Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump

Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump

Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 out of 28(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Review 1 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lordylord
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent for getting to high pressure

PostedJune 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, compact
I bought this pump due to the small size as it allows me to stow it away in either a jersey pocket, or in my topeak medium saddle bag.
I was unsure if a pump this size would get up to a decent pressure but was willing to bet it would be enough to limp home.
However over the weekend I punctured about 50miles from the end of a circuit I was on, and prepared to cut the ride short - however the pump worked a treat and the tyre easily inflated until it was a similar pressure to the front tyre, and I was able to complete the ride.
A quick check at home shows I got the pressure up to just over 100psi (on a 23mm tyre). I guess I could have got it even higher than this with a bit more time, but ultimately this really is fine pump for getting you out of a jam.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blackjet

Excellent Pump

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Small, lightweight and well designed. Possible to build a surprisingly high pressure in the tyre with such a small pump. Would recommend this to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cornbeef
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good sized pump to carry just incase

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Lost my last pump so ordered this one and the first ride out after taking delivery I got a blowout. Changed the tube and pumped up the tyre no problem. Comfortably got enough pressure in the tyre to cover another 18 mile to get home no problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matt821
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great design & nicely finished

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to use
I have only used this once so far, so a little early to give a detailed review. First impressions are good though. Decent price, really nicely built and a good compact design which is really easy to use too. It's designed mostly for road riding, but have yet to use it in that context. Have only used it briefly to quickly pump up a mountain bike tyre. Takes quite a but of work, but due to it's size this isn't exactly surprising. It isn't designed to replace a proper track pump.
So far so good though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GP693
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little Pump

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Having used this, I was amazed at the ability of this little pump to get my tyre pressure up to rideable pressure in no time at all. Great looking, light weight and stows away in a jersey pocket easily.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sisavedbygrace
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reliable

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Great pump and gets great PSI pressure very quickly, needed it twice on a Sportive recently so very pleased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paulo77
Country:Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Very light and compact. Does the job well. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
aaron10
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and Beautiful

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
It works and it's light. I have it with me everytime I am out on my road bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul299
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal when on the road

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great little pump that's perfect for use when on the road.
I like it because it's small enough to fit in my Topeak Aero wedge saddle pack (I have the medium one) with a spare inner tube, puncture repair kit and Alien III multitool.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave57
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best compact pump I've had

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This pump is small enough to carry in a jersey pocket, but still manages to inflate a tyre to a high pressure fairly quickly. The flexible connector means an airtight joint with no chance of damaging the valve.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thebobajob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worth the money

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, discreet
Cons: Expensive, not sure about rubber clip lasting
Should I really spend that much on a pump which ultimately is going to take me ages to pump up a tyre? Is was a question I pondered over for 24 hours until I realised my Sportive was looming and I needed it quick sharp.
My previous pump was carried everywhere and remained unused from the day it was bought until the day I finally needed it when...it wouldn't work.
I bought the Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump based on size and reviews and decided I didn't really need a gauge. But, I thought, I had better buy a decent pump this time, just in case.
It so happens that I used it on its first outing, three times.
It looks inconspicuous mounted next to the water bottle cage and the black version fits in with my bike perfectly, making it even less obvious. It is easily clipped on and off, though it will be interesting to see how long the rubber clip lasts compared to Velcro ones of the past.
I love the extendable hose as I am always bending the valve, and the quick extra extendable bit to convert from Schrader to Presta is a great addition and makes for a simple conversion.
I did initially struggle to screw the hose on and found it was screwing down the Presta valve as I did it, though this could well have been due to it being slightly bent already, and it did seem to get easier the more I did it.
Having had to use it to firstly to inflate a low tyre and then to fix 2 punctures, all on the same ride, I feel I can safely say this is a great pump. It surprisingly and quickly inflated the tyre to a pressure which seemed pretty hard (though exact PSI not known) and was definitely enough to get me round the final 20 miles of a Sportive.
It is obviously small to hold but the extendable hose helps get your hands away from the wheel to use it properly. It is genius the way it all contracts so neatly and I think the dust/water cap seems pretty sturdy and is close fitting to prevent the muck getting it (I think that was the main reason my other one broke). It feels solid and well-made but is very light.
It is expensive but worth the money and I have already had my money's worth out of it! I may treat myself to one for my other bike - any offers looming?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mattan
Country:Israel
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seems durable

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
To be honest I didn't have the chance to use it yet...
But It looks like a good product made of good quality materials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hieph2005
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Robust, compact, versatil cycle pump

PostedMay 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Compact pump - does the job well - even fits into a Topeak cycle wedge bag. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeffo
Age:25-34
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little pump

PostedApril 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I've mounted mine next to my bottle cage on the down tube and it is hardly noticable there. Feels like a solid, well made little pump. It has no gauge but in emergencies I'm happy to guess the pressure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Morgan1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very light and compact, performance not bad for a pump of this size and the quality seems to be of a high standard…. Only time and the number of punctures will tell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twilightcyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent!

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Small, neat, lightweight and very effective. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikeOldie
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Little Pump

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, attains high pressures
The flexible, screw-on connector is one of the outstanding features of this pump as it ensures no loss of air when pumping and no strain on the valve. The small bore certainly makes it possible to reach very high pressures, 100psi being no problem in a resonably short time. It is short enough to go in my Topeak "Aero Wedge" toolbag. It's being so small takes a bit of getting used to, but isn't a problem in practice. Gives the impression be very well made.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
runbike4life
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lightweight pump with power

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not suitable for use with continental inner tubes
I needed a pump to replace my expired Specialized Air Force 4. After reading many reviews all pointed to the Race Rocket HP Pump. This is a great lightweight pump that you can carry in your back jersey pocket. It does come with a bottle mount bracket but i am not a fan of mounting on the frame. I could get no where near the 160psi quoted. 100psi is about the mark. If you have the patience i am sure you could push up towards 110psi but 100psi is enough to keep you riding. One word of warning, the presta adaptor is not suited for Continental inner tubes because you can unscrew the actual valve when you are removing the presta adaptor which then leads to massive air loss. I now carry just Specialized inner tubes as these have no valves that can unscrew.
One of the best design features of the pump is the flexible adaptor that screws into the housing. This flexible adapter prevents you putting undue pressure on the valve during the pumping operation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aaron21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small, powerful road pump

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This pump fits perfectly next to the bottle cage on my bike. The provided holder keeps it very secure and means there is no need to carry a pump in the back of your jersey anymore. The flexible hose means no unnecessary pressure is put onto the valve and makes holding the pump whilst in use much easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Race Rocket HP Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CarlP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact and powerful pump

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this largely on spec, but have not been disappointed. It must be about the smallest pump on the market at the moment for the high pressure max it can achieve. Quite impressive. Not yet used it in real road emergency situation, but it does deliver air quite quickly when I tried it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>