Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest

Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest

Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Review 1 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
MrsSolly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Easy to carry and wear.

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Lightweight and effective, this gilet does what it says on the tin. It slips easily into a back pocket and can be quickly put on for descents or when the weather turns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
jb33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Very light and can be squeezed into a small rear pocket. Used on a run in wet conditions was pleased with the protection offered and the comfortable fit. Quality product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nboyer79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very light and compact

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: bad zip
Really like this item. Light and compact. I ordered the wrong size so had to return but still very happy with the look and finish of the product for the price. Only minor thing was the zip was a teeny bit of a pain to undo around the neck area.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Moonie10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product that does the job

PostedJune 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought the Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest for the days many days that the great British weather is a lottery. It is so light, and packs up really small for the back pocket but when its needed its comfortable and keeps the wind and light rain at bay. Great bit of kit that I would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Nige52
Country:Holland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really light but bigger than expected

PostedJune 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Ordered in XL as most jerseys and soft shells I have are XL. A Large would have been big enough. Live outside the UK so too much bother to send back for smaller size.
Great when it cools down in the evening or starts to rain. Uses almost no space in pocket.
Great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: big in armhole
Good quality good fit in body but flaps at armholes so will get altered a little bit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
gkhr
Country:Croatia
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and good value

PostedMay 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It's really lightweight and packable. This is a pro fit so little bit tighter than Elite ones. I does not have back vents so can be flappy.
But overall very good value (30€ on sale).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
darkhairedlord
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent gilet for the money.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not quite enough stretch
Really happy with the gilet. Although others have a mesh back I've always suffered from cold around the kidney area so chose this one. I was a little concerned I might get a bit clammy but no stickiness at all. Excellent materials provided good breathability whilst still blocking the wind. Very well made and the zip is excellent, especially the kink in the zip pull for ease of use. The only negative for this product is the lack of stretch in the fabric when trying to access jersey pockets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Humph65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Essential Springtime garment

PostedApril 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This provides great barrier against those early morning chilly breezes ensuring your body temperature stays up. Where this also excels is when later daytime temperature rises you can remove and stow easily in your rear pocket as folds up to a very small lightweight bundle.
Whilst probably not substantial enough for winter temps below 5 deg and zipper is on opposite side to the norm, it now gets a regular wearing above my shirt/baselayer combo - great bit of kit especially at the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Rider88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Simple, very lightweight, good quality fabric

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Its probably the most simple gilet you will ever see or buy. No pockets. No mesh rear panel either. The fabric is very breathable and very light weight. It packs down to half the size of what I would call a standard lightweight gilet - so easily goes into a rear jersey pocket.
High collar for warmth and only the zip for additional ventilation - but this fabric is very breathable indeed with no real moisture build up when trying to work up a sweat.
The zipper is US style so is on the other side. Sizewise, 36-37 chest I went for the small - for a race fit. Which is about right.
I also have the full jacket - so yes. I would highly recommend this jacket - for road riding. Too fragile for mountain biking though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adelaidehills
Country:Australia

Lightweight

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
An excellent lightweight, well made gilet and good for viewing your jersey underneath.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
gspilot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what a Gilet should.

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Ideal for those chilly descents or when you encounter the odd light shower.....and packs really tiny, about the size of a tangerine! Great value especially at the sale price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MacLu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm, packable but flaps

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I am pleased with this vest. It is ridiculously light and packs down to a tiny size. I use a mobile phone wallet as it does not come with a pouch and it fits inside no bother. Sizing is more comfortably fitting than aerodynamic. I'm 6'2" with a 42" chest and got the large. Medium would have been too restricting. I agree with others that the fitting at the shoulders could be tighter as it does flap in the wind/at speed hence 4/5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BeanieA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

a couple of gripes...

PostedOctober 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
A really lightweight item. It's great for keeping in a pocket. Its got two annoying features however. Its baggy through the arm holes so flaps on top of your shoulders. Secondly the zipper is on the opposite side To normal, which is annoying if you are right handed. Given how simple the item is, this adds up to a negative review as they'd be so easy to correct.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mervzila
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits nice like most pearl stuff

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Flaps about quite a bit but not bad for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
belgianjim
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very thin, light weight gillet.

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
extermely thin and lightweight gillet. not sure how much warmer it is going to keep you, but easy to stuff in back pocket.
still a bit on the larger side so flaps abit and zip is on the wrong side (think this is a north american thing). but for a little bit of extra protection from the elements on a mild day when yuo don't know which way the weather will turn is ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
youngracer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great value

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
lightweight, compact, and good fit. sizing good (size S fits 34" chest, 5ft 7" tall)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GUnit25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Does the job

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I chose the Pearl Izumi over an another make as it was in the sale and the quality seemed a lot better. The gilet is very thin and light and easy to stow in a pocket if the weather warms up during a ride.
Only warn it 2 or 3 times but the fit is good and the quality seems pretty good and the gilet kept me warm using it as a top layer to stave off a cool wind on early mornings / evening rides. Maybe a bit pricey at the non sale cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bikemachine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Let down by 'balooning' effect.

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: noisy
I bought this with a view to having a lightweight, wind-proof gilet for warm ups which could be stashed away in a small space but it is fatally flawed by the fact that it baloons at the shoulders and flaps away.
I have since bought the Rapha gilet which has a mesh panel across the shoulders and would say that such a feature is a must on any non-rainprooof product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O. Barrier Lite Vest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TartanDes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very light and packs down to a tiny size

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great product. Wore it out on a coolish morning start to a ride last week and it kept the wind off nicely. A bit snug around the arm holes but nothing to worry about if just using it for 15 mins before warming up.
Rolls up to the size of a orange so great to have in a back pocket just in case on a late afternoon ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>