Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe

Bont Vaypor Road Shoe

The Bont cycling shoes are the most heat moldable shoe on the market today. To mold your shoes, remove any cleats, laces or cleat mounting screws and innersole before molding. Failure to remove the innersole can result in it becoming deformed by the heat. Pre heat the oven to 70C/160F. Place the shoe in the oven for 20 minutes. Higher temperatures will void your warranty and may damage your boot. Caution: Do not place your feet in the hot shoes or you may burn your feet. Let them cool a little and test the shoe temperature with your hand before placing your feet in the shoes. Tighten the straps and allow to cool. If you have any lumps or bunions on your feet or if there are any areas causing discomfort, while the shoe is hot you can use the round end of a screwdriver to press out any part of the boot. You can heat mold the shoes as many times as you like.
Overall rating:
4.786 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Review 1 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Tarns
Country:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I brought these as there is not many colour choices for women, brought the yellow.
I love these they are very comfy, with great stiffness. The best shoes I've worn. I won't buy another brand now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
wildfrontier
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very light and very stiff

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, stiff
Great shoe - super light and stiff and great fit after heat moulding.
Heel cup fits very snugly and created a few hot spots before heat moulding. Afterwards, feels fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thumperpeo
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

superstiff

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
bought these as i was tired of all cycling shoes with no room for the toes. i don't have very wide feet but they surely wont fit most of brands. followed the size guide, my feet are 266,5mm and therefor ordered size 43 with normal width. like a glove! and after moulding it fits even better!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yves1115
Country:Taiwan
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stampede good effect

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This is my second Bont Vaypor,
This of shoes stampede effect, and can be thermoplastic, there will be no long-distance riding plagued foot paralysis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Harprit
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent shoes and a great buy

PostedJune 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I used the size calculator on Bont's website to determine my size (45). When I first tried them on the fit was terrible. After heat moulding them in the oven as per Bont's instructions the fit was much better. It took a few tries and now they fit perfectly. I used a hair dryer to heat certain areas of the shoe where I felt pressure on my foot and used the grip end of a screwdriver to push out that area. The toe box is wide enough for my toes not to be scrunched up like many other cycling shoes. The sole is very stiff. It feels stiffer than my Sidi Ergo 3's. Power transfer is great. There is no give in the sole and very little in the uppers so pulling up on the upstroke feels like no energy is lost.
I have tried two replacement insoles (Pearl Izumi, Sole Conformable)but have returned to the originals as they suit my feet the best. Ventilation could be better as there aren't many holes to let in air do they can feel slightly warm on hot sunny days. That aside, they the best shoes have ever had. If you're looking for a shoe which is very stiff, comfortable and has a wrap around feel, these are the ones to get!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fatskis
Country:Switzerland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bont shoes

PostedJune 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Great shoes,very stiff and Lighter than the box they come in
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jjlyall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rock Solid

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable, beautiful looks and rock solid under pedalling. Expensive yes, but well worth it. Make sure you get the right size to avoid discomfort. I took a 44.5 rather than the usual 43. Tried the 43 and 44 and had to send both back, but got there in the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Qhyn
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good fit

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
It had a good fit right out of the box, then after a few heatings it had a perfect fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Growy
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Something a bit different

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My previous cycling shoes from Shimano and Sidi were good shoes but I always felt my toes cramped into their little toe box. After some research I decided to give the Bont's a try. I haven't been disappointed. When you put them on straight out of the box they feel a little strange but I had read a similar experience in another review. Once I went through the process of putting them in the oven and heat moulding them they were like a different pair of shoes, comfortable and snug fitting. They certainly have more room in the toe box which is what I was looking for. I was a little nervous about the whole heat moulding thing but I watched the instructional video on Youtube and it was fine. After a few rides the only concern would be that due to the very slim stack height you do feel a little more vibration from the road than normal but nothing concerning or uncomfortable. Otherwise they are a great shoe, super light and very stiff.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ducky47
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoe, very stiff, looks great in black

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
did a ride without doing the heat molding and they felt good.
did the heat molding in the oven and then rode again, felt even better.
snug fit so you may need a larger size than normal. i'm usually a 42 but got a 42.5 and they are just right for me.
the stack height is approx 8 mm less than my old sidi ergo shoes, so had to drop saddle height on all my bikes to suit.
super stiff, but comfortable shoe, plus don't have those stupid vent holes in the sole, like other makes, which just freeze your feet off in the cold English weather.
would buy again, excellent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tobias78
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent fit and light

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The Bont Vaypor fits really good. I had to bake them in the owen at a little higher temperature than the recommended to get the sole soft, about 85 degrees celsius. The shoes looks racy and I'm very satisfied with them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pusher
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Shoes

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent shoes, feel great after heat moulding and power transfer is excellent. Check sizing on Bont website before buying as I bought one size up from normal shoe size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HPNsp
Country:Japan
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Stiff. Fit. Light.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
It is not so comfortable to wear. But, it fits perfectly to the feet, there is no gap.
Stiffness is very high, with little or no loss pedaling.
It is unsuitable for cycling for a long time, however, is the best for race of short time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bont Vaypor Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kats11337
Country:Japan
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to wear

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Run faster.
Very light.
Cool.
Encourage everyone.
Good color.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.