Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle

Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle

Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
29 out of 30Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
46 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Review 1 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neelam
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Posted06 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
I went for the Romin Evo Pro over an Antares VSX, it was a more comfortable while remaining light weight. Note on sizing - specialized store recommended a 155 even though I measure for 143 - I didn't try the 143, but very happy with the 155.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stephen007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super Saddle

Posted01 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Light weight saddle that looks the part. A saddle is a personal choice/fit, this one works for me. The channel/cut out does as intended and relieves the pressure below on longer rides. It is considerably lighter than the stock Spesh Riva that came with the bike (every gram helps), and aesthetically it looks good on the bike. That said it is expensive but you get what you pay for and if it works well it is priceless to the individual rider.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Biggee217
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Super light

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This saddle was bought specifically to relieve the slight numbing sensation you can experience with other saddles which after 14 miles in the saddle Sunday morning performed admirably, it is a relatively firm saddle which even after the hour and a half it was not a pain. The fact that you can buy it and try it and if not happy swap it makes the decision making a lot less painful on the pocket if you get it wrong the first time around.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hectores
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Frustrating

Posted11 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
Tried every which way and just couldn't set it up right, the saddle is either shoving me forward or i tip it up far enough to stop that and then it digs in at the front, it has great potential and i tried and tried but for me the shape was all wrong
It looks good though, light and well made and am sure will work for some.
The delivery however from Evans was bang on as always
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wishbonhero
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and pain free

Posted23 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
great saddle, had another similar specialized saddle but it was too narrow. bought the 155 and its really comfortable and i get no numbing but i do have good bib shorts too.worth the money. very light weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eriksson67
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great saddle

Posted16 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Sometimes one just have to give up brand loyalty and peek over the fence.Owning a Giant TCR Advanced Pro 1 I love the bike but the Fizik Arione saddle was a complete and utter pain making my parts go numb.
The Romin Evo Pro is in my opinion very expensive but worth the money since it really comfortable. Not cushy soft comfortable, far from it. But rather "all about business" comfortable, firm and well formed. It is obvious that whomever designed this knows what they are doing.
If appears to be well made and the carbon rails are pretty.
I don't care if it says Specialized on my Giant when it makes such an improvement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lost
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Superlight and comfortable

Posted16 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Purchased following a bike fit as I required a wider saddle. This fitted perfectly and is very light. Get the carbon saddle. it's only £15 more than the composite saddle and is much lighter. Worth paying the extra.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grahamsjz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What a relief

Posted21 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Comfortable at last.
Not much to add to that other than should have bought it earlier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worlds Best saddle

Posted30 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Just upgraded from the Romin Evo Comp. My lokal bike dealer sats this is by far the Best overall saddle range for long distance comfort (very subjective, I know).
My experience with the Comp version is really great. Bought the Pro because of the weight advantage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andeprkl
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Saddle

Posted13 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Now I have found it. The saddle for me. I have measured my sitbones for 143mm but I bough 155mm version. And it is perfect choise for me.
Cons: I did not find rider weight limit for carbon railed saddle until I got product. There is mentioned max rider weight for 109kg
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GingerDave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent saddle - perfect fit

Posted04 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Saddle fit is subjective and can be a fiddle. I've tried a number from Fizik, Prologo, etc. and never found one that fits me comfortably. Specialized's fitting system is excellent and allows you to find a saddle that fits the width of your sit bones rather than one for a generic body model - we're not all racing snakes, after all...
The correct width at the back means I've finally found 'the one'. The slightly raised tail is great for pushing against when climbing or turning a big gear. The middle section of the saddle holds you in place perfectly without rocking or rubbing your legs. The dipped nose allows you to get on to the drops without it squishing tender bits and is comfortable enough to remain there for long periods.
The gel padding is minimal but very comfortable. All in all, an excellent saddle and highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fenks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Comfortable, lightweight saddle

Posted26 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
I have been riding this saddle for a few weeks now, upto about 50 miles max, and I have found it very comfortable and light - which is just what I was after.
It has oval rails which might not be compatible with all seat clamps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit

