Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cycle Computers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Velo 5 Computer

Cateye Velo 5 Computer

Overall rating:
4.381 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Review 1 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple & easy

Posted03 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Gives the essential basic info. Was easy to install and setup. Looks like a more expensive unit that it is!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent value bike computer

Posted08 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
A great value bike computer. It has all the functions you really need in a basic bike computer. Its very well made and hard wearing. I had a previous version and did 6000 miles trouble free (before I lost it). This is one of its biggest plus points for me - the price means you don't get too upset when you lose it break it etc!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Cateye Velo 5 Computer

Posted20 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Bought for my bike attached to my turbo trainer, gives u time distance and speed perfect for what i wanted it to do.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple cycle computer

Posted19 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
This is a great price point for a basic cycle computer. Only the standard 5 functions, if you are looking for average speed, trip time or total journey time then you will need the next model up. For me I just want to to track total distance and max speed, so it covers my needs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Simple dashboard

Posted16 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very neat, easy to read, low cost computer with the basic necessary functions: current & maximum speed; trip meter; odometer; and a 12 or 24-hour clock. Batteries last for years. Simple to set up. Optional extra long wire to fit sensor to rear wheel enables use on indoor trainers.
Even though wireless units are getting cheaper, these basic wired units are reliable, relatively simple to set up and don't rely on wireless signals that can get confused by the wireless HRMs, Cadence units, etc that you might be using to feed your mobile mapping app.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Re: 'If Simplicity is what you need - Go for this.

Posted15 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I recently purchased this small Computer.. I have had previous bit more fancy 1's (Mainly Sigma). I never been a real Tech'y though gone for fancy GPS 1's... to me a basic Good Cycle computer is good for general purposes. If on budgets for this little Cateye computer it does basic Jobs. Would liked 1 extra thing on it though time ride for separate Journeys.. maybe also inclusion of a night light..
Overall nice little computer...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cat Velo 5

Posted04 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: better if it was screwed as a opposed to tape
Does exactly what I need and the price is a bargain great piece of kit for accurate information
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

Posted24 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit ! Big bold display easy to read ! Excellent just what I needed .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent low cost computer

Posted05 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
An excellent low cost basic cycle computer - does the job well. Usual good quality product from Cateye.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Good for the price

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
it does what is supposed to do. I Found it easy to install and set . It does come with batteries and they seem to last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Cheap. Easy to fit. Does the job.

Posted24 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I just wanted a basic device to tell me the time, speed & distance travelled. This was simple to fit & does the job. It also gives total distance travelled & max speed.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the box.

Posted02 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Fitting easy, but be sure to get the sticky pads in the right place. They don't want to move once you've put them on the metal. Very secure with the tie wraps. Speed reading is large enough but time etc is a little small for my old eyes. Setting the computor needs a some trial and error. The large button is easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bargin does the job

Posted17 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
I brought his so i could monitor my progress on the london to brighton cycle ride. it was approx 2 miles out over hte full 55miles ride and produced accurate speed measurment.
only down side is the horrible black cable leading down to the wheel. a wirless unit would look so much better although at this low cost who can complain
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Basic computer -decent price

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: no elapsed time function
Whilst a decent product the advertised picture shows it as having cycled time and a question is answered as having start stop.
This computer does not have an elapsed time function, just distances or speed
So not sure how the picture manages to show this.
Quite disappointed as basic computers like this did these functions 20 years ago for same price
Please advise if i am incorrect
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product has all you need

Posted16 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have three of these now. They are accurate and have just the five the functions you need. Easy to fit and use. Great product. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic computer

Posted20 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this recently, fitted it quite easily, up and running within 30mins. Mileage accurate and very easy to use and monitor progress. Slightly disappointed that it does not have an average speed or trip time, should have looked closer at the functions before ordering!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does just what it says

Posted24 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
bought this to put on a spinning bike for a charity event and with a bit of packing and Velcro it worked a treat, so clear and easy to use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good simple computer for the price

Posted02 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have 3 of these simple computers for my bikes and I bought this one as a replacement because I tried to change the time and managed to push the function button on the back, right inside the unit and that meant it was defunct. So my advice is to be careful what you use and how hard you press when setting or changing the function! But, for a simple, no nonsense computer it's ideal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid mount and simple functionality.

Posted08 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It's really a no thrills product in the nicest way. I am a daily commuter and wanted the mainly a mini computer to track time, current and average speeds - for which it is perfect. The cumulative distance setting is also handy as it enabled me to cycle from Brixton to Brighton on the weekend with written directions only judged on distances into the journey. highly recommended for a casual/keen cyclist.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye Velo 5 Computer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to read, easy to use and at a good price!

Posted05 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The Velo 5 was purchased as a replacement for an older Cateye model that I had lost after several years of good service.
The Average Speed facility on my old Cateye was seldom used so I opted for the cheaper Velo 5 model as a replacement.
The Velo5 has a larger screen making it easier to see the displayed data. Using the big single button control it is easy to scroll through the data options and the Auto Power Save facility should increase battery life.
After many years of satisfaction with a variety of Cateye cycle computers, I would have no hesitation in recommending this model to anyone who needed only the basic facilities.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>