Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Water Bottles & Cages or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount

Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Review 1 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DuncanBatchelor
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Does exactly what was needed

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: bike balance changed
I bought 2 of these to mount extra water bottles for an endurance mountain bike ride. The additional weight on the handlebars did take a bit of getting used to but the water was held securely and within easy reach. I wouldn't keep them on penmanship but for that use it was a great purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thepeginator

Simple piece of kit, does what it says on the tin.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Not a huge amount to say apart from it's very well made and does it's job perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Handlebar mount

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Very light and simple to fit. It gives me easy access to fluids without bending or taking my eyes off the road. No cons
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aero63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

Simple answer for those needing extra water bottle

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does the job, and water bottle easy to access from handlebars. I do need to regularly tighten the screws as they seem to become a little looser during rides, but this may be due to my handlebar shape as have had similar problems with lights etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Retrodave45
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for your retro ride.

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this product to mount a bottle cage on the handlebars of my Pashley Guv'nor. It is well made light and is fitted in under five minutes. I paired it with a leather trimmed Zefal bottle cage and it looks great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
JEB76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

is good on right bike

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
first the screws it comes with dont allow for much diameter changes on handle bars.
but most importantly do not put them over any cables even if they are covered with tape, as to my expense and inconvenience on a two week touring holiday, they crush your cables causing them to not work and needing to be changed.
BUT they are a great idea for the right handlebars.
i hope anyone reading this will be saved from the nightmare i had on holiday by fitting them to my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stratcat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great bit of kit

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a lightweight clamp that clamps to my 26mm bars. It allows me to have a pair of bottle cages on my bike (my bike doesn't have bosses on the frame). It looks very old school and means I don't lose bottles. I lost a couple of bottles as they have bounced out of under-saddle cages so went for these instead. Can't fault them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
TheBeastRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Did the job

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this due to having a step through bike frame with no room for a 2nd water bottle. This product allowed me to have my water bottle on the handlebar with easy access. The only downside was that it was a struggle to fit it to my handlebars and I had to use rubber pieces inside the grip to stop it from slipping, but once it was there it did the job perfectly. I would recommend to check if it will fit on your handlebars before purchasing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IHFSRXC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just right for fitting a cage on the handlebars.

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought for my 6 year old daughters bike as it has odd shaped tubing on the frame. Very easy to fit to the handlebars enabling her to reach her drink without looking down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FordJJF
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
It's often the small things that make a difference - and this inexspensive item allows you to fix a water bottle cage in alternative positions to the pre prepared places - eg handlebars, seat post etc.
Really nice quality.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Littlerocket
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Nifty little thing.

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I have just bought a new bike and, probably because it is a low step-over style, there are no fixing points on it to take a drinks bottle cage. I have searched around online and in various bike shops for a good option but most things looked a bit clumsy to me. This is a really nice little unobtrusive fitting that looks so neat on my handlebar and puts my drink right there in front of me! Love it. If you have chunky handlebars though it may not be the option for you. Haven't seen one for larger diameter handlebars.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality but not the same as the picture.

PostedJune 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit
Cons: req. mod to fit at a reasonable height
This item is of good quality however the item received was different to the picture and consisted of two Allen key bolts to fix it to the bars. The countersunk holes are a tight fit for the Allen key heads but not too much of a problem. When fitted to the bars the bottle cage sits too high for my likeing but a simple modification can lower the position using a strip of aluminium.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mal53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very simple and effective

PostedMay 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this to fasten a water bottle to a child's bike that was too small for a bottle anywhere else but the handle bars. It is well made and solved my problem. Posted quickly by Evans resulting in a happy child and temporary hero status for his Dad. I would recommend this product and using Evans rather than any E bay company every time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paul254
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Inexpensive and light. Does the job.

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Simple product to allow easier access to water bottle when riding. Careful this won't work with larger diameter handlebars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gordo2k12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cheap and good

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
does what it says on the tin, cheaper than most other places and arrived on time and in good condition
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HowardBristol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job well, excellent value

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This bottle cage bracket successfully allows you to mount a cage to a horizontal bar.
It's well made and attachs securely.
My only criticism is that by using knurled bolts, Bontrager made it slightly tricky to fully tighten the bolts as they bind on the housing. I fixed this by simply filing the outside face of the bolt-head smooth. Bontrager could fix by supplying smooth edged bolts or by making the recess in the housing just a little larger.
No real grumble at this price though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Petestan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality product

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
As you would expect from Bontrager this is a great quality product nothing cheap or nasty about it and does exactly what its described to do and the price from Evans is good too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Webste07
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Functional and well built

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Not much to say about this simple mount, it works very well but what stands out is the quality of the engineering and quality aluminium. A simple product very well executed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jasfraser
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Well Designed

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Excellant adaptor that works well and is well designed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bontrager Bottle Cage Handlebar Mount
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
djtbuell
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not what I ordered

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Got to firstly say this isn't what I ordered. The one I got looked like it was made out of billet aluminium and I ain't complaining as what I got looked way way better and was a doddle to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.