Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable

Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable

Overall rating:
4.491 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 108 reviews
5 Stars
61
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
105 out of 108(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Review 1 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natalie1991
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very secure lock at a decent price

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I wanted a combined lock with both d-lock and the more flexible one for extra security for living in central London.
This is a great lock and really simple to work.
I carry it around in my rucksack and is a little heavy, but the heavier the lock the more secure you know its going to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Romania
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough and heavy

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I love the combo for the money.
The lock itself is big (having some trouble cycling with it in my belt at the back), but I was expecting that. It has a 6 rating, so don't expect it to secure a motorcycle, but it's perfect for a bike in an average crime rate city.
It is rather heavy, wasn't expecting that, but the weight is well distributed and you can use that in your advantage (stray dogs attacking).
The bike-mount is something you shouldn't use on a road bike, looks safe (you rely on bolts) but it's still plastic covered and you rely on a strap to keep it on your bike. Didn't use it, but I imagine it get's in your way at tight curves as I don't trust the rubber for keeping it from rotating around the frame.
The flex cable is a nice addition, depends on your bike size, but for my 54 fuji feather I can wrap it around front wheel, handle bar and in the U-Lock.
Oh, and the rubber covering the lock also kept my bike intact, even though the bike took a serious hit while locked to a post.
For the money, would buy another.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DeusHepp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lock Up!!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Excellent lock, reasonable price, heavy quality lock for your bike with a good length flex cable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jonesy80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Does the job

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The wire that comes with it as standard could be longer but other than that I am happy with the product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
cata
Country:Romania
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hard to evaluate this

PostedJune 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
A bit hard to evaluate this (I used it for less than a month only) but so far it does its job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shae
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hardcore security

PostedJune 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock offers maximum security for your bike. I use it for work mainly and havent had any issues. It has a rubber coating so it doesnt scratch your paintwork and has a cover over the lock barrel so dirt and water doesnt get inside.
I cant see a thief getting this off your bike without an angle grinder! One gripe i do have is its weight.
Its got a fair amount of weight to it but on the other hand what do you expect from solid steel.
Highly recommended product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TJsquash
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Good quality Lock

PostedMay 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good easy to use D lock with a cable to lock the bike to a bike stand or railings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mel44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Ticks all the boxes

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Fairly new to cycling. Leaving my bike at the train station, I wanted a reasonably priced D-lock and this fits the bill. Easily attaches to the bike and no problems with the lock itself. Good purchase overall
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ivi7863
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good value quality lock

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
nice sized Kryptonite lock - for a reasonable price compared to what I've seen elsewhere
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TS75
Country:Finland

Good product at its price

PostedMay 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Lock works well, mounting system is easy to fit. I bought it to my son and he likes it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saul01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very sturdy,compact locking system

PostedMay 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Purchased this after a week of research. Cannot fault this, brilliant price from a reliable company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sharon23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Bulky

PostedMay 11, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I wanted a secure lock, and chose this online, but when I collected it I found that the cable was thicker than I expected, and together with the lock it was too heavy. I returned it to my local Evans shop for a refund, and bought a more suitable lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
carlos73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Excellent value

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A superb lock and cable which gives unlimited scope for securing your bike.
A nice touch was the small Velcro strap for folding the cable up. the whole unit is quite compact although the mount for attaching it to the frame is unsightly and as a result I didn't use it.
This didn't prove an issue as the lock fits nicely on a pannier or in a bag.
The lock and cable is heavy but it's reassuringly so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NilocP
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product. Better than my expectation

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This lock gives me a piece of mind when I park my bicycle.
Greatly deters opportunists bicycle thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SeaJones
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good quality lock for mid range bikes

PostedMay 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: secure
Cons: difficult to store the cable on the bracket
This is the second of these locks I've bought, and they are an overall good lock. They meet insurance grade Sold Secure Silver, which for most companies makes them suitable for any bike worth up to £1000. It's easy to put on, and the included cable is good quality. The included bracket for fitting to the bike frame for transport is flexible, and the lock is both solid and has never been anything less than reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jnsl

PostedMay 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Very sturdy product. Recommended. Just got it so would like to test it further.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DTTBKK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

does the job

PostedMay 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
So far this lock has kept my bike safe, but the cable isn't quite long enough to secure both tires on my mountain bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very secure, great lock

PostedApril 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
for the price, it's a very strong and secure lock. With the cable, you can easily secure both wheels, the frame and then lock up properly. Comes with spare keys, very happy with this purchase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neilty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lock for a reasonable price. Very happy.

PostedApril 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Heavy duty bike lock with an extra 4 feet of cable to secure saddle and front wheel. Wouldn't expect any less from Kryptonite, a top notch product made to exacting and precise standards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baldy44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good value medium security lock

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Bought to protect my son's Hardrock in the school cycle shed. Cable to secure the front wheel was essential. Two keys supplied so I can retrieve when he inevitably loses his....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>