Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable

Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable

Overall rating:
4.466 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(131 reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
72
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
127 out of 131Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Review 1 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
miloam
Country:Romania
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I just bought a couple of bikes and after a lot of internet research I found this lock recommended by a few reputable sites because of its great value. Granted, it is not the sturdiest looking lock (I have an ABUS Granit 540 that looks like it could eat this Kryptonite) but it looks and feels sturdy enough to deter the average thiefs and make them go for easier targets. This lock comes with mounting brackets and a cable so you get a very good deal out of the package. I hope I never have to put it to test but for now it does the trick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chunky100
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great and easy to use

Posted28 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to use with an adequate length cable.
Seems sturdy and effective
Only time will tell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raf13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted18 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This locker is very strong, easy to use, good purchase overall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RollKing
It was bought:Online

Posted11 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Delivered promptly, locks fine and instructions are fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ossie1984
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well nade

Posted09 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Lock looks good and seems well made and on a plus my bike hasn't been stolen yet lol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mani24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted16 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I feel safe leaving my bike with this lock. Good price, very sturdy, one thing they can improve on is making the cable a bit more longer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Queenofjive
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Big lock!

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, big
Great quality lock however heavy and large, does not fit Specialised crosstrail.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alejandro79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

It's perfect to protect your bike.

Posted01 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
It's a good product and a reasonable price. I really recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
london2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good lock but difficult to mount

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
The product is of high quality, but I found it very difficult to mount upon my bike for transport and ended up not doing so as it was too large.
As a result I have to carry the lock in my rucksack.
However, the same issue would arise with any lock of the same style so it really was a choice between security and transportability.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mandara
It was bought:Online

Good quality lock, value for money

Posted28 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good quality, solid lock. Easy to use and good value for money. Quite heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris86585
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy and great value

Posted27 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, effective
Cons: Heavy
I bought this lock about three weeks ago and it has made the locks used by other people in our bike shed look flimsy. I would strongly recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sweden2
Experience:Expert
It was bought:Online

A bargain - for the owner

Posted27 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This set gives a lot of opportunities when it comes to different setups. For a silver secure u-lock it comes with, as I see it, enough inner-locking-area (width x length) and combined with the braided/plaited wire you have it.
The braided wire is very hard to nibble through and it is still light and very flexible.
1155 grams is the u-lock
319 grams is the wire
The wire can of course be combined with a possible built-on approved locks.
Often a great combination when risk of theft is low.
The u-lock holder fits most frames and works alright.
The key is not working as fluid as at an Abus lock but with a gentle hand there are no problems what so ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikey1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A solid product

Posted25 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Excellent product. I like that I can use the cable to secure the front wheel and the u-lock to secure the back/frame at the same time, it makes it feel very safe. Have only been using it for a few weeks but no problems at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steeds26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Easy to use, does its job

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have not tried to break this lock and cannot speak for the thieves who may or may not have and so cannot attest to how secure it is, but it seems very sturdy and I feel much more confident in using this than just having a standard cable to keep my bike safe. I've had no problems so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mitja
Country:Slovenia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I feel safe

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: safety
Cons: hard to find mounting place, key doesnt fit always
I don't worry when leaving my bike unattended anymore. It has few flaws though. Key doesn't fit nicely always and sometimes it seems like it is stuck. One time it took me 10 minutes to get the key in on perfectly new lock. Maybe I need to practice it more :) It is also hard to find a place on bke to mount it. I had to remove cage to fit it and still has to be mounted somehow sideways and is a bit in a way when pedaling
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hudy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough guy

Posted01 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Now, this is some big, heavy peace of a metal... But If you want your bike secure with Siler Sold Secure certificate (insurance - for bike worth less than ~950£) it's a good choice if you want a lock with a cable for little money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBenM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lock

Posted11 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Gives me the confidence to lock my bike up almost anywhere. Is small enough to carry to work everyday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
InMyPrime
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

very good value basic lock and chain

Posted24 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good sized lock. The chain is a welcome bonus and the clip on attachment for a bike is very useful. All in all - it does what it says on the tin!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hpoo002
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Solid buy

Posted29 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Really solid buy. Bike hasnt been stolen yet - so its working.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
lock
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very good idea with the cable, but hard to open

Posted21 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
The overall design of the lock i excellent. The atached cable makes it very easy to lock you bike to less than ideal urban furniture. I am frequently having trouble opening the lock as the key tends to have trouble finding its way deep enough into the actual lock. This is super annoying and inconvenient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>