Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre

Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre

Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
15 out of 16Would you recommend this product to a friend?94%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Review 1 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good Like-4-Like replacement but injection marks

Posted05 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
Good like for like replacement for the tyres that came with my bike that I never had any issues with and only a few punctures over a couple of thousand miles. These new ones you can see two small indents/holes where the rubber tread is injected in the mould during manufacture which is a bit poor in my opinion. Excellent Evans Click-n-Collect!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Best Value Compromise !

Posted02 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Last winter after another rear wheel puncture on my Dawes winter trainer I took advice from Dave at Guildford and went for a Specialized Armadillo with a Specialized Inner and since then I have had no rear punctures though I often pick flints and chunks of glass out when cleaning the bike after a ride in the Surrey Hills. But the chunks never get through and the combo of Specialized tyre and Inner works really well and retains the set pressure for ever. The only negative with the Armadillo is the ride is on the harsh side even at 85psi (85-95 rec) and grip is not great BUT I'm happy with that as no rear flats in a year. So when the Conti Contact on the front started to give up after 3.5 years and had 1 puncture too many (the deeper tread seems to retain flints and glass and work them through the tyre) I was going for another Armadillo. Again I took advice, this time from Chris at Guildford, and have used the combo of Specialized Espoir Sport with their Inner and after several rides to minimise the effect of the mince pies I can report no punctures and more grip with a similar compliant ride to the Conti. In all a great combo now front and rear and if I get a front flat (which are rarer & easier to fix) it's worth it for the extra front end grip and stability! Again great advice and great service from Guildford and at under £20 for the Specialized Espoir Sport and Tube great value too. I have used the Guildford Branch now for over 3 years and what really impresses is they all work for the solution that's best for you.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good value tyre

Posted02 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
A good tyre for the price £15 bought the 700/25 giving a bit more comfort .Bought using click and collect and as always there was no problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Very reliable tyre

Posted21 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
easy decision when it came to changing my tyres, did 3000 miles on my last set of specialized espoir, without a single puncture.
Great product from a great shop, ordering was easy and pick up was the next day at my nearest shop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Puncture free for 1000s of miles

Posted22 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, puncture-resistant
Excellent tyres, not a single puncture in thousands of miles. And they are cheaper than some puncture-resistant tyres I have bought in the past (not mentioning the many punctures I had to fix...)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre

Posted07 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
The Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre came standard on my 2014 Specialized Secteur X3. I've done over 3000 miles on the bike in less than a year, the bike has only been ridden on roads but has been used in all conditions. In all that time and mileage I have not suffered 1 puncture, I have been fastidious about maintaining the tyre pressures. I'm not a racer, just trying to keep fit, save a few quid on fuel and reduce congestion in the city centre. I would recommend this tyre to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Over 5000km puncture free

Posted15 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, durable
This came as a stock fitting on my Specialized Allez and I fully expected to be replacing them soon after purchase of the bike. Nine months and over 5000km later on various road surfaces (including unmade roads and gravel), in all weathers and I haven't had one puncture.
Such is my satisfaction I've bought a like for like replacement when wear finally gets the better of my rear tyre. For £15 I couldn't be happier.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Kiver
 
Please wait while more information about Kiver is loaded.
Additional information about Kiver could not be loaded.
Update
Posted 21 December 2015
Now on to 20 months and 12,000km of riding through all seasons in the UK and I've still not had one puncture. All I've done is keep them topped up to 85-100 psi, depending on conditions, and it seems the featured “Double Black Belt” protection really does work. Considering this puncture resistance they aren't that heavy - clearly they aren't racing tyre weight but they are lighter than the vast majority of specialist , expensive puncture resistant tyres that I've not found to work as well or for as long.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tyres for beginner cyclist

Posted09 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These tyres have fared 700+ miles on bumpy rural roads whilst wearing well with no punctures.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent puncture proofing

Posted22 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
They're probably not the fastest, but I can't complain about their puncture-protection. Had them since new on my Specialized Secteur and didn't have a puncture until they were totally worn out (I used them on the road and on the turbo - I think it's probably the turbo that finished them off!)
Of course, I've cursed myself now and will no doubt be getting multiple visits from the puncture fairy on my next ride! :)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tyre

Posted12 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
These came fitted on my Specialized Allez Elite and after 3500km of puncture free riding in just over a year I have decide to replace my rear tyre. I think there's a bit more left in it but for £15 you can't go wrong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Great tyre

Posted03 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Dose what says on can never had puncher in the 1000 miles I put on them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great Value Tyre

Posted21 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I am replacing the exact same tyre as the ones that were supplied with my bike. The originals had covered many many miles, without a single puncture and I am just replacing now as they are starting to show a bit of wire. To replace such reliable tyres at just £15 each I think is excellent value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great rubber, but puncture prone

Posted02 June 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: poor punture resistance
I really do like the rubber on these tyres. What I don't like is the amount of punctures and the number of times I have had to pick out small stone fragments that were embedded in the tyres. The last 2 penetrated the whole depth of the tyre, but fortunately did not cause a puncture. I'm now left with nearly new tyres but with added ventilation!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Can't fault 'em !

Posted17 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These tyres came as standard on my Specialized Allez Sport which I purchased 18 months ago. Can't fault them, after 2500 miles I've had only one puncture. I've bought a new set but still haven't put them on the bike. I reckon I'll get another 500 miles out of the original tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

puncture free

Posted27 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These came as standard on my bike and have now done over 500 miles puncture free!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Espoir Sport Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good all round tyre

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Have found this tyre to be good for training. No puncture issues at all so I've kept using the same one.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Nottingham
Espoir tyres are good quality & extremely reliable
Posted 15 May 2013
Great tyre for all round grip and performs very well on rough tarmac. Handles grit tow paths very well and does not puncture easily.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)