Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Water Bottles & Cages or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle

Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle

Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Review 1 for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SteveMH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality bottle

Posted17 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this bottle to replace my long standing Camelbak bottles because they were getting mould down where the heart valve is, despite thorough washing after every ride. The Camelbaks are awkward to dismantle for deep cleaning (they are not designed to come apart so need forcing apart). The Specialized bottle appears easier to clean although I won't know if they have any problems until they have been well used. They are easy to use and the shape of the bottle is easy to grab. The twist of the Camelbak is probably better in principle, especially for locking when riding, but I'm hoping that the Specialised is better overall in practice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nikkub
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Online

Really good

Posted14 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
So great I got another, I never really thought about it but transparent bottles are the best because you can see how much liquid you have left and when you need to get a refill!
This was really good value for money and holds 750ml of water which is loads!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nickdb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A bottle that really doesn't taste of plastic!

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Wow! I have to admit that I was sceptical when I first came across the Purist range of bottles, I used to own a pretty standard High5 bottle and the taste of plastic was so bad that I had to load my water with strong orange squash just to mask the taste - which it didn't very well!
This must be pretty expensive for a water bottle but it's certainly worth it, no odd flavours added to the water and the Watergate lid itself allows more water to flow when you need it and is easy to use on the go!
I was so impressed that I immediately brought another for the Mrs. and I will probably buy an extra one for myself in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wataboutya
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Thee water bottle!

Posted31 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: functions
Cons: Expensive
First come across these at the 2012 Olympics, TeamUSA used them and I was lucky enough to be given one.
Inner coating removes that plastic taste even if the bottle gets warm. I now leave plain water in it for days without worry.
The bottle top is the other key, easy pop up/down to open close the valve and the valve itself is called a heart valve, much like the camelbak but somehow its better due to being wider.
Widemouth bottle too, easy to add powders or drink from bottle direct.
Cost more than many others but will be in your cage for many more years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
blackjet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good but a bit pricy

Posted14 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Good bottle no unwanted tastes and the spout functions well, would recommend if you're willing to pay a premium.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nikodemus
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is well worth the money!

Posted24 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Great bottle with big opening and a really nice tip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mario828
Country:Cyprus
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Good !

Posted01 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
No plastic smell at all from new ! Have tried various others an it was this that brought me to try this water bottle. Worth the extra cash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tonyyyyyy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

EXCELLENT.

Posted26 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Was recommended this by Scott who works in the customer service dept.
Easy to clean, even the dreaded orange Powerade didn't stain this bottle like it did to my previous Camelback bottle which I returned.
Fits really well in the Specialized rib cage (which also is a great piece of kit)- NEVER COMES OUT.
Definately recommend this bottle to all.
Many thanks to Scott at customer services.
1st class service as usual from Evans.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PhunkyPhil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Doesn't leak

Posted31 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: thick
This bottle is a little thicker than my previous Specialized water bottle so its tighter in my bottle cage. Having said this it doesn't leak like the previous bottles which is why I purchased the bottle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craig71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted10 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
What can I say, it's a bottle.
Looks good, doesn't taste of plastic.
Easy to drink out of
No problem at all Excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grifter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The water bottle

Posted26 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I know it's just a water bottle but it is fantastic it keeps the water nice and fresh and has a great squeezy delivery system I went for the large bottle and Iam in the process of purchasing another. Some may quibble about the price but this is a quality product .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Purist Watergate Bottle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dazza993
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good all-round water bottle

Posted19 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought a couple of these to replace from Zephal ones that I'd had for years. You get a good flow of water from the valve which is in turn easy to open or close whilst still riding.
Not convinced that the water from it tastes like you're drinking from a glass (which is what Specialized claim) but there's no obvious plastic taste.
I much prefer the screw top opening of these than having to prize off the top as I had to do with my Zephal bottle.
All in all I'm pleased I chose these.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.