Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable

Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable

Overall rating:
4.452 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 126 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
122 out of 126Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Review 1 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mani24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted16 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I feel safe leaving my bike with this lock. Good price, very sturdy, one thing they can improve on is making the cable a bit more longer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Queenofjive
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Big lock!

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, big
Great quality lock however heavy and large, does not fit Specialised crosstrail.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alejandro79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

It's perfect to protect your bike.

Posted01 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
It's a good product and a reasonable price. I really recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
london2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good lock but difficult to mount

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
The product is of high quality, but I found it very difficult to mount upon my bike for transport and ended up not doing so as it was too large.
As a result I have to carry the lock in my rucksack.
However, the same issue would arise with any lock of the same style so it really was a choice between security and transportability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mandara
It was bought:Online

Good quality lock, value for money

Posted28 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good quality, solid lock. Easy to use and good value for money. Quite heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris86585
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy and great value

Posted27 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, effective
Cons: Heavy
I bought this lock about three weeks ago and it has made the locks used by other people in our bike shed look flimsy. I would strongly recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sweden2
Experience:Expert
It was bought:Online

A bargain - for the owner

Posted27 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This set gives a lot of opportunities when it comes to different setups. For a silver secure u-lock it comes with, as I see it, enough inner-locking-area (width x length) and combined with the braided/plaited wire you have it.
The braided wire is very hard to nibble through and it is still light and very flexible.
1155 grams is the u-lock
319 grams is the wire
The wire can of course be combined with a possible built-on approved locks.
Often a great combination when risk of theft is low.
The u-lock holder fits most frames and works alright.
The key is not working as fluid as at an Abus lock but with a gentle hand there are no problems what so ever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikey1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A solid product

Posted25 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Excellent product. I like that I can use the cable to secure the front wheel and the u-lock to secure the back/frame at the same time, it makes it feel very safe. Have only been using it for a few weeks but no problems at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steeds26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Easy to use, does its job

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have not tried to break this lock and cannot speak for the thieves who may or may not have and so cannot attest to how secure it is, but it seems very sturdy and I feel much more confident in using this than just having a standard cable to keep my bike safe. I've had no problems so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mitja
Country:Slovenia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I feel safe

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: safety
Cons: hard to find mounting place, key doesnt fit always
I don't worry when leaving my bike unattended anymore. It has few flaws though. Key doesn't fit nicely always and sometimes it seems like it is stuck. One time it took me 10 minutes to get the key in on perfectly new lock. Maybe I need to practice it more :) It is also hard to find a place on bke to mount it. I had to remove cage to fit it and still has to be mounted somehow sideways and is a bit in a way when pedaling
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hudy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough guy

Posted01 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Now, this is some big, heavy peace of a metal... But If you want your bike secure with Siler Sold Secure certificate (insurance - for bike worth less than ~950£) it's a good choice if you want a lock with a cable for little money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBenM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lock

Posted11 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Gives me the confidence to lock my bike up almost anywhere. Is small enough to carry to work everyday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
InMyPrime
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

very good value basic lock and chain

Posted24 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good sized lock. The chain is a welcome bonus and the clip on attachment for a bike is very useful. All in all - it does what it says on the tin!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hpoo002
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Solid buy

Posted29 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Really solid buy. Bike hasnt been stolen yet - so its working.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
lock
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very good idea with the cable, but hard to open

Posted21 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
The overall design of the lock i excellent. The atached cable makes it very easy to lock you bike to less than ideal urban furniture. I am frequently having trouble opening the lock as the key tends to have trouble finding its way deep enough into the actual lock. This is super annoying and inconvenient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ohwhy
Style:Commuting
Gender:Female

Lock is good but not the bracket

Posted05 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, poor quality mount bracket
The lock is solid, size wise varies according to bike size and your need. But, the Allen nut inside the holder bracket is not easily aligned and tightened to the frame. It's left unused. The u-lock can hardly be mounted on a mini velo if you need to fit a large bottle and top tube bag to frame too. Cable cannot be used to secure seat as the loop and the orange ring cannot pass through. Locking mechanism is alright and easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Classic lock at this price level

Posted29 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Not much to say - If this is your price point, buy this lock. With the flex through the seat and wheels and the lock on the frame you're pretty much safe and secure.
The included £800 insurance thing is kind of nice as a fall back but unless the crock leaves your busted lock on the floor for you to send back to Kryptonite you ain't getting no dollar!!
If yours is the easiest bike to pinch it'll be the one that gets robbed, so make sure it isn't an easy target.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gui150

Strong but heavy

Posted27 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This locker is very strong, and probably keep away many burglars, but consider that this locker is very heavy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natalie1991
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very secure lock at a decent price

Posted23 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I wanted a combined lock with both d-lock and the more flexible one for extra security for living in central London.
This is a great lock and really simple to work.
I carry it around in my rucksack and is a little heavy, but the heavier the lock the more secure you know its going to be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Romania
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough and heavy

Posted11 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I love the combo for the money.
The lock itself is big (having some trouble cycling with it in my belt at the back), but I was expecting that. It has a 6 rating, so don't expect it to secure a motorcycle, but it's perfect for a bike in an average crime rate city.
It is rather heavy, wasn't expecting that, but the weight is well distributed and you can use that in your advantage (stray dogs attacking).
The bike-mount is something you shouldn't use on a road bike, looks safe (you rely on bolts) but it's still plastic covered and you rely on a strap to keep it on your bike. Didn't use it, but I imagine it get's in your way at tight curves as I don't trust the rubber for keeping it from rotating around the frame.
The flex cable is a nice addition, depends on your bike size, but for my 54 fuji feather I can wrap it around front wheel, handle bar and in the U-Lock.
Oh, and the rubber covering the lock also kept my bike intact, even though the bike took a serious hit while locked to a post.
For the money, would buy another.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>