Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Mini U-lock with Bracket

Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Mini U-lock with Bracket

Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Mini U-lock with Bracket
Review 1 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Mini U-lock with Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BenStck
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small and strong!

Posted29 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Although quite small, it's exactly what is needed if you are planning on carrying your lock around with you in a bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Mini U-lock with Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ilusao
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Decent lock

Posted11 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Nice looking and does the job well. I didn't attach the bracket since while riding I hold the lock on my bike rack and because it seemed diffucult to find a good place for the lock on a step-through frame. And the instructions for attacting the bracket were a bit confusing. Decent looking safety key.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Mini U-lock with Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SCbgc
Country:Portugal
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really nice (except for the bracket)

Posted09 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
The size is fair for my bicycle (an old road bike) in most places and it appears to be as robust as said. Really good value.
The only not-so-good thing is the bracket, which I feel won't be long-lasting and isn't pleasant as a persistent attachment to the bicycle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Mini U-lock with Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ragemart
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This is great, but check the size

Posted11 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, small
This is a really great lock for this price.
Admittedly I only leave my bike within a secure area at work anyway, so I'm probably not the best person to comment on it's theft prevention, but it certainly seems sturdy and tough.
It's probably a bit too heavy to carry around all the time, although it's manageable enough.
One thing you should do is make absolutely certain that the lock will fit around your bike and whatever you want to lock it to, as this is quite a small lock. It's fine for my purposes but it may not suit everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Mini U-lock with Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FairweatherCyc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Secure and sturdy

Posted01 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I've always gone for this lock because it has a good reputation. It comes with a strap that allows you to fix it anywhere and it is supplied with two keys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Mini U-lock with Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Youthanasia
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great lock but very heavy

Posted02 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, fitting
Feel safe with your bike locked up with this beast. Very good quality should last forever, and insures your bike too!
Dropped it on my first use by accident and put a crack in the flag in the floor, hahaha.
Bit of a pain to fit, but now it's on no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Mini U-lock with Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ZEB1

Great value Sold Secure Silver rated lock

Posted17 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I needed a Sold Secure Silver rated lock for my insurance to be valid. Most are v expensive. This one is relatively low cost and does the job perfectly. It IS smaller than most D locks though - so if you think you'll need to fit a lot of frame (and/or thing you're locking it to) within the lock, go for a full size one instead. And it's not lighter than full size D locks - I guess because it still needs to be heavy duty enough to be secure. But no complaints from me - a decent, well made lock at a great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Mini U-lock with Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimmy2000
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, compact lock.

Posted03 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I bought a couple of these locks for my partner and myself. They're sturdy, compact, and look pretty neat too.
The only issue that someone might have is because of their sturdiness, they aren't the lightest lock on the market. I haven't weighed mine but you notice the difference when it's not in your backpack!
Also, the mounting system for the lock seemed pretty mediocre. This didn't bother me as I didn't plan on mounting our locks to our bikes, but it might be an issue if you intend on doing this.
However, it's a great lock for the price and I'd definitely buy one again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite KryptoLok S2 Mini U-lock with Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
speed86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and effective

Posted11 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This product does the job well, for a reasonable price. So long as you don't force the key when locking/iunlocking it (which might cause the key to get jammed in there), then you will be satisfied with this lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.