Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit

Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit

Overall rating:
3.917 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Review 1 for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peter0
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Over elaborate

Posted19 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
I just wanted a way of securely carrying my lock without it taking up space in my saddle-bag. This seems an extraordinarily over-engineered solution to what should be a very simple problem. Even the instructions (in two separate documents and at least half a dozen languages) took about 10 minutes to understand.
But at least it seems to be working so far...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cdublew
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Easy to install

Posted22 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I watched the video rather than reading the instructions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nick80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Share a lock across several bikes

Posted28 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Many bikes but only one can be ridden at once, so get a couple of these and you can use one lock on any bike. Works fine, but the lock still rattles on bumpy ground - why can't Kryptonite sort that out?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EllieM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

Simples

Posted28 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: practical
Cons: some surplus parts
My original bracket broke and this replacement contained all the parts I could possibly need. The only downside is that you do end up with some surplus and I think that Kryptonite could save a lot of time and money by allowing you to buy the exact size that you need. I do appreciate not everyone knows when they go into a shop though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BajVII
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Secure but noisy

Posted09 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I don't know if it's an issue specific to my New York Lock but the two components really rattle. So when I clip the lock into the bracket the lock makes a very loud noise as I ride. I might use it when I'm going down the road on my bike and don't have a bag on my back but the noise is unbearable and embarrassing when cycling 10 mi to and from work. Apart from that the bracket seems well made but the metal bolt could be made of a higher grade of metal in my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
selectaG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Direct replacement for the supplied one

Posted03 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
If you lost the bracket for your Kryptonite D-Lock then this is a direct replacement for it.
If you have not fitted one before it's a bit fiddly but there are videos on YouTube to help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dapple

Simple and effective

Posted07 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I'd lost the original bracket for my Kryptonite lock so had to get a replacement.
It does the job - was easy to fit and worked with my existing D-Lock without having to make any adjustments (e.g. trimming back coating on the lock).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Angus76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Very disapointed in the Kryptonite bracket

Posted08 February 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, not fit for purpose, poorly designed
To whom it may concern,
The Kryptonite D lock is extremely robust. It needs to be in order to keep my bike safe form the light-fingered thieves of south london where i live. This robustness means it is very heavy. It is this weight which lead to the frame bracket it was purchased with to break off. I carried the lock around in my bag for a week before i bought a replacement bracket. When the replacement also broke, i was convinced the design was flawed, and i would be forever lumbered with my shackle inconveniently secreted in my bag for ever more. Taking my 3 kilo bag to the shop just to top up my oyster card proved to be rather frustrating, so i went to Evans in order to buy yet another replacement bracket. Although the Victoria branch did not have it in stock, i was pleased to hear that Kryptonite had designed a NEW bracket that was not prone to failure. I was informed the new fabric strap would hold more securely. Needless to say, i was eager to purchase one, so i had it delivered to my office three days later. I fixed it to the frame of my Scott Sub 40, and away i went. After two days of bagless cycling pleasure, the fitting started to wiggle. I took my allen key to tighten up the fixing - but the grub screw sheared off. I am now back to using my bag to heft around my lock.
When will they get it right? The lock cost me £55, and the replacement brackets cost £35.
Well, i dont care when they get it right, because i will be purchasing another brand from now on.
your sincerely,
RIBA Chartered Architect and Designer
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Slimk78
 
Please wait while more information about Slimk78 is loaded.
Additional information about Slimk78 could not be loaded.
Posted 21 April 2013
Had a very similar experience to the above, very frustrating!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WillemV
Country:Switzerland
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

remarkably sturdy

Posted04 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
One needs a bit of time to mount the bracket. However, it is time well spent: properly affixed, the heavy Kryptonite lock does not bounce or shake . After a few days, retighten the hexagonal Allen nut. Another adavantage: the lock is locked to the bike when not in use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tidders
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Secure, good design, bit pricey

Posted02 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, secure
Cons: Expensive
Pricey for what it is, but super secure and super handy. A vast improvement in design on the original one that came with my lock!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
btee

much better than standard bracket

Posted01 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Can fit it almost anywhere on frame.I have a 'long' d-lock so as to allow me lots of places/ways of locking my bike when out. This bracket is perfect as it allows d-lock to be attached to anywhere suitable on my bike frame for carrying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Transit Flex Frame Bracket - U Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OlDirtyCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

a good replacement

Posted03 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have an evolution 4 dlock and the original bracket it came with was pretty limited. Also the collar that came with the lock broke due to the poor quality of the metal and the fact that you have to tighten the nut very tight to secure the lock to the holder.
This is a far better replacement though the replacemernt collars for the dlock are still the same cheap aluminium so be careful when tightening the hex nut. Easy to fit to the frame and the 360 degreee swivel means you are not short of positions for hanging the dlock.
Overall, very easy to fit and very versatile. I would recommend this to anyone who doesnt like carring their lock in their rucksack
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.