Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2

Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2

Overall rating:
4.743 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
35 out of 35Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Review 1 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quick and easy installation offering practicality

Posted10 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I ride both on and off road and was looking for something that would afford flexibility when towing little passengers; offering them protection from wheel spray.
Why this particular mudguard? A combination of:
Good coverage
Quick release
Adaptability
They fit my mtb really well and provide a sensible amount of clearance and can be adjusted to suit.
Great for being a truly quick release mudguard. Fitted and removed within minutes, most importantly with ease.
At this moment in time I can only recommend but can't really comment on their longevity given these are a recent purchase.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Macclesfield

Easy fitting, light weight and do the job

Posted19 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought mainly for the commute to work on my MTB, took less than 5 mins to fit (front slots between the underside of the bridge on forks and rear to seat post) and keep water etc off, as you'd expect! Tend to use just the front one on trails, which is down to personal preference, so the quick release on rear comes in handy. All in all great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Chiswick

Good product, easy to fit

Posted30 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I use it for a 650 bike and it suits it well. Easy to fix, would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and works good.

Posted18 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
A very good item, does what is required to, stops the water. The quick release feature is really handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

does exactly what it states

Posted03 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great product, does exactly as expected, good quality and easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crawley

Does the job and looks good!

Posted19 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
A neat mud guard that keeps the mud off and looks the part. The front fits into the steerer tube which I liked as it helps keep the mud from contaminating the headset!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good protection from spray

Posted02 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, performance
The rear mudguard has more adjustment than most enabling you to get it reasonably close to the tyre (due to the 2 joints instead of the usual 1). The front mudguard obviously moves with the handlebars, so offers much better spray protection than the crud catcher frame type. Consequently my backside and face have stayed a lot clearer of mud on my winter trail rides :-)
So far I haven't had any problems with the brackets breaking as others have suggested and am very pleased with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Poland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Chaos77

Posted02 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This product is spot on good value perfect quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great mudguards, easy to fit

Posted16 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
These were extremely simple to fit, highly adjustable and (although not fully tested yet) look like they'll offer quite a bit of mud protection. I'd definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Posted09 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: pitty no two for one offer
just cannot find a better pair of mudguards and as the first set i bought for bike I use 2 to 3 times a week for 3 years and still as good as the day bought also remain flexy in frosty days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Thailand
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Highly adjustable, sturdy mudguards

Posted03 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, great adjustability, great fit, sturdy
Cons: not total backside protection
After fitting a Topeak rear rack, my previous SKS rear mudguard was incompatible as the mount won't get through the narrow opening.
Figuring from this model's slim double jointed extension arm on Evans website I decided to order it and voila, it works! The rear fits perfectly and sturdy enough not to bounce up and down and make annoying bangs to the rack.
The quick release is adjustable for just about any diameter seat post and clamps securely.
The front comes with 2 sizes of expandable bungs should fit most 1-1/8 and 1-1/2inch forks and fit snugly with no noticeable flex while crashing over bumps and protect my handlebar bag.
What looked like grey tips on the website are actually translucent rubber-like part that soft to the touch and help avoid unpleasant scratches of most other mudguard types.
Only gripe is that the rear has not given me 100% splash protection to my backside, but this might be fixable with angle adjustment.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect!

Posted07 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Keeps the mud off, are good quality and very easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value Mudguards

Posted03 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
Simple to attach, Quick release, Looks Great, the rear part of the front defender could do with being an inch or two longer. Only recently purchased so i cant say how long they will last. If you don't over tighten things they shouldn't be a problem. Evans cycles has the best price i have seen and delivery was second to none.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best MTB mudguards ever!

Posted26 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I've had a few different types over the years and these are the best ever! Easy to put on and to take off or re-adjust when they have had a knock.
Click off and on front guards make it so easy when cleaning or when lying bike down in the back of the car. Recommend to everyone!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great value mud guards

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
These were bought for my brother and his new mountain bike, they look great and were easy to fit, recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

nice design, effective protection

Posted04 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
the design is great and protects well.............
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Pretty good set

Posted07 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: nothing comes to mind
Ordered on line, picked up in store. Fits well and does what it is supposed to do. Easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Posted04 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
easy and simple does what it states also its easy to fit onto mtb
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

This product is easy to fit and looks good

Posted02 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to fit
Cons: Expensive
Seems a good product - easy to fit and adjust and looks good. Perhaps a bit more expensive than it needs to be but bought with a new bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Mudguards

Posted02 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These mudguards are pretty good; easy to fit & easy to adjust. The quick release feature is really handy, especially when putting the bike in the back of the car. They also look cool
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>