Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable

Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable

Overall rating:
4.506 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 89 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
88 out of 89(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Review 1 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baldy44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good value medium security lock

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Bought to protect my son's Hardrock in the school cycle shed. Cable to secure the front wheel was essential. Two keys supplied so I can retrieve when he inevitably loses his....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
magarab

Solid product

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: could not fit properly on women's bike
This D-lock is surdy, gives security for the fram and the front wheel as well due to the extra steel cablehowever does not fit all types of bicycles. I have used it for some time without any issues but when bought another for a women's bike it could not be properly fitted on that frame (however it was the biggest frame size of its kind) and I had to return and find a smaller D-lock instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sterleaveit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent Lock

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Can't complain, really. When I come out of Tesco, my bike is exactly where it was when I went in, which suggests that it has not been stolen, and that the lock is doing a good job. Well done lock.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nirikina
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Does not fit my bike

PostedMarch 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy
I bought this online after reading other reviews. When it arrived I read through all the instructions for fitting the mounting bracket. Unfortunately when I held it up against my bike there is no way it will fit inside the frame. It is just too big. I have a mountain bike with a 17 inch frame and the available space inside the frame just won't accommodate a D-lock of this size. I am planning to return it to the store and will probably just get a cable lock instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
staff1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great product very strong would recommend to anyone looking for a secure lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TommyP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Strong lock, cheap price.

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I use this lock to secure my bike at work. D Lock is obviusly very strong & secures the frame & rear wheel to an immovable object, and I use the flexicable to secure the front wheel. Due to it's weight I tend to leave it at work as I only use my bike for commuting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waseem
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far so good

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Bought this after reading reviews, the lock is always at work behind a key card access gate so I wasn't looking for something that was expensive. Having said that it seems very secure and easy to use, the additional cable is handy as I lock the front wheel to the rest of the lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Feel I can leave my bike almost anywhere now.

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I had heard good reviews about this lock/ shackle combination and wanted to have something to protect my recent Scott bike investment. Using this combination means I feel far more confident about the security of taking my bicycle for the occassional visit to my son in London!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SwinleyMTBer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great lock for the money

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
You wouldn't want to be carrying this with you while out riding as its very heavy. But bought as extra security for when locked in your garage or in the car then this lock is ideal.
The extra cable is great for attaching to a floor anchor in the garage or round posts when out and about and the D-Lock is certainly big enough to go round a couple of bikes.
Does everything I needed from a lock
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jimmyd32
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great solid lock with the added theft guarentee.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Great idea to have the extra cable to secure removable wheels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ASM9633
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good quality, looks the buisness too.

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Very good quality lock and comes with an insurance policy too. Would recommend. Quite heavy but that comes with the security it provides so worth the extra weight in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kamen

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, solid
I highly recommend that locker because it is solid and very reliable to protect your bike (6/10 protection level).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ScubaDec

Solid lock with extension cable

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Looking for a decent lock to secure my new bike, I wanted a D-Lock that would fitted around the bike stands at work, and allow me to secure both wheels and seat. This fitted the bill a treat with the inclusion of the 4 foot cable.
I've not found a suitable place to mount on my bike due to the geometry of the frame, so it travels in my bag for the time been. My only real criticism would be the weight, but that's unavoidable with a solid D-Lock.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikechris
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Firm and secure

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
The lock and the wire set is a perfect combination of security, especially you have a bike with quick releases.
This set is reasonable in price, and the quality is very good.
It is heavy, but it is the basic criteria of being secure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HolbornCommuter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Does the trick

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a good quality D Lock which fits nicely into the holder which can be fixed to the frame of your bike. I recommend using the D Lock/flex cable combo to keep your front wheel safe at all times too.
The lock has done the trick so far but, that said, I've never left it out on the street overnight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mo1411
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

Great price lock

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does the job, only potential issue is the cable is not the longest
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reggiesdad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Safe and secure.

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: fitting
Great vfm, gives confidence that bike would be secure in most normal situations. Fitting of lock took some figuring out so read the instructions first, it does help!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
savvo

Good secure lock

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, length, mounting design
Whilst the 'D' lock is great and the flexible cable good, the cable is not quite lond enough to 'get round' anything more than your front wheel and frame.
Also the mouting bracket isn't the best.
Dont let this put you off though as this is a good value kryptonite lock set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trigano
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Solid looking lock

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good D lock with 4 foot cable, would have liked the cable to be a bit longer as this is for a ladies bike and the D lock doesn't fit through the cross-bars near the handlebars (if that makes sense!).
No reason to doubt it's sturdiness, only time will tell when the bike is left somewhere in town and it's still there when we come back
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paolo10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy Lock

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great lock and provides great security to high end cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>