Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe

Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe

Overall rating:
4.533 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Review 1 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oksoerlie
Country:Norway
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great all mountain shoe!

PostedMay 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought them for use in the mountains, works excellent so far, stiff enough to put some power down while still being very good for short hikes over rough terrain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Love them

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are just perfect for proper all-mountain riding! They are light but strong, allow for comfortable hike-a-bike climbs and feel great when pedalling and descending.
They also really do look the business, with the white ones cleaning up well with little effort.
They let water in, but because they are light it doesn't matter unlike those bulky shimano shoes everyone has. I can't stand having cold/wet feet more than most people, but these are fine with some decent socks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Wide
Wide
Peeg

Brilliant all rounder

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Really comfortable shoe. I'm a uk 12 so I tend to struggle. With my rimes long trail rides are a pleasure. I got the size 49 good wide fit and strong sole. Really pleased with them. Much prefer them to my shimano.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
ciacio69
Country:Italy
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PERFECT FOR TRAIL RIDING

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I used along many trails in the Dolomites inItaly and also in long uphill walks. Always feel comfortable. Boa system very useful. Buy 1 size more I was 43 and 44 is perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
categor
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Fantastically comfortable

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Tried a few on in store then ordered this online for in-store pickup, all very easy. Supremely comfortable. I use for road cycling and they're fine for that - not heavy, easy to walk in. The ratchet mechanism is a peach.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
jimbob2
Age:45-54
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Look a bit long on my feet but plenty comfy.

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Was pretty sure of Spesh sizing, but these look a bit long and have a bit of spare volume around the toes - should be ok for thick socks come winter.
The Boa fastening is great - easy to get a Goldilocks (just right) fit.
Got them at discount sale price so value good for me
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
frozen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

A great pair and a great replacement

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These were a replacement for a pair of Specialized shoes that I've been using since 2006, which are probably the most comfortable pair of shoes I own, but were looking long in the tooth!
The Rimes were a little above my budget, I originally planned to go for a pair of Shimano shoes, however the standard ones were too narrow and the wide fit not that comfortable, but as soon as I tried the Rimes on I was sold - they feel much better made.
I've been out a few times in the Rimes and they feel great on and off the bike, the Boa dial system is great easy to get just the right closing pressure, a bit easier than the old ratchet system. One thing I've noticed is the grip on the soles, much better than my previous ones plus they're super stiff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CNN2013
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good quality, well shaped close-fitting shoe

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, stiff sole
I bought this as a first shoe with decently stiff sole and I really like the Boa closure system. It gives the shoe a great adjustable fit that doesn't apply uneven pressure over the front of the foot and make it uncomfortable.
The tongue overlaps to give a good fit and I don't get pinching across the shoe because they are wide enough for my feet, which this brand is renowned for.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bartje
Country:Holland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Grippy and stiff trail shoe

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
These Body Geometry shoes have a great fit for my lengthy feet. Although they have this very slick racy appearance the very stiff rubber Vibram soles give you grip anywhere on the trail. They're comfortable to walk in, prevents sliding off rocks when you need to carry your bike to the next trail section and keep you're feet rested while pedalling uphill and during long descents. Bit on the pricy side but the shoe is a master of all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ChainGang
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Boa closure lets it down.

PostedJuly 10, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, boa closure failure
I've had the shoes about a month and until today was very happy with them: they are good to ride in and to walk in and look ok to go out to a cafe in at the end of a ride. However today both Boa closures failed and I had to unbolt the closures to remove them to take the shoes off. I am guessing it is because I spent the last two days riding in dry, dusty conditions and dust has got into them, but that is no use for a MTB shoe.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AU79
Country:Cyprus
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent cycling shoes

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Although a bit pricy these shoes are excellent. Worth every penny i paid for. Very comfortable for cycling more than 3 hours, vibram sole is stiff but easy to walk with. Great build quality and looks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jodowa
Country:Norway
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I've been out in the woods with this shoe a few times now and they are a step up from my previous shoe. I debated the investment, as these are expensive, but considering how long I used my previous shoes I'm sure that it will pay off in the long run trusting they are as durable as they seem. I'm using these with Candy 2's and so far they've been great on muddy and tight single track. The shoe and pedals engage well over rocks, roots, and up short steep inclines. The release took about one ride to get used to, and now I feel comfortable on sketchy sections. Off the bike they grip well on most surfaces, no skating on rocks, and fine for pushing and carrying my bike through unride-able sections. Recommended if you've willing to put in the investment. Cons? the white color does show all the mud and dirt, but easy enough to clean up. The trails I've been riding have been pretty wet so they do let the water in, but seem to drain fairly well.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CyclingCrazy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Excellent Shoe - Pricey but good

PostedMay 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought these as my first clipless shoes to go with Shimano A530 pedals. Was specifically interested in the Vibram sole + BG (Body Geometry) technology to keep my legs/knees aligned. I am very impressed but then again, I probably don't know better :D
The shoe is solid but allows you to walk around. Very smart looking but I would have preferred a colour other than white since in three days my shoes look a bit worse for the wear - and I have only been cycling on dry roads!
There is great ventilation and have to say that my toes were quite cold after an hours cycling but this will be a treat when the weather warms up. Will also need an overshoe to keep this puppy clean/dry as result for those wet days. The BOA tie is awesome too.
Bought a Size 45 shoe even though I am a regular 44. The little increase in space is in case my feet ever swell or I choose to wear thick socks.
There is however a black specialized shoe that Evans is selling for around £80 that also has the Vibram sole. I did not know about it until I collected my web order at the Reading Store. So if you want a cheaper Specialized shoe with a Vibram Sole look for it. I would have gone for it if I had not already placed my order.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trond
Country:Norway
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

fantastic product

PostedMay 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Wonderful shoe. Stiff enough for racing, and grippy as can be on wet rocks and roots. Don't get too heavy when wet, and seems well padded. BOA rocks too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized BG Rime MTB Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Calvini
Country:Chile
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Other Thing

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very comfortable, 70 km of ridding without problems
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.