Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Evoc Bike Travel Bag

Evoc Bike Travel Bag

New: additional handle in the rear, Also fits 29", Special frame protector mat, 2 separate wheel compartments on the sides, 3 separate compartments for smaller parts (pedals, quick release skewers, tools, etc.), Wide, stable heavy-duty undercarriage with smoothly running skate wheels, Lockable zips, collapsible. Please Note; an adaptor is avaliable if you want to use this bike bag with a road bike.
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Review 1 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MTBDude
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Highly recommendable

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
So far really pleased with the travel bag. The bag looks good and seems to be of a high quality. The bike was really easy to pack and to unpack. Plenty of extra room inside the bag that can be used to pack other bike gear - helmet, shoes etc. Highly recommendable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
colinsmith123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Quality Soft Case Bike Bag

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
After using a £40 bike bag for the past three years, on a flight my training bike came back damaged. Not wanting a repeat I invested in the Evoc. Now it takes 15 mins to load up the bag. Loads of spare space for extras. Pockets for skewers tools etc.
The bag is made 'rigid' by reinforcing rods in the ends of the bag and in the wheel bag sections. The base is rigid. One area of improvement might be to reinforce the top of the bag in the same way. Seems to obvious, there must be a reason Evoc did not do this.
One more point, purchase the fork protector for an additional £20. I didn't realise this was extra but is worth paying for.
Best soft case protection for your bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jape
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular

Well structured and padded bag

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bike packs up easily and is well protected by thick padding. Easy to manoeuvre and looks great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigJohnmtb
Country:Hong Kong
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I purchased this bag after researching quite a bit on all bags that are available. This bag makes it so simple to bring your bike on trips. So simple to pack, plenty of extra storage, secure and very steady when pulling along. Use it to ship on my Downhill rig. Its sooo much better than a box.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BillSC
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

High quality bag

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've found this bag to be well made, well thought out and rugged. My all mountain 27.5" bike fits into it perfectly and everything is well protected. Highly recommended.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lizard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great design and easy to pack/unpack your bike

PostedMay 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, a bit heavy
After using bike cardboard boxes for years I bought and used on my first trip last week. Once I had set up the interior to fit my bike it packs easily. Fork accessory essential for road bike to ensure safe transport and a shame it is not included with the bag. Its easy to manoeuvre round the airport and packs down for storage. A bit on the heavy side at 12kg but provides good protection in the clever design.yes its expensive but a great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Recommended!

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this bag to go on a mtb holiday I'm Spain. I packed my 160mm El Guapo and all the straps seemed to be in the right place and made it feel well secured and safe. There was room left for my 2 helmets and pads. The handles are all well located making moving it into and out of taxis and vans an easy job. Also the plastic strips at the bottom take the drama out of going up or downstairs. And to complete, the main carrying strap lifts the front of the bag just in the right angle so all the 30kgs are supported on the wheels once again making your life easy specially when pulling it through long airport walks. I can't comment on the packs life as it has only had one trip so far but it seems to be very well built. So far I am very happy with this bag, which gives good protection and great portability for a not too expensive price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KjJamma
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

This looks like a good bit of kit.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have not used this yet but the quality is very good and seems very strong for a soft bag. It does close down reasonably small for storage. A bit pricey compared to others but they say you get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eye2iart
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product - but incomplete for road bikes as so

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, road bike adaptor is a £20 extra
A high quality product, delivered quickly. I was very happy until I read the small print on the bag of the enclosed instruction leaflet that stated that the road bike adaptor was available as a separate purchase.
I think it would have been preferable for the vendor to make this clear in the advert blurb - rather misleading to make no mention of it on the website. An additional £20 could possibly sway a decision to buy or not if you want to use it for a road bike?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aus655
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Excellent, secure product - heavy for a soft bag but kept the bike safe through long haul flights, buses, cabs, trains.... Very pleased with. Easy to move and manage despite the weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bigtime
Country:Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

