Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Gilets & Vests or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest

Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest

Overall rating:
4.21 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Review 1 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Rider88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Simple, very lightweight, good quality fabric

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Its probably the most simple gilet you will ever see or buy. No pockets. No mesh rear panel either. The fabric is very breathable and very light weight. It packs down to half the size of what I would call a standard lightweight gilet - so easily goes into a rear jersey pocket.
High collar for warmth and only the zip for additional ventilation - but this fabric is very breathable indeed with no real moisture build up when trying to work up a sweat.
The zipper is US style so is on the other side. Sizewise, 36-37 chest I went for the small - for a race fit. Which is about right.
I also have the full jacket - so yes. I would highly recommend this jacket - for road riding. Too fragile for mountain biking though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adelaidehills
Country:Australia

Lightweight

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
An excellent lightweight, well made gilet and good for viewing your jersey underneath.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
gspilot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what a Gilet should.

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Ideal for those chilly descents or when you encounter the odd light shower.....and packs really tiny, about the size of a tangerine! Great value especially at the sale price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MacLu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm, packable but flaps

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I am pleased with this vest. It is ridiculously light and packs down to a tiny size. I use a mobile phone wallet as it does not come with a pouch and it fits inside no bother. Sizing is more comfortably fitting than aerodynamic. I'm 6'2" with a 42" chest and got the large. Medium would have been too restricting. I agree with others that the fitting at the shoulders could be tighter as it does flap in the wind/at speed hence 4/5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BeanieA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

a couple of gripes...

PostedOctober 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
A really lightweight item. It's great for keeping in a pocket. Its got two annoying features however. Its baggy through the arm holes so flaps on top of your shoulders. Secondly the zipper is on the opposite side To normal, which is annoying if you are right handed. Given how simple the item is, this adds up to a negative review as they'd be so easy to correct.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mervzila
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits nice like most pearl stuff

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Flaps about quite a bit but not bad for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
belgianjim
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very thin, light weight gillet.

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
extermely thin and lightweight gillet. not sure how much warmer it is going to keep you, but easy to stuff in back pocket.
still a bit on the larger side so flaps abit and zip is on the wrong side (think this is a north american thing). but for a little bit of extra protection from the elements on a mild day when yuo don't know which way the weather will turn is ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
youngracer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great value

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
lightweight, compact, and good fit. sizing good (size S fits 34" chest, 5ft 7" tall)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GUnit25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Does the job

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I chose the Pearl Izumi over an another make as it was in the sale and the quality seemed a lot better. The gilet is very thin and light and easy to stow in a pocket if the weather warms up during a ride.
Only warn it 2 or 3 times but the fit is good and the quality seems pretty good and the gilet kept me warm using it as a top layer to stave off a cool wind on early mornings / evening rides. Maybe a bit pricey at the non sale cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bikemachine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Let down by 'balooning' effect.

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: noisy
I bought this with a view to having a lightweight, wind-proof gilet for warm ups which could be stashed away in a small space but it is fatally flawed by the fact that it baloons at the shoulders and flaps away.
I have since bought the Rapha gilet which has a mesh panel across the shoulders and would say that such a feature is a must on any non-rainprooof product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TartanDes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very light and packs down to a tiny size

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great product. Wore it out on a coolish morning start to a ride last week and it kept the wind off nicely. A bit snug around the arm holes but nothing to worry about if just using it for 15 mins before warming up.
Rolls up to the size of a orange so great to have in a back pocket just in case on a late afternoon ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dave4friends
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for carrying with you for use on the go!

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
great vest for when it gets a bit chilly; It'll keep you warm! a bit expensive however I got it at a sale price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TarNturf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superlight but robust enough. Pocket companion.

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Just what I wanted... A light pocketable gilet for borderline days on the road bike. The answer when it's almost too cold but possibly too warm to wear a gilet. Not sure if I'll take it off road... Can't see it standing up to much abuse from brambles, falls etc.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
markroadmtb
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A nicely made item, compact and functional.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Well made and good looking, it's transparent material blends with any kit. The material itself is noisy when the rain hits it and the cut still allows it to flap in the breeze. Even getting the one size smaller than I usually take did not overcome the flapping issue. Very compact and works well keeping the rain out. Will be staple kit for me during this southern winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cotts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great item at a good price

PostedMay 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: no rear pockets
Just what was required, lightweight, keeps you warm and you don't know you're carrying it when you're not wearing it. Would be nice to have a rear pocket in it of some kind, but knew it didn't when purchased. Would highly recommend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DOTY
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

decent enough and very light

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, packs small
Cons: Expensive
A bit expensive for what it is... even at the sale price. But it does the job. Light, and a good tight fit (size chart is reasonably accurate). Not supplied with a stuff sack, and has no pockets.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finsport
Country:Finland
It was bought:Online

Featherlight windshield

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent piece of gear if you're in need of windproof gilet without weight penalty. This gilet is absolutely featherlight and keeps the drift out. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrissieB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Lightweight warmth

PostedJune 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this for my husband - hope he buys me one! It packs away to nothing, is as light as a feather and keeps the wind out a treat. Lucky man!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RobbieD
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product - warm, lightweight, compact

PostedApril 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, compact
The PRO Barrier Lite vest is a beauty - lightweight, warm and a snug fit that looks good. It provides very good protection from cold winds and some protection from light rain showers. And I particularly like the fact that because it's so compact, it takes up no room in your jersey pocket if you need to take it off as the day warms up. Great product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.