Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner

PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner

Overall rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
12 out of 13Would you recommend this product to a friend?92%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Review 1 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Posted10 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this for my fixed wheel bike but unable to use it due to the non flexibility of my chain with this item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

Posted21 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, easy to clean
works really well as long as you put some good degreaser in it., great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very disappointed

Posted04 November 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, useless
Have had a Park Tool chain cleaner for years and needed replacing.
Thought I would try this, as reviews seemed good and was a lot cheaper.
Used it twice and I am very disappointed.
Getting (and keeping) the lid closed is difficult.
The dérailleur fitting doesn't seem to work properly, so used my hand!
Difficult to pedal the chain through.
Meanwhile, degreaser spills out of the device and all over the floor.
Wish I could get my money back for this!
(Evans not to blame - good service as usual.)
I will re-invest in another Park Tool chain cleaner...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seems to work well

Posted01 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
I've only used this a couple of times but it seems to work well - simple to use and makes cleaning a chain less of a chore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

well balanced

Posted13 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
i have sued various chain tools over the years.
this has to be one of my faves.
it seems very robust and well made for the price.
does a pretty good job of cleaning the chain.
unsure how long the brushes will last so hopefully spares are available for it ?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Handy little tool

Posted23 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Much like other reviews, I'd recommend this chain cleaner. It's a cheap quick way to give your chain a clean without using tons of degreasing agent. It is a bit messy, but what do you expect from cleaning a chain?! Certainly helps remove most of the worst of the winter grit, but probably not enough to do a really thorough job on it's own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A little hard to turn but works well

Posted07 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I've used the parktool cleaner before and this stands up to that and costs a lot less. Neat feature being able to anchor it against the rear derailer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Finland

Posted17 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cleans the chain pretty nicely, although it's difficult to hold the cleaner in place while cleaning. Have only used it once so far, so can't really say anything about the durability.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Holborn

clean chain

Posted26 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
it was easy to use although i found it hard to wind the chain through (im a wimp and have no idea how to clean my bike properly)
it worked and i was happy with the result.
its very messy though, so do outside.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use, does the job

Posted01 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
great value product that is easy to use and gets the job done
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Posted10 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: none
A great bit of kit for the price it has a good solid feel too it and does a great job at cleaning chains ! But one you won't regret ! Basically does what it says on the tin !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted23 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Looks a little fragile - I wouldn't be too surprised if I had to replace it in the not too distant future - but other than that I have no complaints, and wouldn't be surprised if I buy another of these as a replacement when/if it does eventually break.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for PDW Mister Sparkle Chain Cleaner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

Posted28 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
At first you will notice the quality of the cleaner, quite compact and solid construction, a lot better than the cheaper one's. First use was a little bit fiddly, but once you put it on and off a couple of times you will soon realise what a top quality product it is. For the money you can't go wrong, my only concern is how long the brushes will last and can you get replacement one's, as the outer is that solid it will probably outlast the brushes easily. Overall Superb value for money!!!!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.