Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Bont Vaypor Leather Road Shoe

Bont Vaypor Leather Road Shoe

The Bont cycling shoes are the most heat moldable shoe on the market today. To mold your shoes, remove any cleats, laces or cleat mounting screws and innersole before molding. Failure to remove the innersole can result in it becoming deformed by the heat. Pre heat the oven to 70C/160F. Place the shoe in the oven for 20 minutes. Higher temperatures will void your warranty and may damage your boot. Caution: Do not place your feet in the hot shoes or you may burn your feet. Let them cool a little and test the shoe temperature with your hand before placing your feet in the shoes. Tighten the straps and allow to cool. If you have any lumps or bunions on your feet or if there are any areas causing discomfort, while the shoe is hot you can use the round end of a screwdriver to press out any part of the boot. You can heat mold the shoes as many times as you like.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Bont Vaypor Leather Road Shoe
Review 1 for Bont Vaypor Leather Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cantona07
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable yet super stiff

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These are gorgeous. What have I been wearing before. These are an instant revelation, although I am usually a 45 and I ended up needing a 47 (despite using the online Bont shoe sizing guide) so beward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bont Vaypor Leather Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PhilPower7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Top well made shoes very stiff & comfy.

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are excellent shoes ,stiff comfy & great power transfer,just make sure you get the right size as they come up small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bont Vaypor Leather Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great shoes! Like slippers when heat moulded!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these Bont vaypors after reading quite a lot of reviews on the Internet! I have also seen local professionals wearing the shoes such as Russell downing, so that gave me the heads up! The first time I wore them they were slightly uncomfortable, but once heat moulded they were like wearing slippers in my feet!!! Definently worth the money!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bont Vaypor Leather Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
laamx
Country:Italy
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Professional product very nice.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The shoe fits very well without it heated. Good instructions to determine the number of the foot. Delivered quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bont Vaypor Leather Road Shoe
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1tal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Waste of money

PostedAugust 13, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
Most uncomfortable cycle shoes I've ever had. I would not recommend them to any one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bont Vaypor Leather Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cyclefriend
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really like these shoes. Stiff and light. The sizing is small though. I am a 43 in all my other shoes. In bont I had to buy a 45.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bont Vaypor Leather Road Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
tazo101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

So good, but so bad, no no no

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fit, stiff
Cons: Poor quality
These shoes are brilliant, when you do get them to fit, SUPERB. Have them loose on your foot and still no slippage on pull up. Stiff and supple great contact.
However, came apart after 2nd albeit long ride. So disappointing am hoping next/replacement pair will not have this issue.
So superb fitting, contact, transfer but so let down by the quality on mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bont Vaypor Leather Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
STLim
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value for Money Hi Performance Road Shoe

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: handmade
Having previously used the Fizik R3 that's abit narrow for my liking, decided to try the Vaypor with it's heat mouldable sole to accomodate my feet. Quality is not on par with Fizik but then this is an artisan shoe.
Bont sizing chart is quite off the mark so it's best to try before you buy.
After a few trips to the oven, the shoe fits perfectly. No more hot spots and pinching during 100km rides in the tropical weather.
Sole is extremely stiff and broad which results in full power being transferred to the pedals. There is no wastage of effort with Vaypors.
And thanks Evan for expediting a speedy delivery to my home!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bont Vaypor Leather Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
klep
Country:Holland
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simply the best

PostedJune 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, extremely good fit
Not many people have easy feet. Almost nobody has easy feet when it comes to cycling shoes. To be in the saddle, or rather on the pedals, for 12 hours means that our feet need to be comfortable.
I've been looking for the right shoe for quite some time now, and borrowed several to try them out. Some had better fit, some worse, but none fit exactly the way I wanted them to. When I first heard about heat mouldable cycling shoes I thought this is the answer! But when I went to the bike shop to get some information and try them on for a bit it turned out that only the lower or inner sole was moulable. Nice but a waste of money if the sides and uppers still dont fit correctly.
I had almost lost faith in comfortable feet on the bike until I found the phenomenon of Bont Vaypor, which had a monocoque sole that reaches up to the top of your toes and over halfway the rest of your foot.
The shoes came in a Bont bag inside a cardboard box. There were no moulding instructions but the Youtube video on their website is very clear. Since it was my first time to put my brand new €235 shoes in the oven I was a bit frightened, but everything went allright. I had to mould the shoes three times until I got the perfect fit but that isn't a problem as they are mouldable as many times as one needs, and it doesnt take that much time.
Once the fit was right, which I had tested with short 500m rides down the street it was time for a proper test. I did a 30km training ride and the shoes still felt fine so no re-moulding before the real test.
Last week I went to the French Alpes for a charity ride, and climbed the Alpe d'Huez six times in a row, pedalling in my Bont Vaypors. Up until now I'm still amazed how I didn't once feel the urge to take them off, move my feet around a bit and wiggle my toes. The shoes were like hardened socks around my feet. I have nothing negative to say about this product. I did tear a little piece of leather from the back of my right shoe when I tried to take it off with my left shoe, so be careful with that.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.