Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pumps or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Lezyne Steel Floor Drive V3 ABS Track Pump

Lezyne Steel Floor Drive V3 ABS Track Pump

Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Lezyne Steel Floor Drive V3 ABS Track Pump
Review 1 for Lezyne Steel Floor Drive V3 ABS Track Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigWayne
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality product from Lezyne

Posted16 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Although I've cycled for nearly 40 years I've never owned a track pump but instead popped into my friendly LBS once a month to top up the tire pressure . . . Outside of using the freebie pumps at the LBS I also own a budget GIYO mini pump in case of emergency out on the open road.
I have used a bunch of track pumps from different manufacturers, all of them featured a clamp on valve which works well most of the time but if the pumps head is a bit worn it doesn't clamp properly or pops off during tire inflation, also sometimes it's possible to slightly bend the little presta pin while fiddling about trying to get a good fit . . .
So did quite a bit of research and finally decided on the Lezyne Steel Floor Drive which I have now owned for six months and have to say it's a great product that should last a very long time.
The ABS Flip-Thread Chuck Presta/Shrader pump-head is the best I have used so far. On presta tires the pump head screws onto the inner-tubes threaded valve and gives a perfect air-tight connection. If your inner tube does not have any thread on the tips (i.e where a dust cap would screw) then you will have to use the Included Speed Chuck.
There has been some issues reported on the web about this pump loosening/removing the inner-tubes valve-core when unscrewing the flip-chuck but it's not been a problem for me so far. I do use schwalbe inner tubes which feature removable valve-cores but I did them up tight using the right sized "spoke-wrench" and they stayed quite tight for several months . . . I noticed when installing new schwalbe tubes for friends that the valve cores sometimes come a little bit loose and I've been able to get a good quarter to half turn on them with a spoke key to get a really good lock, so it's possible that the people who had a problem with this screw on flip-chuck may have used it on a tire with loose valve cores? . . . . . The Lezyne flip chuck does put a tiny bit of torque on the valve-core when you undo it so eventually after 30-40 uses I can see it lends itself to the unscrewing of a loose valve core, this would result in the tire pressure being lost quicker as air slowly escapes from the tiny micro gaps around the cores thread . . . The Lezyne ABS system is touted by some as a way to adjust the pressure down to the required amount should you over-inflate but according to a Lezyne tech support staff I spoke with this ABS system is meant to take the pressure out the hose so that you are able to unscrew the flip chuck without unscrewing the Presta valve core! . . . . On Shrader tubes the ABS system may actually allow micro adjustments of air pressure but on Presta tubes the pumps gauge just drops to zero when you press ABS . . . Just for good measure I have now glued in my schwalbe presta valve cores using some Loctite 242 and that's that!
The pump itself is all well made, the pressure gauge seems accurate, I also use one of those little blue schwalbe digital pressure gauges and it agrees with the Lezyne. The figures on the gauge are a little smaller than usual so it's not easy to read the PSI without bending over every now and then to double check . . . the scale goes all the way up to 160PSI which should be fine for most riders, I only used this myself up to 120PSI but that takes little effort so I don;t see 160PSI being a problem.
What else did I miss? . . . . the hose is a good length which people/mechanics who place the bike on a raised up repair stand will appreciate, the handle is wooden and nice to hold and the aluminum base is big enough to allow large feet to stamp on it but at the same time not being too big to take up extra floor space . . . This Steel pump is made from mostly aluminum, steel and wood so it looks like it will last a very long time instead, they have also just released a "digital" version of this pump but it's nearly twice as expensive! . . .
All in all I'm happy with this purchase, worth £35 no problem and would recommend, I actually look forward to using it every week and it makes the task of getting high pressure in your tubes very easy.
Last thing I'll mention is, if your not sure how much pressure you should put into your tires then gOOgle "Tire Drop" and read the Bike Quarterly .pdf *Optimizing Your Tire Pressure for Your Weight* . . .
Hope this info helps someone out there! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lezyne Steel Floor Drive V3 ABS Track Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
P3tmo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent Pump

