Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tools or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge

Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge
Review 1 for Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stu4805697
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

You won't believe how well this works

Posted14 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'll start with I hate cleaning chains. Hate. I've also tried most of the chain cleaners out there and whilst they work ok to begin with, they never get the chain spotless and you do need to keep them clean which can be hard work as they normally require dismanteling.
With this simple and durable sponge, using it with Fenwicks Foam chain cleaner, you just spray the foam on chain first, leave it for 5 minutes and then run the chain through the groove in the sponge whilst squeezing it and back pedal. Then just rinse with water and blast with WD40 to preserve the chain.
It's amazing how clean chains come up, looking shiny and new again. Can't recommend this enough and at under £2 you can't go wrong. I've used it 4 times and it shows no sign of wear, they reckon it's good for 30 chain cleans.
Keeping the sponge clean is the really easy bit, you just spray it with the foam, squeeze it on itself a few times and then rinse and it looks like new again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nathan37
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good value cycle oil.

Posted03 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Applied oil and stayed on tge chain while cycling through heavy rain and puddles etc. Worked ell. Good value product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JC1974
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It nearly works

Posted30 June 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Nothing much to this sponge really – it does a good job of getting the worst off the chain – but you really need a proper chain clearer (with spinning brushes) to clean the links
(The “best” solution for my single speed were I can’t get a chain cleaner to hang onto the chain – as there is no derailleur)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ikibike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and effective

Posted15 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cheap and effective at cleaning your chain when using Fenwicks's foaming degreaser.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AnDaJo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very effective

Posted23 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
When used with Fenwicks Foaming Chain Cleaner this is quick, clean, easy and very effective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martis84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for use

Posted20 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, easy to use
I have used a mechanical chain cleaner and always struggled to get the chain really clean. This sponge, coupled with degreaser, is fantastic and works really well if you are willing to get your hands dirty. Top value too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MoonrakerMike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use

Posted25 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This product makes chain cleaning so easy, I'm cleaning my chain more often which can only be a good thing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
djk3816
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

THE SIMPLE IDEAS WORK BEST

Posted21 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: none
This is a perfect accompniament to the Fenwicks cleaner. Washes well to reuse. no messy hands if you hold if in a plastic cloth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BigBlueSky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good alternative

Posted05 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Simple but effective chain cleaner. Cleans up well after use, but not sure how long it will last if chain is really mucky.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fenwicks Chain Cleaning Sponge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mjracer1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just the job clean drivetrain

Posted31 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I really like this product. Combined with 'Fenwicks Foam Degreaser' it makes light work of cleaning your drive chain and is less fuss than using a normal chain bath.The sponge gets into all the knooks and crannies and a few revolutions later 'hey presto' your chain is sparkling clean. It's also very easy to clean the sponge itself with a bit of degreaser and some hot soapy water. I'd certainly recommend this product without any hesitation.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.