Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike

Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.721 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
42 out of 43Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
60 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer reviews for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

This is the perfect bike!

Posted10 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This bike is fantastic. It's a 40th birthday present, so I wanted something a bit stylish, but comfortable. This bike certainly fits the bill and performs excellently. The 7 gears make it easy to get up and over any hills with a minimum of fuss, and the ride is very comfortable thanks to the leather seat and springs. The little touches are nice too, like the leather handles and the reflective strip on the wheels. I really can't find any fault with this bike.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted14 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
A great bike lovely to ride to work and back or the shops
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Maidstone

Great ride

Posted22 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I love this bike and am so pleased I bought it. Very nice and effortless to ride, keeps my back perfectly upright which I wanted. I have the black version, looks very elegant and my friends all remark on how nice it looks. Good size basket. Would definitely recommend. Was able to use Tesco reward points towards purchase which was brilliant.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A lovely stylish and comfortable bike

Posted12 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Has transformed my commute to work. I love it! A little heavy but keeps me fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Loving riding this bike

Posted07 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this to replace an off road bike that I have had for years. Although I am only a fair weather, very leisurely cyclist, I was worried about going from 21 gears down to 7, however I need't have been.
I am able to get hills easier than before as the gearing is great, the bike is much lighter than my last one.
The only slight issue which I am getting used to is the seat, it seems to ever so slightly tilt forward and I am not sure how to change it - it is not what I consider to be normal seat fitting. I will be taking advantage of my free service after 6 weeks and see if they can help with that.
Overall I am delighted, I have already done a lot more cycling than I had for years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crawley

Great bike to get around town with!

Posted17 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I have trouble with my joints and cannot ride "normal" bikes anymore due to wrists and back not being strong enough to cope. This bike however has me riding to work every day again now as it offers upright position with no pressure on wrists and the soft saddle makes it very comfortable.
I also get lots of comments about how good my new ride looks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cheltenham

Ideal bike for commuting

Posted07 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Ideal ladies bike for shopping and leisure rides.
Basket is ideal for shopping!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Stylish, practical and comfy

Posted20 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
I love it! The basket is great for carrying pretty hefty loads and the comfortable leather seat looks great. I have really enjoyed riding around town on my new bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

wonderful bike . love it

Posted28 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
this is such a brilliant bike . feel like mary poppins ! great for the town and commute to work . a bit heavy so would not be good for countryside
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great bike

Posted18 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
for City cycling, smooth an easy to ride and looks great. Feel a bit like Dorothy with the basket but that's the best part.
Not the lightest bike you can get if you plan on taking it on and off trains etc.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Excellent value for money and stylist looking bike

Posted27 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Ordered the black version with matching leather grips and its the perfect shopping bike for collecting bread and flowers from the High Street. The bike looks great, and my wife is really pleased with the whole bike, particularly the comfy sprung seat and if she's happy - then I'm happy. Your neighbours will have bike envy every time she pops to the shops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very much a city bike.

Posted12 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Poor quality
This is very much a city bike and will be great for short journeys where you don't want to take your car. The basket will hold a full bag of shopping or a couple of half filled bags, and you'll feel virtuous for doing your bit for the environment whilst still managing to get milk and a loaf of bread. I am not sure if I am ridiculously unfit or if this bike is particularly heavy but I struggle to get it up hills. Other than that it is quite nice. I had an issue with the chain and derailleur coming off in the first few weeks (Evans fixed it very quickly) but it has given me pause for thought. The paintwork chips far too easily. I have only owned the bike for three weeks and look after it like it is my prized possession but there's lots of chips on the frame.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Notting Hill

A true Duchess

Posted03 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this bike to replace my trusted original Dutch bike.
The Dawes Duchess is a smooth, stylish leisure bike coupled with slick gear transitions and a very comfortable seat.
The handle bar spacing ensures a relaxed upright ride, and the low middle frame section makes for easy maneuvering on and off.
Some dutch style bikes have a very twisty front wheel which makes a bike feel harder to control. The duchess is different, with good balance in the front wheel.
The basket is sufficiently strong and I purchased a Tortec Supertour Rear Rack so I could add paniers for extra storage when shopping.
The bike is light enough to carry up and down several stairs without trouble if you have a reasonable level of fitness.
I highly recommend this bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

I love this bike!!!

Posted04 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
This is a fantastic bike. I use it for gentle, basic commuting to and from work over a distance of 5 miles each way. It is an easy to ride/handle/use bike and I simply love it!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Beautiful bike!

Posted01 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my first bike in about 10 years! I absolutely love it & have had so many compliments! Very comfortable ride, however it is slightly rattley on bumpy paths.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Love it!

Posted18 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This bike is a dream to ride and looks lovely! Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a leisurely cycle to work, through town or down smooth country roads.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Posted14 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Lovely bike, very easy and comfortable to ride. Good service from Evans cycles too, when purchasing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

This Dawes Duchess bicycle rides very smoothly

Posted07 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
The Dawes Duchess is a fantastic bike, I particularly like it's solidity on the road. The leather saddle is very comfortable as are the handlebars. The features also include the plastic basket which has proved very useful for trips to the shops. I bought this bike as I found that sitting upright was much better for my back, and I haven't been disappointed yet. One slight downside with the Dutch-style bike is it's weight. It isn't the easiest to carry upstairs if you're living in a flat like I do.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

Very elegant classic ladies bike

Posted28 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Perfect example of a classic ladies bike - smart, elegant and well built. It's a little on the heavy side, perhaps, compared to a hybrid, but it feels sturdy and rides very well.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dawes Duchess Women's 2015 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Liverpool

Posted16 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This is a lovely bike to ride. The seat is comfortable and the upright position much better than a mountain bike. The frame is nice and light so it's easy to get on and off the train for longer journeys. The basket is a good size. It is quite an expensive bike but worth it for the look of the bike. I've had lots of admiring glances and positive comments about how it looks. The gears are good enough for medium hills, you just need to work a bit harder on steeper inclines. I've had a child seat fitted to my bike, however the first two seats I bought were not compatible with the frame, so I was back and forward to the shop until I found a seat that fitted. Now me and my son go out on my bike together and have a great time.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>