Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable

Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable

Overall rating:
4.461 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(115 reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 115 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
44
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
111 out of 115(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Review 1 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBenM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lock

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Gives me the confidence to lock my bike up almost anywhere. Is small enough to carry to work everyday.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
InMyPrime
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

very good value basic lock and chain

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good sized lock. The chain is a welcome bonus and the clip on attachment for a bike is very useful. All in all - it does what it says on the tin!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hpoo002
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Solid buy

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Really solid buy. Bike hasnt been stolen yet - so its working.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
lock
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very good idea with the cable, but hard to open

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
The overall design of the lock i excellent. The atached cable makes it very easy to lock you bike to less than ideal urban furniture. I am frequently having trouble opening the lock as the key tends to have trouble finding its way deep enough into the actual lock. This is super annoying and inconvenient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ohwhy
Style:Commuting
Gender:Female

Lock is good but not the bracket

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, poor quality mount bracket
The lock is solid, size wise varies according to bike size and your need. But, the Allen nut inside the holder bracket is not easily aligned and tightened to the frame. It's left unused. The u-lock can hardly be mounted on a mini velo if you need to fit a large bottle and top tube bag to frame too. Cable cannot be used to secure seat as the loop and the orange ring cannot pass through. Locking mechanism is alright and easy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Classic lock at this price level

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Not much to say - If this is your price point, buy this lock. With the flex through the seat and wheels and the lock on the frame you're pretty much safe and secure.
The included £800 insurance thing is kind of nice as a fall back but unless the crock leaves your busted lock on the floor for you to send back to Kryptonite you ain't getting no dollar!!
If yours is the easiest bike to pinch it'll be the one that gets robbed, so make sure it isn't an easy target.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gui150

Strong but heavy

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This locker is very strong, and probably keep away many burglars, but consider that this locker is very heavy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natalie1991
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very secure lock at a decent price

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I wanted a combined lock with both d-lock and the more flexible one for extra security for living in central London.
This is a great lock and really simple to work.
I carry it around in my rucksack and is a little heavy, but the heavier the lock the more secure you know its going to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Romania
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough and heavy

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I love the combo for the money.
The lock itself is big (having some trouble cycling with it in my belt at the back), but I was expecting that. It has a 6 rating, so don't expect it to secure a motorcycle, but it's perfect for a bike in an average crime rate city.
It is rather heavy, wasn't expecting that, but the weight is well distributed and you can use that in your advantage (stray dogs attacking).
The bike-mount is something you shouldn't use on a road bike, looks safe (you rely on bolts) but it's still plastic covered and you rely on a strap to keep it on your bike. Didn't use it, but I imagine it get's in your way at tight curves as I don't trust the rubber for keeping it from rotating around the frame.
The flex cable is a nice addition, depends on your bike size, but for my 54 fuji feather I can wrap it around front wheel, handle bar and in the U-Lock.
Oh, and the rubber covering the lock also kept my bike intact, even though the bike took a serious hit while locked to a post.
For the money, would buy another.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DeusHepp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lock Up!!

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Excellent lock, reasonable price, heavy quality lock for your bike with a good length flex cable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jonesy80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Does the job

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The wire that comes with it as standard could be longer but other than that I am happy with the product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
cata
Country:Romania
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hard to evaluate this

PostedJune 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
A bit hard to evaluate this (I used it for less than a month only) but so far it does its job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shae
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hardcore security

PostedJune 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock offers maximum security for your bike. I use it for work mainly and havent had any issues. It has a rubber coating so it doesnt scratch your paintwork and has a cover over the lock barrel so dirt and water doesnt get inside.
I cant see a thief getting this off your bike without an angle grinder! One gripe i do have is its weight.
Its got a fair amount of weight to it but on the other hand what do you expect from solid steel.
Highly recommended product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TJsquash
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Good quality Lock

PostedMay 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good easy to use D lock with a cable to lock the bike to a bike stand or railings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mel44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Ticks all the boxes

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Fairly new to cycling. Leaving my bike at the train station, I wanted a reasonably priced D-lock and this fits the bill. Easily attaches to the bike and no problems with the lock itself. Good purchase overall
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ivi7863
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good value quality lock

PostedMay 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
nice sized Kryptonite lock - for a reasonable price compared to what I've seen elsewhere
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TS75
Country:Finland

Good product at its price

PostedMay 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Lock works well, mounting system is easy to fit. I bought it to my son and he likes it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saul01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very sturdy,compact locking system

PostedMay 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Purchased this after a week of research. Cannot fault this, brilliant price from a reliable company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sharon23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Bulky

PostedMay 11, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I wanted a secure lock, and chose this online, but when I collected it I found that the cable was thicker than I expected, and together with the lock it was too heavy. I returned it to my local Evans shop for a refund, and bought a more suitable lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Std D-Lock with 4 Foot KryptoFlex Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
carlos73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Excellent value

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A superb lock and cable which gives unlimited scope for securing your bike.
A nice touch was the small Velcro strap for folding the cable up. the whole unit is quite compact although the mount for attaching it to the frame is unsightly and as a result I didn't use it.
This didn't prove an issue as the lock fits nicely on a pannier or in a bag.
The lock and cable is heavy but it's reassuringly so.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>