Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike

Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crsw001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

This is the perfect bike!

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This bike is fantastic. It's a 40th birthday present, so I wanted something a bit stylish, but comfortable. This bike certainly fits the bill and performs excellently. The 7 gears make it easy to get up and over any hills with a minimum of fuss, and the ride is very comfortable thanks to the leather seat and springs. The little touches are nice too, like the leather handles and the reflective strip on the wheels. I really can't find any fault with this bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rosie87
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent, an easy ride

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this bike as a little run around to pop to the shops and it is perfect. I think that my only criticism is that the basket jingles a bit when you go over bumps, I like this because it signifies that I am there- but some people may find this annoying!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rich2003
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good reasonably priced bike

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Got 25% off with telegraph promotion. A nice comfortable bike my
grand daughter rides around town on. A pity that various screws are not stainless steel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Candy14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:London Bridge

This is a fantastic bike

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I love my new bike, it is not only great to look at but it is super comfortable to ride and very lightweight. I would definitely recommend getting one of these!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rcrcrc

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
good beginner's bike: lightweight and easy to handle, looks pretty too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mikel3561
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Excellent selection

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought this for my wife, as she suffers from back problems, and bending over for hybrid style bikes, is uncomfortable.
This is a well made, extremely comfortable bike. Has 7 gears, which is better than the more expensive Pashley bikes (only 3).
Staff were exremely helpful in choosing and adjusting the bike, on collection.
Definately recommended.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Megstar182
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good, sturdy bike.

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
A lovely bike for a less confident cyclist. Hadn't been on a bike for a while and wanted something that was stable and this ticked all the boxes. However now my confidence is back i'm finding that it is pretty heavy and i'm needing something now that is lightweight and up to the level i can now cycle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zhughes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Clapham

Comfortable, stylish women's bike

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Very satisfied with this purchase. The bike is what a woman need for London. The only con is more weight then other bikes, but it compensates by stylish design and comfort riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liz222
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female

Love this bike!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this bike as we'd just moved close enough to work to be able to cycle. It's great! Love the colour, the design, the basket ... basically everything! It's a 10 mile round trip daily and it's been comfortable from the beginning, the gears make negotiating a variety of terrain is easy. The only time it's tough is in a strong head wind which does tend to catch the basket. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
angiemac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

PostedMay 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike is so easy to ride. Havent been on a bike in years really surprised how easy it was on this bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PeterP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

very good classic city ladies bike

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Very good bicycle for ladies who prefer casual cycling. Good for a trip to a shop or a park. Not really for a long commute on London streets. Nice classic finish. Could come with classic looking accessories e.g a pump. The pump provided is a modern plastic one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lady37

Great ladies bike

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A great ladies bike well built and great features. My girlfriend loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Manchestergirl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Excellent bike - suits my purpose perfectly. Can ride in heels, seat very comfortable. Basket quite roomy. Stand very sturdy. Mud guards very effective.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PapsPapa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good value bike, nice ride

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this bike for my wife, who is a nervous and novice cyclist. She wanted something that had a traditional step-through design and was well-balanced. I was going to get her the new Pendleton bike from Halfords but these were sold out. The Dawes Duchess was a little more expensive (although it does come with a basket) and seems fairly comparable - there are various colour options, but all of them except the Maroon looked a little tacky. I road the bike the 6 or 7 miles from Spitalfields, and it felt comfortable and well-balanced, despite the fact that it was too small for me
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kate9253
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Fulham

Stylish but sturdy practical bicycle

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I recently moved out to the countryside and live nearly 2 miles from the station, so after much research I bought a Dawes Duchess for my daily commute.
Postiives:
1) useful basket on front (which being plastic can be left out in the rain no problem
2) Enough gears to deal with average hills
3) Comfortable saddle
4) Comfortable upright seating position
5) Good looking! And nice finishes such as leather handle bars
6) relatively effective mudguards
7) It feels sturdy and as though it will withstand slightly rough treatment (ie being parked in very busy bike racks)
Negatives:
1) It is heavy. This means I don't build up the same momentum as I might on another bike. Also, I wouldn't recommend this bike if you would regularly be having to cart it up and down flights of steps.
2) It's big (so doesn't fit in my car boot as easily as a mountain bike would)
3) The screws used for a couple of the less important bits (ie attaching the reflectors) rusted very quickly.
In summary, I really love my bike! I knew when I bought it that it would be heavier than other styles so I can't complain about that. I have fitted a rear pannier rack to which I attach another deeper basket which is great for carrying shopping and my work bag.
I highly recommend making use of Evans' free 6 week service as with daily use I did find the gears and brakes were ready for tweaking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jaydo6
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Dawes Duchess Cycling Happiness

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
my wife recenlty purchased the pinnacle lithium, the womens frame and she bought this to commute 13 miles from east london down to earls court every day. the pinnancle was an excellent bike but she felt she may have made the wrong choice and wanted soemthing a little more comfortable to ride i.e the ride position . .after all its a long way, after going in to see the guys at evans they were amazing, they sorted her our and switched the bikes over, now my wife couldnt be happier with her bag in the basket and cycling to work in a mega comfortable position - this bike suits the needs of a female cycling long way to work perfectly, my wife is 31 and super fit, this bike is all about making a long cycle enjoyble even on the rainy cold east london mornings. . . . and looks wise it reminds me of an old 50's american caddalac,.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Puddingbear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Lush bike and so practical!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, basket!
Cons: Heavy
I cycle to work everyday now and it's brilliant! Can get a really good speed up on the flat all the while being able to sit up straight and look about. I have a bad back and hated riding normal bike as your so hunched over and it killed my back, no such problem with the duchess. You feel like you have much more control over it and the 7 gears are excellent. I live in Bristol and cycle up a nasty hill on the way home and I have been overtaking mountain bikes!
Only con I would say is that it is quite heavy, you wouldn't want to be lugging it up stairs, is also a bit rattly with all the extras attached but can't say it bothers me that much.
The basket is brilliant! Perfect size for a medium size hand bag and you don't have it bouncing about too much as it is supported underneath.
Seat and handles are beautiful and very weather resistant too. Chain guard stops your trousers etc from getting caught and if your cycling in the rain the mudguards stop that spray pattern up your back too.
You also get a pump attached so you pretty much set to go fresh out the box. Just need a hefty chain to keep your gorgeous bike safe!
The price is really reasonable for what you are getting. You can get cheaper bikes, but they have less gears, no basket, no pump and just don't look as well put together.
Buy it! You will not regret it, I don't!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Herself
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crawley

Perfect even for absolute beginners

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, great of building confidence
I bought this bike having not cycled in years ... and it's brililant! Very solid and sturdy, but with enough gears to mean that you can tackle hills etc relatively easily.... my kids refer to it as the Grannymobile, as it is an old-fashioned design, but I absolutely love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
72bun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Liverpool

love my new bike

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
cycling to work daily, colleagues have all commented on how great my bike looks. making good use of the basket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dawes Dawes Duchess Women's Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
koll
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

ellegant and practical

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike has all the ellegance of an old style bike, but has all the practicality of a bike.
I just love riding this in and around town.
I would recommend this to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>