Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet

Specialized S3 2013 Helmet

Overall rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Review 1 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tccc42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Lightweight & Comfy

Posted07 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: side straps aren't adjustable
Bought this helmet as a present for our 9 year old who wanted a lightweight, comfortable helmet for racing and this certainly fits the bill and with the removable peak he uses it for both road and MTB races. Great Value!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
JJB01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great bargain

Posted27 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got other specialized helmets in the past but I like the lower profile of the S3.great value, especially in the sale & with a further 10% reduction. Worth the £64!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
w00dy123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Helmet, even better price.

Posted23 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
A quality Helmet from a top manufacturer. Lots of ventilation keeps the head cool. Extremely comfortable with lots of adjustments available.
I bought in sale, but would have no doubt in paying the full price.
All the pros of the top-end Helmet except the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigRed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Fantastic helmet for any hothead

Posted08 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This helmet is light and secure. And even a hot head like myself stays cool with lots of air flow through the helmet.
Its very secure too, and fits my big nut easily.
And I think the money is well spent protected your biggest, and unfixable, asset.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AutoMac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits well, light, but expensive.

Posted30 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I don't know why helmet suppliers don't cater for differing shaped heads - you would expec to get a more personalised fit for over £100.
I trauled the web to find which helmets were suited to more oval/egg shaped heads (like mine). Specialized were one of those that seemed to be recommended, so I tried some on, with positive results - and bought this one. It fits well and is light and does the job - but is expensive. On checking the dimentions against my old Bell helmet (which gave me a mark on the forehead every time I wore it) I find that the shape of the two is very similar! But the Specialized vent system at the front means there is no hard par of the helmet against that part of the forehead, just a padded strap. But it is comfortable - result!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
almcal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

excellent, comfortable, perfect fit

Posted06 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this helmet as it was such good alue for money but as soon as I put it on it was so much lighter and more comfortable than my old one I loved it straight away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robe123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Great lid

Posted01 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Excellent lightweight lid with good ventilation which I would recommend to anyone. Managed to get deal by trading in my old lid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MacLassen
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect match

Posted21 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This product i a great compensation to the more expensive Prevail, the fit is exactly the same and the weightdifference is minemal, so a great product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baptiste
Country:France
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

This product has great features

Posted18 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Actually this product fits completely to my use. Moreover I was expected to be annoyed especially when climbing mountain. It reveals to be very confortable at the end and well ventilated indeed.
I definitely recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sam29
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kendal

Amazingly light weight bike helmet

Posted10 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The fit of this helmet is amazing, its so light weight you are not even aware you are wearing one, huge amount of vents which prevent you from overheating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cruella
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value, lightweight and well ventilated

Posted29 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, ventilation
Cons: Poor quality, pads come loose
Super comfortable fit with easily on the move adjustable tension. Lightweight for racing and all day wearablity for marathon events. Slight problem with helmet pads coming away from the shell due to poor quality or poorly placed sticking points. The durability of the internal padding may therefore not be very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
UnSafeFall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Very comfortable and the vents keep you cool

Posted28 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this helmet when I realised that my old helmet was 12 years old. The new helmet had to be cool (temperature), comfortable, highly visible and, if possible, cool (looks). Now every head is different but on my head it was easily the most comfortable helmet I ever wore. I tried on loads when choosing it but nothing came anywhere near close. It has a neat wheel adjustment to get the size just right and the vents keep my head, which gets hot easily, nice and cool. In fact when riding in 30 degrees a couple of times I did not think once about my head getting hot. It feels quite light and well made. I think it looks pretty cool too. I got it in white so it is nice and visible in traffic. No downside except the price - this is not a cheap helmet but it works for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beangill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent lightweight helmet

Posted09 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Easy to adjust, light weight, non female specific one still fits very well,
no side adjustment on straps. Internal cradle well padded and extra pads to help adjustments if necessary, front pad protects from rub on the forehead. I would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Steiny
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted03 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: poor attention to detail
I had seen many specialized helmets in the past and was impressed by the look and fit. This helmet was very nice, but I was a little dissapointed in the finishing. For a top end helmet I expected the finish to be immaculate. All the same - its a quality helmet - and It has not deterred me from buying specialized products again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
markh1978
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light and comfortable helmet

Posted04 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good helmet. Quite pricey but I guess I won't be complaining in the event of a crash! Looks great so would definitely recommend
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TopcatLisa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent fit and comfort

Posted28 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Purchased this helmet to replace an old Specialised lid for my partner and he loves it! Superb fit, lightweight, the ratchet adjuster at the back couldn't be any easier.
As for the service from Evans Cycles, that was as good as the helmet. Excellent service and very quick delivery, only 2 days from order to receiving the goods. Will reccomend the lid and Evans Cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized S3 2013 Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicholas1
Country:Finland
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted09 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
the helmet fits my head just perfectly! And because of its precise adjustments, I believe it will fit anyone else's just as well. It is perfectly ventilated and I don't get headache to the back of my head like I did with my last helmet, thanks to the mindset system. (And it looks really good too!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.