Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket

Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket

Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket
Review 1 for Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
divewithgeorge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great jacket

Posted06 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This got tested straight away, an early cold start - nice and warm, good windproofing. Warmed up after a few miles - sleeves off & stowed in the back zip pocket, a really convenient arrangement not more bulk in a small hydrapack, and then pushing it all day, didn't overheat when going, didn't get cold when stopped, only put sleeves back on at the end of the day - really good design where sleeves and yoke come off as one piece, waterproof zips & popers takes seconds. Mesh shoulder area is then exposed and lets you get rid of heat, but not get cold from wind exposure. Really good jacket, very pleased with it.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
wildthyme
 
Please wait while more information about wildthyme is loaded.
Additional information about wildthyme could not be loaded.
Posted 25 November 2012
Does this jacket have a hood or the ability to attach one? How compact does this thing go when folded up? Also are you still happy with it and is it still working ie are the zips still working?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
cakePowered
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted01 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I wanted a decent waterproof jacket, with a decent waterproof pocket to keep my phone in. This ticks all the boxes.
The material feels a little thin, but seems well made enough. Keeps the water off and a bit of wind to boot. The higher neck is nice. Not detached the arms yet as it's a bit chilly, but will do once the sun comes back.
If you normally pick up a small and want room to wear a few layers underneath this, might be best to go for a medium. I'm happy with the small because I like a tight fit (less flapping in the wind). No regrets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeroBidford
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, windproof and breathable

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Excellent value for money. Not been riding in the rain so not able to comment about the waterproof side of the jacket but it was perfect when riding on a very windy and chilly day. Light and easy to pack away and the removable sleeves are a great feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RabbiAaron
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Snug

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Not icy cold yet but plenty of moisture and wind around and so far without lots of additional clothing I am totally snug. Loads of pockets so storage and access easy on the go. I have been wearing this off the bike as much as on - love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Dalts756
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great waterproof, transforms to a great gillet.

Posted25 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great fit, comfortable and durable. Good waterproof properties whilst allowing air to circulate. A few press studs and two zips and you have a great mesh backer windproof gullet jacket.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
seasore
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Jacket at a good price

Posted21 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Versatile, waterproof jacket at a good price. Very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
DRZOMBIE
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

one of the best Cycling jackets ever

Posted19 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The Endura Convert is one of the best all time Cycling jackets that doesn't even look like a traditional skinny Cycling jacket .
This is my second one in 5 years i wear mine on the bike and off the best feature is the removable sleeves the jackets Light weight but not too light its cold its an all year jacket as the BIG sizing allows you to Layer up whether its a skinny tight fitting cycle shirt to a baggy thick hooded sweater it can accommodate .
Sizing like most Endura is on the Large size an XL is like an XL from say Marks and Spencer its not like traditional Bike gear which is usually small made however its not overly large like offerings from the budget supermarkets where the fit is just odd and huge ...Yea Endura aint cheap but it Lasts it fits great and is great quality it used to be made in Scotland now made in China and the China manufacturing is actually better made.
Endura no longer makes the Convert as such but they have Re named it The Humvee Convertible its basically the same jacket .
http://www.evanscycles.com/products/endura/hummvee-convertible-jacket-ec060421#features
one thing to note is make sure you follow the washing instructions with these type of jackets ,usually hand wash is best Dont use fabric softener and even better use the likes of Grangers or Nikwax 2 in 1 wash and re proofers when needed .
the Majority of My Bike clothing is Endura and will continue to use
Another cool feature is this has proper big pockets and it can all fold into its own rear pocket which you can strap to the bike the sleeves come off really easily and the zip parts of the sleeves can be opened up fully for ventilation with out having to take the sleeves off.
to give you an idea of the size of the XL ive got around a 48 inch chest big shoulders and reasonably long arms though am only 5'6" in height and the jacket sits great ,jackets longer at the back but not overly if your really tall and a long body and skinny then the fit of this might not suit as i feel these are for more of a stocky fit .
Waterproof it is to a certain extent ie if your on the bike for a 30 min cycle in its properly raining you should stay dry after that it can let water in but a lot of this is to do with improper washing and not re proofing breathable yep when new its breathable and if its a light colour you can see the moisture wicking through it which is a bit yuk again as long as its washed and cared for properly it should stay waterproof and breathable for many years .
its a real fave of mine
theres also the Convert Softshell which is more of a fitted jacket and a windproof rather than waterproof again great that the sleeves come off i Haven tried it but having seen it it looks good Not cheap but you do pay for what you get
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
SiBirdy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent waterproof and highly breathable

Posted01 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
For anyone reading this some way into the future, if you remember how wet it was Dec 2013/ Jan 2014 - this jacket stood up to all the downpours and was highly breathable as well. The size came up big compared to other endura clothing I have. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blowsy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money, lightweight jacket

Posted13 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was unsure what jacket to buy and the manager in the store suggested this one. It's coped with medium rain so far although I haven't been out in really mega heavy rain with it. It's breathable and holds out the rain. Packs away nicely and is a good all-rounder. I'm fairly large (42" chest) and went for the XXL which is a little large but the XL didn't quite have room for a mid layer in the winter. A good lower priced jacket
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura Convert II Waterproof Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
patt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

pros + cons

Posted12 September 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not waterproof
I've had one of these for about a year and a half.
I was quite happy to begin with, but as time wore on it became less and less waterproof. Now it is no good at all. It won't even resist 1/2 hour of light shower.
I have only washed it with nikwax tech wash and tx direct wash-in waterproofer, but that has only provided temporary improvement each time.
As winter approaches I need to buy another jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.