great soft bag!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was looking for a well-designed soft bag that could roll up to a manageable size for an international flight destination. Four of us were taking our road bikes with us (two adults and two kids). We needed to pick bags that would roll up sufficiently to be able to stow in back of SUV with luggage while the bikes were mounted on the car rack. These EVOC bags most definitely did the trick. They offer excellent protection and a very distinctive look which is guaranteed to have you chatting with every jelous cyclist in the airport (may be a con if you are in a hurry to pack the bikes!). The bag comes with plastic rods that offer both stiffness and protection to wheels and frame and when these come out, the bag rolls up as advertized which was great. Even rolled up, beware that these bags are not small though and do require some decent space in a vehicle. The bags offer tons of space and I was able to put an additional backpack, tools, helmet and and extra wheel in each without issue. Even then, they came it at about 54lbs fully loaded. I would recommend this bag to anyone looking for a well designed soft bag at a reasonable cost. These were ordered from the UK and shipped toUSA within 5 days! Well done, Evans!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to pack, good protection & easy to manoeuvre

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, need to buy the road bike padding as an extra
I've spent a number of years struggling with a very large but basic soft bag. It was unstable when wheeling around and allowed the bike plenty of room to move around inside during transit, so finally I decided it was time to bite the bullet and get something more suited to the task.
Enter the bag from Evoc.
First impressions were that it was well made, with sturdy zips and a tough material all round, and good chunky handles all over the place. First job is to install the reinforcement rods to the main body of the bag and the wheel pockets. These are reassuringly tough to slide in, and add to the general feeling of sturdiness you get from the bag. Admittedly not the feeling you expect to get from a soft bag.
Easy to pack:
Came supplied with the frame protector wrap, which goes round the top and down tube near the headset, protecting the frame from the bars. The bike fits very logically - wheels off, stem cap off and strap the bars down; I removed the rear mech and hanger for extra piece of mind. The directions included are pretty straightforward, and there are a number of videos around online as well.
Good protection:
Naturally, this bag cannot offer as much protection as a full-on hard case, but it does offer much better padding, reinforcement and internal fixing points than any other soft bag I've seen. When combined with judicial use of pipe lagging and dropout spacers/old hubs, it's about as protected as it can be. The internal fixing is a real plus, since you can be sure that the bike will stay where you've put it - so the reinforcements, around the hubs and rear mech for example, will always be in the right place.
Easy to manoeuvre:
On my last trip to Spain, a number of guys had rented hard cases, and were very smug about how easy they were to move around the airport. And sure, 4 little trolley wheels are grand for a nice smooth floor - but I'm not sure they'd be much good on pavements, around train stations etc.
Unlike those guys, I don't have a car, so every time I travel with my bike bag, I use a combination of buses, trains and planes to get to where I'm going. This inevitably means walking to the bus stop or train station, which often includes stairs, lifts, pavements, drop-curbs and the like.
On all the mixed terrain above, this bag has proved exemplary - so easy to move around.
The lower handle is at a comfortable height, so when you hold the handle at your hands natural resting height, the wheels roll freely. With my old bag you had to actively lift the front end up to get the wheels to roll freely (i.e the bottom of the bag to clear the ground) which led to great discomfort after more than a couple of minutes.
The rear wheels are wide-set, and the way the bike sits in the bag keeps the centre of gravity low, so when rolling it really is very stable - taking it down a drop curb is no bother. And because the wheels roll so freely, you only need one hand - leaving the other hand free for important stuff, like your passport, opening doors, calling lifts, hailing taxis!!
So that's it really - it's an excellent and well thought out bag which I strongly recommend however you're going to use it, but if you find yourself having to travel on your own, particularly without a car, then I would strongly recommend this over any other type of bag.
If you're after ultimate protection, then a hard case is probably the way to go, but the compromise is extra cost, harder to move on your own and harder to store when you're not using (I forgot to mention, this compresses down to around 6 inches tall when you take the supporting rods out. The base is reinforced, so that length remains fixed. You could probably squeeze it under your bed!)
Weightwise, my Giant Trance X2 with a pedal wrench and a handful of allen keys came in a smidge under BA's 23kg weight limit, so could be taken as my "1 piece of luggage" with no extra fees incurred. I expect my road bikes will be less than this!
Flying EasyJet, I'll be booking it as a "Bicycle - Sporting Goods" - so get a maximum 32kg to play with.
N.B. I bought the Road Bike Padding Set as an extra - I haven't used it yet as I have only travelled with my MTB so far. As others have commented, I agree it's a bit of a poor show that it's not included in the price to be honest, but it's a minor quibble all told.
 
