Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle

Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle

Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Review 1 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fenks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Comfortable, lightweight saddle

PostedJune 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
I have been riding this saddle for a few weeks now, upto about 50 miles max, and I have found it very comfortable and light - which is just what I was after.
It has oval rails which might not be compatible with all seat clamps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: tricky to position
The Romin Evo has a curved shape that should support your body in a better way when you lean forward in a more agressive position. Once you manange to get the right elevation of the sadle this works great.. It was not super easy and it took me a couple of tries before I got it right.
I guess that it can differ from person to person but the instructions from specialized is a bit strange. You get the information to position the middle third of the sadle in a horizontal position. What I can not figure out is why the saddle is not manufactured so that the default position is to make the rails horizontal. I mean rails have not padding and are straight by nature so why would I put my tools on top of the saddle?
Anyway. This is a great looking product that after correct positioning do provide a confortable fit. Even at 180g it still comes with some padding and does not strike me as a typical minimalistic pro product. For me it does prove to work well and I have managed to loose some of the back pains that I constantly got with my Selle SLR.
Evans also provides Specialized saddles for a low price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gooseberry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Very light, reasonably comfortable

PostedMay 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very light weight saddle, looks great, the centre channel helps to relieve pressure. Not much padding on this saddle a tiny bit more would have made this perfect but it is still quite comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neuvi
Country:Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This the best Specialized Saddle, i think it is better than S-Works
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mike1611
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Best Saddle Yet!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I must own about 10 saddles and i like a lot of people have been looking for the Holy Grail of saddle comfort but struggled to find it.
I decided to get a proper sit bone measurement and found I have wide sit bones probably normal as i'm 6'3 and 15.7st, but I have always suffered with sit bones pain on rides of 30 miles or more, so I have just bought a pair of Assos FI. Milli S5 bibs which are really comfortable but using then with my old Selle Italia men's Gel saddle on the turbo trainer I lasted about half an hour :( not great and the reason being my old saddle is 143mm wide and my sit bones are around 160mm so the bones were pushing down on the sides of the saddle instead of being supported. I then put on my new Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle at nearly 170mm wide and sit bones supported still using the Assos bibs, it made a massive difference. I also tilted the saddle up by 8mm to take extra pressure off the sit bones and now I can manage an hour and a half on the turbo trainer no problems and out on the road it will be double that.
To sum up:
Right saddle width/cut out/angle
A pad that covers your sit bones
Right size shorts
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lostinfrance
Country:France
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Minamalist, Light Weight and Confortable

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought to replace another Specialized saddle that was badly damaged in a race crash. When it arrived I was sceptical that so little could afford any form of comfort on anything but a short ride. I was wrong 130kms ride with no problems, a ride all day saddle and a real weight saver if that is a consideration. Bought the black colour option which on my Specialized Roubaix looks the business. A winner and great delivery service by Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will892

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great saddle, very light due to the carbon fibre rails
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BroxRocks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Super-light, great fitting

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've had this saddle for around 3 weeks and covered around 400 miles on it so far.
I was fitted for the saddle at Evans and this has made a huge difference, I'd assumed I needed a fairly wide saddle as I'm 6'5' and around 14 stone, but it turns out I have narrow sit bones.
There's very little padding on the saddle which suits me fine, but if you only ride occasionally you may find it pretty sore on a lengthy ride.
The saddle is easily adjustable, with a good range of fore and aft movement and a good amount of angle adjustment too.
Also, this looks great on the bike. A bit pricey, but an excellent piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thegreyfox
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

good saddle

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
For the first 1000 miles on my Cyclocross bike, I can honestly say that my backside was the part of me that would always limit the comfort, distance and enjoyability of a ride.
Since buying this saddle, and taking a little time to set it up correctly, I can honestly say that that is no longer the case. Today, I only rode 7 miles to collect my car from the garage, but during that 7 miles I never once thought about my backside, which is unheard of !!. During the 63 miles of the Manchester to Blackpool ride last weekend, I didnt feel any numbness or chaffing and I think the more I get used to this saddle, the better it will be, to the point where my enjoyment of cycling will go up exponentially !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meatspin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Even better than the Romin

PostedJune 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I've had a Romin Pro on my winter trainer for about the last 8,000 miles and it's been superb. I'd tried quite a few other saddles over the years and had never managed to find one that didn't either chafe, or cause numbness, but after measuring the distance between my sit bones and getting a Romin of the correct width, I never suffered from either problem again. First impressions of the Romin Evo are that it has all the benefits of the Romin, yet is even more comfortable when in a more aggressive ride position thanks to the slightly dropped nose. Saddles are obviously a very personal thing, but if you've already found the Romin to be a good match for you and you favour a more aggressive position on the bike then I reckon you'll love the Romin Evo.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NLythaby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great!!!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Have had issues finding the right saddle for some time, for 12 months I have not been comfortable for anything over 20 miles. With sitbones measuring over 130mm I went for the 168mm size. This saddle arrived 2 days before my C2C adventure so didn't really have time to get used to it. However, after 2 days of the C2C I was still comfortable and could have easily ridden more miles. So far very impressed! I have had some lower back pain so some tweaking required but over all I was very impressed at the comfort given. I have now ordered another one for my other bike :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hexi
Country:Finland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome Specialized product

PostedApril 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The saddle has superb lines, is comfortable and is light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MGHair
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfort

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Great saddle with lots of options to fit anyone.
Great weight and looks make this a great choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gazzaf3
Country:Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great confort related to weight

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, padding
Beautifull saddle, good padding and shape
Lightweight
Good for advanced tri-position
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StevenK
Country:Belgium
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best saddle ever used

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Light yet comfortable and not that expensive. After only one ride I felt perfectly at ease with my new saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EalingRoadie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This Saddle is fantastic...

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this saddle to replace my stock saddle to save a little weight but more importantly, increase comfort on long rides. It is fantastic! Have done a few 60 mile trips so far and really do see the benefits Specialized brag about. I see greater comfort and a superb power lay down when I sit back on the saddle to climb hills. It's simply great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muliticage
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What a brilliant saddle!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the first saddle I have used that was great from day one! I have come from a $400 Selle SMP Dynamic Carbon and the Romin Evo Pro is lighter, cheaper and way more comfortable!
Do yourself and your bum a favour and get this saddle!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gump1
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Time trial specific

PostedJune 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I would recommend the TOUPE for the serious roadies. I have a TOUPE on my road bike and bought the ROMIN for TT riding only. It gives a much more forward position, but wouldnt like it on a road bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized BG Romin Evo Pro Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EssexZombie
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pricey but worth it

PostedMay 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Okay this saddle is not cheap, but presumably you're looking at it as it's designed to reduce numbness. If you are suffering from that, buy this saddle!! It just works, so much better than the stock saddle that came on my Forme Vitesse. The flared tail seems to help my back pain too. Just completed my first century on it and it was superb. Cannot recommend this highly enough, it's worth every penny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.