Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light

Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light

Fibre Flare is a portable self contained safety device having a flexible solid core side emitting fibre optic element interposed between two electronic housing ends; inside each of the housing ends is a single high intensity LED. When the LED's illuminate they emit a high intensity uni-directional light beam that is directed into each end of the fibre optic core; the fibre optic then distributes the LED light input and illuminates along its entire length to emit a high intensity Omni-directional light output visible from almost any direction at distances over 300 meters (constant or strobe).
Overall rating:
4.909 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light
Review 1 for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cward99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No other light like this on the market.

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
A bright light visible from near 360 degrees around it. Perfect for attaching easily to seat stays on bikes, jerseys or the back of backpacks for commuters.
Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patrick4756
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bright light versatile - can be attached to rucksack or rear stays. The length of the light means you really stands out from the crowd of flashing red lights. Use it every day on an hour commute in London waterproof and well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
radam
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fibre Flare Light (rear)

PostedMay 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent light, very bright and easy on battery power too. (Uses 2 AAA batteries)
It's lightweight with a bit of flex to it. Also, it's fully waterproof / shatterproof.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skinn3r
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Very good rear light

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
As fare as the amount of light per ££ spent on this it is very, very good. This thing will get you noticed well before any other light I've tried. And side visibility is just as good as rear visibility. Can't fault this light really, you can even hang it on your clothes / belt loops ect. 70 hour run time on flashing too, then just pop some AA's in. Sorted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ccwisaway
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant - in more ways than one

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This light is terrific. Sorry, this "portable self contained safety device" is terrific. I can only assume they are not allowed to call it a "light".
The fibre flare is just under a foot long (shorter than I was expecting), but the whole length of it lights up when it's turned on. A strip is mounted down the rear of it, to give a bit more brightness when viewed from behind. It is very very simple to fit to a bike (or rucksack or, I assume, even yourself) and offers a very bright, very visible light.
It works in either on or flashing mode, and is visible from a long way off. Reassuringly, I can see it flashing out of the corner of my eye, so I am not worried about whether or not it's still there.
I use it in conjunction with a standrard read light, as I gather there is still some discussion about whether this is road legal as a rear light (hence the 'portable safety device' ). But it's great - buy one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
J2TMFC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

AWESOME

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this after seeing a youtube video using these on seat posts and thought it looked a really good bit of kit. I have not been disappointed and I think it is one of the best rear lights I have ever seen. There are brighter lights out there but this thing has tons of surface area and can be set to continuous illumination or flashing mode too so there are no drawbacks in terms of versatility. The viewing angle of the light is one of its best features and I believe the fact that it is visible from the side makes this a safe light to have. When you finish your ride it even doubles up as a lightsaber so its just a shame they dont come in blue and green too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MikeWCycles
 
Please wait while more information about MikeWCycles is loaded.
Additional information about MikeWCycles could not be loaded.
They do come in blue and green too :)
Posted September 29, 2014
They absolutely come in blue and green. I have a green and orange one. The green is not quite as bright or noticeable but the orange is perfect.
I wouldn't get a blue as it's a colour associated with emergency services and it would probably be prudent to avoid using a flashing blue light...
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blakey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

This will keep me safe!

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I ride with good lights front and back and hi-vis, but needed something that I could wear on my rucksack, or jacket…and this is the business.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
emster2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Can be seen at all angles

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Light can be set to constant or flashing ans can be seen at all angles. Great for cycling when it's dark as an extra light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dams
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does the job.

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
It certainly heps to be better seen. If you feel that cars are sometimes too close when overtaking, this might help. I have it fixed on my backpack for 2 weeks in cold and rainy North Scotland. So far so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bromptonaut
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excelent light and fixing

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The Fibre Flare fixings made it easy to mount on my cycle trailer.
The light output is very good too.
My only gripe is that the length of the lighted section is only about 60% of the full length.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fibre Flare Full Size Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chmpnz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

two thumbs up

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Whilst it isn't as bright as cateye lights such as the LD610 it makes for versatile secondary light since it can be attached to your bike via the silicon ladders or to your person via built-in clips. It's also well weatherproofed - in my experience neither heavy rain or spray has had ill effects whilst attached to my seatstays.
My only criticism is that the location of the 'On/Off' switch could have been made more distinctive since both ends look and feel identical in the gloom (but nothing a bit of strategically positioned sticky tape couldn't solve).
All in all, an excellent and versatile bit of kit which provides the true 360 degree illumination which many lights claim to do but few actually accomplish. Keep an eye out for them on the road if you're unconvinced, you can't miss it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.