Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for SRAM Red 2012 Yaw Front Derailleur

SRAM Red 2012 Yaw Front Derailleur

Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for SRAM Red 2012 Yaw Front Derailleur
Review 1 for SRAM Red 2012 Yaw Front Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OzCyclist
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product - highly reocmmended

PostedMay 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have just finished a full 2012 SRAM Red upgrade, transferring from Shimano 7800 Dura-Ace (the 'older' version) which had worn out after some 10's of thousands of kms.
The new SRAM is seriously impressive. The new Yaw front derailleur works beautifully with no chain rub. I have a friend who has DI-2 on his Look 695 and he has had problem after problem with it. Maybe he is unlucky, but it has made me a little wary of the electronic versions of either Shimano or Campag. The truth is that I trust a mechanical cable, once it is setup properly and I really don't need a gear change in a fraction of a second.
What limits me is the motor not the gears.... and forgive me, but I bet that is true for almost all of you. I am unconvinced that electronic shifting is truly worth the cost.
The main attraction to me with DI-2 was the self trimming of the front derailleur as you go up the rear cassette. This new upgrade to SRAM Red covers just that with the new Yaw derailleur and I am more than happy with the new SRAM Red . It gives me everything I wanted with no chain rub, nothing electronic to breakdown and at a lower cost. SRAM have very done well.
Highly recommended, having now ridden it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SRAM Red 2012 Yaw Front Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Subliminal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Massive Improvement

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, superb shfting
Fitted this to a 2012 Force setup. Bought a power meter with Power-glide Chainrings, complimented with the red Shifter its a huge improvement much smoother gear changes. Works perfect and the trim on big ring has a use now also and allows for a perfect setup with no rub in any gear.
Highly recommended especially for those with Force Setups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SRAM Red 2012 Yaw Front Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Polisherit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

what a surprise

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, a definate upgrade
After running sram red for 2 years without any complaints at all, I can't believe how instant the chain switch is with this yaw front mech. Once set up which is easy,i didn't think it would be this perfect!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SRAM Red 2012 Yaw Front Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noor

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
upgraded from the rival, this is simply fantastic, changing is so smooth and the chain never falls off too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SRAM Red 2012 Yaw Front Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
markJD
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works with my older Sram Red

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This new front derailleur works great, front shifting is way better than it used to be. I'm using all 2011 Sram Red with the new 2012 derailleur. I get no chain rub in any gear and I'm hoping the included chain catcher will keep the chain from dropping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SRAM Red 2012 Yaw Front Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thprice
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A significant improvement from past FD

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Would recommend all Force and Red users upgrade to this new Red 2012 FD. The shifting improves significantly and no chain rub.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SRAM Red 2012 Yaw Front Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
markl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A simple upgrade worth making

PostedJune 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
A worthwhile upgrade for the old SRAM red front derailleur. Works fine with 2011 Red (Black) shifters and chainrings. Feels more positive under pressure. Chain catcher is a bonus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SRAM Red 2012 Yaw Front Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Morven
Country:Spain
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Excellent product - the yaw concept is great

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
A well engineered component from Sram - as you would expect. Yaw tech works well.
Be aware this is only compatable with the Sram 2012 shifters and chainset.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SRAM Red 2012 Yaw Front Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lookmumnohands
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A massive improvement on the previous model

PostedApril 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have fitted this to my bike which is running the 2010 Sram Red groupset and it works like a dream. No more failed change ups, it changes quickly and quietly. I used to have to start races with the chain on the big ring as I was worried that it wouldn't change up and I would get dropped. Problem solved!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.