Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe

Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe

Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
26 out of 27Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Review 1 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oksoerlie
Country:Norway
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great all mountain shoe!

Posted02 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought them for use in the mountains, works excellent so far, stiff enough to put some power down while still being very good for short hikes over rough terrain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
DrTheodore
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good shoes, great price

Posted01 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Picked up these shoes for winter trail riding and have been really pleased. They are stiff through the sole and very supportive, very grippy and a good fit.
Have tried other "trainer" style shoes before and none of them have performed as well as these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
JohnnoP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality shoe

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, boa s2 fastening system
Cons: bit breezy for winter wear
I am a true size 9 (43) so I opted for the 44 as I do with Shimano shoes. These are very very slightly roomier than my Shimano mo88's but not too much to make them sloppy in any way. I like to wear thick socks during my winter commute and these shoes allow me to do that nicely which is just as well as they aren't the warmest shoes I've worn. This bodes well for the summer when hopefully they will keep my feet cool. The fastening system is fantastic and allows for tiny adjustments to get the right amount of tension in the strap. Off the bike they are very comfortable to walk in, almost like a fashion trainer. Not been used off road yet so I can't comment on how well they will stand up to a few knocks and scrapes but they seem more than capable of handling anything I can chuck at them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Northblairbuie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Good shoe for the price

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Bargain price for this brand of shoe, nice to pick,up from the store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Rimmer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable fitting shoe that looks great

Posted12 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Although the initial fitting felt slightly narrower across the toes than my previous Specialized shoes of the same size they have given enough after a 1-hour ride on the turbo to become very comfortable. Compared to other shoes I tried the heel cup was more secure on these and didn't 'flop' when walking in them also. As these will be used when touring, when it is necessary to walk as well as ride, this is important.
The Boa fitting is a first for me and promises to be very practical, easy to tighten/loosen whilst riding and to cater for different socks etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
Linuistic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent shoes

Posted04 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very comfortable. I bought the White ones for road use, they look like road bike shoes. The quality is top notch and excellent value for this price.
Not waterproof so recommend overshoes for rainy weather,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
webwally
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great, light, flexible trail shoe for narrow feet

Posted29 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I sit somewhere between a size 9 and 10 depending on the brand, usually take an EU4 in Shimano, used to take a 45 in Specialized but went for the 44 in these and don't regret it. Was initially put off by the BOA dial as a weak spot, but it allows a nice secure fit. A little more awkward than the Northwave style dial for removing, so best for the summer so you don't have to faff in the winter weather. Bought in the sale at £59.99 represents a good price, RRP of double that seems high though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value shoes!!

Posted27 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
These are the first shoes I've bought and size wise normally 9.5, but needed 10.5 for a comfy fit. Otherwise an excellent purchase!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
mark66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Not water resistant

Posted27 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Firstly, the bad bit - there is no way this shoe is water resistant. My understanding of this desription is showerproof and I would suggest that on a 4 mile commute in a very light shower should keep you dry'ish !
Unfortunately, IMO, the breathable panels on the shoe do not offer any resistance at all - they could do with a 3rd layer.
On the plus side, there is a vibram sole which gives very good grip, as you might expect, even in the wet (though its not much compensation if you're squelching around on the inside :-( ) and the cost : I bought them in the sale for £60 !
Conclusion - good shoe for the 'sale' money but just dont wear them when its cold and wet. I bought a size 44 when I would normally go for 43 - didnt need to but it does make it easier in the cold when wearing two pairs of socks !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very solid, comfortable shoe...

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very solid, comfortable shoe.
Great closure mechanism (velcro & disc) offering maximum comfort.
They look good and easy to clean after a day in the mud!
Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Diaby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

excellent mtb shoe!

Posted17 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, boa fastening
So far these are a brilliant mtb shoe, very glad i purchased, sixty quid is a bargain. I'm a uk9.5 and bought size 44, and they fit perfectly. The white colourway looks great and cleans up well. The vibram sole is great off the bike and offers very decent grip when you miss clipping in. I find the Boa fastening great, much better that ratchets/velcro, combine with a very good tongue it offers a comfy and snug fit, plus easy to adjust on the move! They arent waterproof but dry quickly and the ventilation should be decent come summer. Highly recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
robo0707
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for my requirements

Posted11 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I wanted a show for road biking that I could walk around in, hence the choice of an MTB shoe. This shoe is amazing, so stiff and it feels like a road shoe, yet I can walk around as if they're normal (but stiff) trainers. You can clamp you foot in really tight with the boa, to get max power through the pedals, even then, it doesn't pinch or cut off circulation! I feel like buying a few pairs in case they stop making them this good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chrisp56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect mountain biking shoes

Posted26 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These shoes are excellent. I ordered a size larger than usual as suggested by previous reviewer due to my wide feet and they are a perfect fit. They are extremely comfortable and highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Love them

Posted10 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are just perfect for proper all-mountain riding! They are light but strong, allow for comfortable hike-a-bike climbs and feel great when pedalling and descending.
They also really do look the business, with the white ones cleaning up well with little effort.
They let water in, but because they are light it doesn't matter unlike those bulky shimano shoes everyone has. I can't stand having cold/wet feet more than most people, but these are fine with some decent socks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Wide
Wide
Peeg

Brilliant all rounder

Posted07 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Really comfortable shoe. I'm a uk 12 so I tend to struggle. With my rimes long trail rides are a pleasure. I got the size 49 good wide fit and strong sole. Really pleased with them. Much prefer them to my shimano.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
ciacio69
Country:Italy
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PERFECT FOR TRAIL RIDING

Posted23 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I used along many trails in the Dolomites inItaly and also in long uphill walks. Always feel comfortable. Boa system very useful. Buy 1 size more I was 43 and 44 is perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
categor
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Fantastically comfortable

Posted07 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Tried a few on in store then ordered this online for in-store pickup, all very easy. Supremely comfortable. I use for road cycling and they're fine for that - not heavy, easy to walk in. The ratchet mechanism is a peach.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
jimbob2
Age:45-54
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Look a bit long on my feet but plenty comfy.

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Was pretty sure of Spesh sizing, but these look a bit long and have a bit of spare volume around the toes - should be ok for thick socks come winter.
The Boa fastening is great - easy to get a Goldilocks (just right) fit.
Got them at discount sale price so value good for me
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
frozen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

A great pair and a great replacement

Posted23 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These were a replacement for a pair of Specialized shoes that I've been using since 2006, which are probably the most comfortable pair of shoes I own, but were looking long in the tooth!
The Rimes were a little above my budget, I originally planned to go for a pair of Shimano shoes, however the standard ones were too narrow and the wide fit not that comfortable, but as soon as I tried the Rimes on I was sold - they feel much better made.
I've been out a few times in the Rimes and they feel great on and off the bike, the Boa dial system is great easy to get just the right closing pressure, a bit easier than the old ratchet system. One thing I've noticed is the grip on the soles, much better than my previous ones plus they're super stiff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CNN2013
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good quality, well shaped close-fitting shoe

Posted26 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, stiff sole
I bought this as a first shoe with decently stiff sole and I really like the Boa closure system. It gives the shoe a great adjustable fit that doesn't apply uneven pressure over the front of the foot and make it uncomfortable.
The tongue overlaps to give a good fit and I don't get pinching across the shoe because they are wide enough for my feet, which this brand is renowned for.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>