Posted22 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: tricky to position
The Romin Evo has a curved shape that should support your body in a better way when you lean forward in a more agressive position. Once you manange to get the right elevation of the sadle this works great.. It was not super easy and it took me a couple of tries before I got it right.
I guess that it can differ from person to person but the instructions from specialized is a bit strange. You get the information to position the middle third of the sadle in a horizontal position. What I can not figure out is why the saddle is not manufactured so that the default position is to make the rails horizontal. I mean rails have not padding and are straight by nature so why would I put my tools on top of the saddle?
Anyway. This is a great looking product that after correct positioning do provide a confortable fit. Even at 180g it still comes with some padding and does not strike me as a typical minimalistic pro product. For me it does prove to work well and I have managed to loose some of the back pains that I constantly got with my Selle SLR.
Evans also provides Specialized saddles for a low price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gooseberry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Very light, reasonably comfortable

Posted16 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very light weight saddle, looks great, the centre channel helps to relieve pressure. Not much padding on this saddle a tiny bit more would have made this perfect but it is still quite comfortable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neuvi
Country:Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best

Posted08 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This the best Specialized Saddle, i think it is better than S-Works
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mike1611
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Best Saddle Yet!

Posted05 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I must own about 10 saddles and i like a lot of people have been looking for the Holy Grail of saddle comfort but struggled to find it.
I decided to get a proper sit bone measurement and found I have wide sit bones probably normal as i'm 6'3 and 15.7st, but I have always suffered with sit bones pain on rides of 30 miles or more, so I have just bought a pair of Assos FI. Milli S5 bibs which are really comfortable but using then with my old Selle Italia men's Gel saddle on the turbo trainer I lasted about half an hour :( not great and the reason being my old saddle is 143mm wide and my sit bones are around 160mm so the bones were pushing down on the sides of the saddle instead of being supported. I then put on my new Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle at nearly 170mm wide and sit bones supported still using the Assos bibs, it made a massive difference. I also tilted the saddle up by 8mm to take extra pressure off the sit bones and now I can manage an hour and a half on the turbo trainer no problems and out on the road it will be double that.
To sum up:
Right saddle width/cut out/angle
A pad that covers your sit bones
Right size shorts
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lostinfrance
Country:France
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Minamalist, Light Weight and Confortable

Posted23 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought to replace another Specialized saddle that was badly damaged in a race crash. When it arrived I was sceptical that so little could afford any form of comfort on anything but a short ride. I was wrong 130kms ride with no problems, a ride all day saddle and a real weight saver if that is a consideration. Bought the black colour option which on my Specialized Roubaix looks the business. A winner and great delivery service by Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will892

Posted03 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great saddle, very light due to the carbon fibre rails
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BroxRocks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Super-light, great fitting

Posted10 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've had this saddle for around 3 weeks and covered around 400 miles on it so far.
I was fitted for the saddle at Evans and this has made a huge difference, I'd assumed I needed a fairly wide saddle as I'm 6'5' and around 14 stone, but it turns out I have narrow sit bones.
There's very little padding on the saddle which suits me fine, but if you only ride occasionally you may find it pretty sore on a lengthy ride.
The saddle is easily adjustable, with a good range of fore and aft movement and a good amount of angle adjustment too.
Also, this looks great on the bike. A bit pricey, but an excellent piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thegreyfox
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

good saddle

Posted18 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
For the first 1000 miles on my Cyclocross bike, I can honestly say that my backside was the part of me that would always limit the comfort, distance and enjoyability of a ride.
Since buying this saddle, and taking a little time to set it up correctly, I can honestly say that that is no longer the case. Today, I only rode 7 miles to collect my car from the garage, but during that 7 miles I never once thought about my backside, which is unheard of !!. During the 63 miles of the Manchester to Blackpool ride last weekend, I didnt feel any numbness or chaffing and I think the more I get used to this saddle, the better it will be, to the point where my enjoyment of cycling will go up exponentially !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>