Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Chain and Padlock

Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Chain and Padlock

Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Chain and Padlock
Review 1 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Chain and Padlock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Excellent Motorbike Security

Posted02 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: heavy, secure, motorbike secure gold
I popped into the Canary Wharf store to get a chain for my motorbike. This had to be ordered in separately as it's not something Evans Cycles usually stocks. I've tried getting them on the internet, but when you figure in postage, picking it up saves a few quid. Similarly lots of places seem to list other less secure chains as being secure gold - which this definitely is for both bikes and motorbikes.
First off, it's very heavy. I've done arm curls with less weight. It doesn't fit in a plastic bag (well, for very long) and you'll get some odd looks wearing it like a sash on the tube. I don't think my top box will even take the weight so it's over the shoulders for short trips.
But it's very, very secure. Any thief needs to be tooled up and fully prepared to steal it.
It seems to be fairly waterproof so I don't feel bad about leaving it at my normal locking location either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Chain and Padlock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Posted14 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The best lock on the market, but very expensive.
It costs a lot less in the USA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Chain and Padlock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Online

Very heavy

Posted19 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Very heavy long chain easily fits 2 motorcycle wheels and a ground anchor point. Excellent theft deterrent, we only use these type of lock at home the chain is far too heavy to routinely carry around however, the padlock can double as a disc lock if not using the chain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Chain and Padlock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was bought:Online

Heavy weight lock!

Posted24 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: secure
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This is one heavy weight lock. A little expensive, but a real deterrent to all but the most determined and professional thieves.
This lock is too heavy to ride with and best used at a fixed location.
The barrels in lock became out of align at one point and it took me a long while to get my key in to make it work again, This has only happened once, but doesn't inspire confidence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Chain and Padlock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent. Safer than a box in Hatton Gardens

Posted07 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Big , heavy, no messing about. what do you expect If you really are serious about keeping your bike chained in at night. Worth every penny
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Chain and Padlock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Chain and Shackle Lock

Posted29 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Excellent Chain and Shackle Lock. Chain is very strong and heavy to go with it. Shackle (D) Lock appears strong / secure to. Extra Length in the Chain gives a little more option.
I use this for locking bikes at home in shed and great for that. Perhaps a little heavy if you tend to use it as a portable lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Chain and Padlock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A really decent quality lock.

Posted29 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Does what you would expect for a lock of such serious weight. Consider it a fitness programme when being carried around with you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Chain and Padlock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very strong lock

Posted22 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This is a great lock. It is heavy duty so not the best for carrying around with you, but for secure storage it is excellent. I trust few other locks out there for my valuable bikes! It is expensive though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.