Products related to my review
 
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
William08
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works as it should

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
I used to have a Thule hard case that is built like tank. Great case since you did not have to worry at all that your bike would arrive in one piece. As with any soft case you worry about the shape your bike will arrive in. So far so good and with some extra padding and bubble wrap your bike will survive. Plus on that you can fold your bag so it won't take up that much room as my Thule case. Minus on the weight that is kinda heigh for a soft case. I have a cervelo p3 size 54 and it fits perfect
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Germsbond
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Perfect

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Have been contemplating a new bike bag for a while, my existing bag was really a squeeze so when this arrived and I packed my mountain bike for Sierra Nevada and have to say that the Evoc is everything that all the Mtb mags say it is, sturdy, very spacious, good build quality and gives you the confidence knowing that your prized bike travels in a good hands. Very pleased!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
eustachio
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overally very good, not convinced of protection

PostedOctober 19, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, easy to pack
Cons: Expensive, inadequate protection
I'm giving this an average review, not based on my experience, but that of my best friend, who bought this bag on my recommendation.
All the good reviews you'll read on the internet about this bag are true- it's light, easy to pack, pretty sturdy seemingly.
However, it's protectiveness is definitely below par. My friend and I both flew to Canada with our bikes in identical Evoc bags. We packed them both in the same manner, although I removed my rear mech, my mate didn't bother.
Outbound flight was fine. Returning to Dublin however, both wheels on my mate's bike were trashed beyond repair, and his rear mech was badly bent. I felt really bad, as my bike came out unscathed. Ultimately, he was unlucky, but a hard case would have given him better protection for sure. I'm regretting buying this case and wish I'd opted either for something lighter but cheaper, which would give much the same protection ultimately, or for a hard case at a greater cost. Had my mate just bought a hard case, he'd have saved money in the long run as he wouldn't have needed to replace 2 (brand new) wheels.
It's a shame, because if the Evoc offered better protection I'd give it 5 stars, it's very well thought out and easy to pack. But the bottom line for most people buying a bag like this is protection.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goofytowers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

evoc bike carrier

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent product.Only disappointment was that I wasn't aware that for road bikes you then had to spend an additional £20 on a further item
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trekky75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bag, keeps the bike safe

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This bag is well made and put together well. Plenty of straps and protection. Easy to move and wheel around. Folds flat for storage when removing bones from the front and back.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
astronaut
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

good

PostedJune 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Having only used it once so far , i must say its very sturdy and the compartments are very useful.
I woudnt mind seeing another set of wheels on the front of the bag but i was impressed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Morven
Country:Spain
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

A great bike travel bag

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
As usual great fast service from Evans. Very good bag - better than expected. Typical German quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Evoc Bike Travel Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wolf79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love it... says it all!!!

PostedApril 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: inner strap must be improoved
bought this last year and i love it, used it 4 times already to fly to Italy, Spain and France. I have the EVOC limited edition so is multi colour and it gets so much attention at the airport... love it!!! Fits my full sus Scott Genius 50 and my road bike Colnago No problem. Pack tidy in or under a bed when on holiday and not in use. The bike always comes out in perfect tidy conditions and i don't worry at all... plenty of bike/frame/wheel protection and handles to move/lift it around. Wheels of the trolly make it very stable. Plenty of storage pockets and low weight so is all extra weight gained for bike shose/clothing.... is the lightest, funkiest, manoeuvrable bag on the market on this price range.... recommend 100% if u got a bike that is worth the price.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>