Europe trip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sneakay86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Nice light rack

Posted30 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Bought this as a bit of a wild card hoping it would fit my Giant Revolt... It does! Seems light and sturdy so just have to see how long it lasts through a British winter in the north west!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OldGitMTB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Superbly designed and so easy to fit

Posted13 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Fitted this to wife's 16inch Trek Skye SLX. Did the rear mudguard first (separate review) and then this rack. The fitting process could hardly have been easier and the rack comfortably clears the brake mounts. The Trek frame has 2 sets of threaded holes at the dropouts and threaded holes on the seat stays, and the rack fitted without needing to bend or 'tweak' anything (the adjustable stays have a very large range).
The rack itself seems well-made and the rear light mounting plate is a bonus. Managed to fit my old panniers and rack bag, no doubt the Bontrager items would be even easier and neater.
Overall, I can't fault this item. Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cookiesc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Lightwieght & Strong

Posted29 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, strong
Nice rack, suits my Boardman Hybrid a treat. Easy to fit, lightweight and strong.
Great advice from the team at Maidstone too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
branbo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A sturdy rack suitable for disc brakes

Posted02 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This is an easy to fit rack which suited my Carrera Kraken bike. Note that the extended lower lugs on one model require longer 5mm screws which are NOT supplied.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worcestercycler

Good for hybrid bike

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this to go on my trek hydrid fits well and is a nice light weight rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikerider25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Perfect for MTBs with limited mounting space

Posted15 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Tried several different racks for my Carrera Kraken with brake discs. Couldn't fit them on due to the limited space available between the mounting points and the wheel nut (quick release). Evans Cycles assistant then looked at some photos of my bike and suggested this one which fitted perfectly! I also bought an Interchange trunk bag to click on to this rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CambridgeRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Nice simple, light rack

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought for a Pinnacle Arkose 3 with disc brakes on the basis of another reviewer's recommendation. Light but seems strong. Took less than 10 minutes with just an Allan key to get a perfect fit . Plenty of adjustment in the mounting arms to tailor to different bike shapes/sizes. Nice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peewee46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong and light

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This rack is strong and light. The greatest thing is the amount of adjustment available. I managed to fit it to my son's small mountain bike using 'P Clips', as no eyelets on the frame. Had to drill the holes on the rack slightly larger, as P clip bolts were too large. Bike frame was very small, but still managed to fit this and it's level. Very sturdy too.
Not sure how long the black colour will last - rubbing off in several places already, but this happens with any coated rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
M300
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great fitting rack for small frames

Posted24 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
After struggling to find a rack to fit my 15" mtb I ordered this one in small. The rack legs are long and adjustable so great for reaching the seat stays of smaller frames.
Rack is light and sturdy, however the paint has already worn off in a number of places after just 1 weekend of use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sib2004
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

EASY FIT-PERFECT FOR DISC BRAKE COMPATIBILTY

Posted22 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Lots of research done again to get compatibility with disc brakes......decided on this model and its a great fit.
Very light, but sturdy, 10-15 min fit and goes perfectly with the brontrager mudguards that were fitted yesterday. The struts allow for plenty of adjustability. I wasn't too sure what the 'S' & 'L' sizing meant....guessed it was 'short' & 'long' but not sure what for.....anyway, to make things easy I ordered both. It just means the length of the struts that attach to the seatstay bolts. The short ones were fine so no dramas.
Plenty of width, with room to spare, at the fixing points to accommodate the disc caliper.
A good product at a great price.
PS ordered online for 'click & collect', bank holiday Monday afternoon, ready to collect at Manchester Chill factor 3pm the following day.......superb service!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Specialized1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant!!

Posted03 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy fit
This is the perfect rack for a Specialized Crosstrail sport disc, it had everything I could ask for including a 10 minute fit to cycle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wilcowilson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lightweight product

Posted17 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Well made quality rack. Delivered very quickly and well packed. Nothing more to say. All good !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foxy73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Lightweight and easy to fit

Posted08 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This rack is very lightweight and easy to fit. It came with all fixing to fit onto the frame of my bike. Took about 10 minutes to fix. Overall pleased with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dapple
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Lightweight and easy to fit

Posted21 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I was surprised by how light this rack is but it still feels solid and reliable. It was very easy to fit - only needing an allen key - and easy to attach a set of (Ortlieb) panniers to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager Back Rack for Disc
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RedKite
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good quality product

Posted30 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This seems like a good quality product, which was easy to fit, and I'm able to swop it between my two mountain bikes; as needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.