Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle

Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle

Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
18 out of 22(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Review 1 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cornilios
Country:Greece
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing saddle

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable as a couch but still 200 grams!! No numbness and pedaling is more efficient, the bike runs faster and you don't want to get off!! I bought the 143 mm saddle using the "prints" on my used Brooks saddle and the size is correct! Even on the home trainer you forget this saddle when you ride it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SteveJ27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

A good quality product

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great value for money. Needed a bit of time to adjust to new saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
L88kme
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Despite appearances, very comfortable,

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
This is the second romain saddle I have ridden good distances on and have found both models very comfortable! Being the top model in the romain range, the expert I'm currently using as expected feels slightly lighter and more rigid under my "behind", The romain has razor sharp styling and in the white complements my bikes look.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IndieBoy92
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortbable and stylish

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I upgraded my original saddle to this saddle for my Specialized Allez Sport. After doing a few longish rides (60 -80 miles) it feels very comfortable and works well with the padding on my Specialized bib shorts too. Looks very stylish too.
I bought the 130mm version as I'm a bit of a skinny/narrow one (10 stone at 6 ft. 1) and it fits very well.
Beating the saddle sores is worth the £80 price tag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fogsvans
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Best saddle there is

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: none
It's not the cheapest saddle out there, but definitely the most comfortable I have found so far after trying several different. This is my second Romin evo expert saddle and if I had a third bike, it would for sure be equipped with one of these saddles as well.
It looks great as well :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
823mjp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent saddle,worth spending that little extra

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Saddle arrived promtly, fitted to bike and did a 20 mile ride. A few little adjustments and did another 20 the following day. Now for the real test 135 mile round trip. The saddle perfomed brilliantly , no chafing, numbness or soreness all the problems I have had with other saddles. Definately worth spending a little extra. I also had a friend measure my sit bones( Good friend! ) and found that I could fit a smaller saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WrongturnRich
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

My Bum Says Yes!!

PostedJuly 24, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, doesn't burn your vitals
My bum reckons this is the best £80 i've spent. And only a loon would argue with their own bum, right?
-Right.
I bought this to replace the (fairly expensive) saddle that came with my new (fairly expensive) carbon road bike. I was getting a burning discomfort in the place you least want it after about 30 miles, and having to shift all over the place on the saddle for the rest of the ride. My old bike is Specialized and never had this problem, but did get numb sit bones on long (80+mile) rides.
Anyway, got this and it's brilliant. First ride on it was 90 miles and, while not initially particularly 'comfortable', I experienced no discomfort the whole ride. Ever since it has been a pleasure to ride on. Comfy as you like and no burning pain or numbness, either.
If like me, you're a little sensitive 'down there' this saddle is great. It's also light and good looking. Hooray!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DDC5483
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great saddle

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Absolutely great saddle for long distance rides, super comfy and just the right amount of padding. The cut-out works extremely well and the covering has the right amount of grip to stop excessive sliding about.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Flandrien
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A poor product not worth the money

PostedMay 26, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, almost impossible to set-up correctly, badspecialized uk customerservice
Extremely difficult to level, after a 100km of training the rails came loose.
Poor customer service from Specialized UK. Never had a reply on my question to help for guidance on the set-up.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Consider more padding

PostedApril 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Have used the saddle for a week now. Never had lower back problems before but I have since riding with this saddle. The saddle also makes a creaking sound. So right now I am considering if a return is in place...
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rob74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Weight not what is claimed

PostedMarch 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I ordered the 130 mm wide as it had a claimed weight of under 200 grams and I have been looking to reduce the weight of my bike. The actual weight of the saddle delivered is 230 grams. which puts it in a class with much cheaper saddles.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Manabroad
Country:Spain
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Top class saddle.

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, great price.
I have just got this saddle to replace the OE saddle on my road bike.
It took very lttle time to set it up on the bike and I must say what a difference it has made to the ride..
So well done Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smileyblue
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

comfortable and great shape

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Only used for about 100km's but so far found it to be very comfortable as long as you set the level up correctly as indicated on reverse side of packaging. Great cutout to not only relive pressure but has a cooling effect which is an added bonus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous

comfort & size options

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Big guy (6'5") good width options.
Plenty of support.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fchiocci
Country:Italy

Wonderful saddle

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Once you will have found the right regulation from your previous saddle it will give you a really good feeling in riding. Moreover I was really impressed by the customer service and superfast shipping of the saddle to Italy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ADow
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just what I needed to stop the numbness

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great saddle and pleased I purchased this as it has completely stopped the numbness during rides that are longer than 30 mins. Great quality and finish, great addition to my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Syphon
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable seat, great price.

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great seat. Light, well made and very comfortable in 143mm width. The dip and cutout helps on long rides. reduces any chance of numbness.
Takes a while to find the right spot to install as the seat is not flat.
Once it has broken in it feels great, say after 200 klms of use.
Recommend. Great seat and great price from Evans. Bought another for my commuter as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JackChoo
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Happy Rear

PostedJune 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I was dumb enough to use this on a 115km first ride. It felt great in the beginning but abruptly gave me a sore butt after 40km or so. It is much firmer than the Charge Knife that I've been using for 2 years now and very very stiff by design. However, the cutout works and have really reduce the numb feeling on long rides.
60km later on 2 separate rides, it is feeling much better as I am getting more used to it. The last ride I had with it, it 'disappeared' under me. Which is a good thing!
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
taku1957
Country:Japan
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
I have is the use of 200km, has received very good impression
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Expert Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheSwede
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic all day riding comfort!

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this saddle from Evans Cycles because i wasn't available in 155 mm width in Sweden. Evans Cycles has the best price i have seen anywhere. The saddle met all my expectations. It has excellent lower back support and i didn't get any numbness when riding for 3-5 hours. Best saddle i have ever tried!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>