Posted18 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This pump works well, it is capable of blowing up tyres to quite a high pressure without too much effort.
The screw on adapter works really well, saving a lot of hassle.
Only downside is the pumping action could be smoother.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lezyne Steel Floor Drive V3 ABS Track Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mottet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

effortless, non pareil

Posted12 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast easy inflation, valve lockable adapter
Cons: no cons!
Big fan of this pump, my old 1980s Silca track pump has finally bit the dust and would cost more to overhaul in £s and spares, that are tricky to locate than is worth the trouble so I wanted a top quality pump.
Very clever design with reverse adapter built in for various valve types and of course the adapter screws onto the valve so no leaks when fitting or removing the valve and an easy fit and no chance of damaging the valve as brute force is not needed when pulling or pushing the adapter onto or off the valve which might seem a small issue but we've all probably lost a tube or certainly damaged a valve doing that.
To achieve approx 100psi is around 15 very effortless strokes of this pump so I'd it's quick and easy.
When I say effortless I mean it, there's so little resistance it belies the pressure going into the tube.
Highly recommended, can't imagine anyone being disappointed with this track pump.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lezyne Steel Floor Drive V3 ABS Track Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pilot90
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love this pump

Posted20 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
As everyone seems to say, you don't realise how essential a track pump is until you own one - until I got this I was massively under inflating my rear tire, and it's so much less effort than pumping away with my topeak race rocket mini pump for 15 minutes.
I decided to get this pump as Lezyne are apparently a byword for reliability, and many track pumps apparently break after a short period of time - I have no doubt in my mind that this'll last for ages, and looks amazing in black.
2 notes for cycling noobs such as myself:
1. When I first got this pump it was *a tad* creaky on the downward stroke. I sprayed some silicon spray (NOT gt85, as this apparently damages the O ring within the pump) down the barrel and is now perfectly quiet.
2. When I first started using the pump I was a bit baffled by how to pump up a presta valve. Whilst pumping a shrader valve, the gauge slowly rises as you'd expect it to. When using a presta, the gauge would not turn at all, and it felt quite tough to pump. The presta core was fully unscrewed. Basically, what I found was that you need to release most of the air out of the tire, and then start pumping. Once the pressure in the hose is greater than the pressure in the tire, the gauge will jump into action, and everything works as expected. When you get to your desired pressure and press the ABS button to release the pressure in the hose, the gauge will flip out a bit but don't worry, you still have the correct pressure in your tires. I'm sure 99% of people are well aware of this already, but hopefully I've helped out a few fellow noobs.
Conclusion: get this pump!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lezyne Steel Floor Drive V3 ABS Track Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crooksy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent. No need to spend any more.

Posted03 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: none
I've been struggling on with a 7 year old floor pump with a very worn push on valve fitting which leaks air as you pump. Why I haven't replaced it unitl now is beyond me. This pump is the best bike item I have bought in many years. A pleasure to use, inflates tyres quickly, no leaking from the screw on valve fitting, just excellent and a bargin. Why spend more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lezyne Steel Floor Drive V3 ABS Track Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyM19
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Pump

Posted24 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Not had much use yet, but seems to be a of good quality and sturdy.
Easy to use and inflates quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lezyne Steel Floor Drive V3 ABS Track Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PedlinPete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Top Quality

Posted05 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought to replace a Joe Blow 11 that was falling apart in my hands. The Lezyne is a quality beautifully made pump, that pumps up to 120psi with ease and on up to 160 if you require. The best bit is the screw on chuck, far better then the usual lever type heads, screw it on for a totally leak free seal and no more bent presta valves. With a long flexible hose, a nice clear steady gauge and classy and comfortable wooden handles the Lezyne is clearly a league above most other pumps.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lezyne Steel Floor Drive V3 ABS Track Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BoBike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Solid good value pump with screw thread chuck

Posted01 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, solid, spares available
Cons: Heavy, fiddly
Good value pump with same screw thread chuck as more expensive Lezyne models. It's great for not letting out any pressure when removing chuck plus if you have deep rims and only a short valve thread showing te thread attachment avoids the need for long exposed valve heads. Just make sure the valve core is securely tightened first.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.