Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike

Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 34Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
54 Questions | 65 Answers
Customer reviews for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crsw001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

This is the perfect bike!

Posted10 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This bike is fantastic. It's a 40th birthday present, so I wanted something a bit stylish, but comfortable. This bike certainly fits the bill and performs excellently. The 7 gears make it easy to get up and over any hills with a minimum of fuss, and the ride is very comfortable thanks to the leather seat and springs. The little touches are nice too, like the leather handles and the reflective strip on the wheels. I really can't find any fault with this bike.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kevin69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Excellent value for money and stylist looking bike

Posted27 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Ordered the black version with matching leather grips and its the perfect shopping bike for collecting bread and flowers from the High Street. The bike looks great, and my wife is really pleased with the whole bike, particularly the comfy sprung seat and if she's happy - then I'm happy. Your neighbours will have bike envy every time she pops to the shops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Whydositesdothi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very much a city bike.

Posted12 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Poor quality
This is very much a city bike and will be great for short journeys where you don't want to take your car. The basket will hold a full bag of shopping or a couple of half filled bags, and you'll feel virtuous for doing your bit for the environment whilst still managing to get milk and a loaf of bread. I am not sure if I am ridiculously unfit or if this bike is particularly heavy but I struggle to get it up hills. Other than that it is quite nice. I had an issue with the chain and derailleur coming off in the first few weeks (Evans fixed it very quickly) but it has given me pause for thought. The paintwork chips far too easily. I have only owned the bike for three weeks and look after it like it is my prized possession but there's lots of chips on the frame.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Duchessrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Notting Hill

A true Duchess

Posted03 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this bike to replace my trusted original Dutch bike.
The Dawes Duchess is a smooth, stylish leisure bike coupled with slick gear transitions and a very comfortable seat.
The handle bar spacing ensures a relaxed upright ride, and the low middle frame section makes for easy maneuvering on and off.
Some dutch style bikes have a very twisty front wheel which makes a bike feel harder to control. The duchess is different, with good balance in the front wheel.
The basket is sufficiently strong and I purchased a Tortec Supertour Rear Rack so I could add paniers for extra storage when shopping.
The bike is light enough to carry up and down several stairs without trouble if you have a reasonable level of fitness.
I highly recommend this bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrsHLP1978
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

I love this bike!!!

Posted04 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
This is a fantastic bike. I use it for gentle, basic commuting to and from work over a distance of 5 miles each way. It is an easy to ride/handle/use bike and I simply love it!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catherine87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Beautiful bike!

Posted01 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my first bike in about 10 years! I absolutely love it & have had so many compliments! Very comfortable ride, however it is slightly rattley on bumpy paths.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ccclaire12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Love it!

Posted18 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This bike is a dream to ride and looks lovely! Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a leisurely cycle to work, through town or down smooth country roads.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cherylw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Posted14 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Lovely bike, very easy and comfortable to ride. Good service from Evans cycles too, when purchasing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maddi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

This Dawes Duchess bicycle rides very smoothly

Posted07 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
The Dawes Duchess is a fantastic bike, I particularly like it's solidity on the road. The leather saddle is very comfortable as are the handlebars. The features also include the plastic basket which has proved very useful for trips to the shops. I bought this bike as I found that sitting upright was much better for my back, and I haven't been disappointed yet. One slight downside with the Dutch-style bike is it's weight. It isn't the easiest to carry upstairs if you're living in a flat like I do.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mahdlo71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

Very elegant classic ladies bike

Posted28 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Perfect example of a classic ladies bike - smart, elegant and well built. It's a little on the heavy side, perhaps, compared to a hybrid, but it feels sturdy and rides very well.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CB76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Liverpool

Posted16 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This is a lovely bike to ride. The seat is comfortable and the upright position much better than a mountain bike. The frame is nice and light so it's easy to get on and off the train for longer journeys. The basket is a good size. It is quite an expensive bike but worth it for the look of the bike. I've had lots of admiring glances and positive comments about how it looks. The gears are good enough for medium hills, you just need to work a bit harder on steeper inclines. I've had a child seat fitted to my bike, however the first two seats I bought were not compatible with the frame, so I was back and forward to the shop until I found a seat that fitted. Now me and my son go out on my bike together and have a great time.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Justine22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Chiswick

Comfort and ellegant

Posted10 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Very nice bike for a women ! Very comfortable seat and the basket which can be used in many ways make my ride easy. Highly recommend to all cycle beginners.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrsPeel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

Looks good, smooth on the road

Posted02 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Great bike for pootling along the road, not so good off road. Top gear could have a bit more oomph.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rosie87
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent, an easy ride

Posted25 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this bike as a little run around to pop to the shops and it is perfect. I think that my only criticism is that the basket jingles a bit when you go over bumps, I like this because it signifies that I am there- but some people may find this annoying!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rich2003
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good reasonably priced bike

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Got 25% off with telegraph promotion. A nice comfortable bike my
grand daughter rides around town on. A pity that various screws are not stainless steel.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Candy14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:London Bridge

This is a fantastic bike

Posted04 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I love my new bike, it is not only great to look at but it is super comfortable to ride and very lightweight. I would definitely recommend getting one of these!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rcrcrc

Posted03 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
good beginner's bike: lightweight and easy to handle, looks pretty too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mikel3561
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Excellent selection

Posted28 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought this for my wife, as she suffers from back problems, and bending over for hybrid style bikes, is uncomfortable.
This is a well made, extremely comfortable bike. Has 7 gears, which is better than the more expensive Pashley bikes (only 3).
Staff were exremely helpful in choosing and adjusting the bike, on collection.
Definately recommended.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Megstar182
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good, sturdy bike.

Posted02 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A lovely bike for a less confident cyclist. Hadn't been on a bike for a while and wanted something that was stable and this ticked all the boxes. However now my confidence is back i'm finding that it is pretty heavy and i'm needing something now that is lightweight and up to the level i can now cycle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zhughes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Clapham

Comfortable, stylish women's bike

Posted17 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Very satisfied with this purchase. The bike is what a woman need for London. The only con is more weight then other bikes, but it compensates by stylish design and comfort riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>