Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2

Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2

Overall rating:
4.652 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Review 1 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jd007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quick and easy installation offering practicality

PostedJune 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I ride both on and off road and was looking for something that would afford flexibility when towing little passengers; offering them protection from wheel spray.
Why this particular mudguard? A combination of:
Good coverage
Quick release
Adaptability
They fit my mtb really well and provide a sensible amount of clearance and can be adjusted to suit.
Great for being a truly quick release mudguard. Fitted and removed within minutes, most importantly with ease.
At this moment in time I can only recommend but can't really comment on their longevity given these are a recent purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kiwijian117
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best MTB mudguards ever!

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I've had a few different types over the years and these are the best ever! Easy to put on and to take off or re-adjust when they have had a knock.
Click off and on front guards make it so easy when cleaning or when lying bike down in the back of the car. Recommend to everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DWC85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great value mud guards

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
These were bought for my brother and his new mountain bike, they look great and were easy to fit, recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bravoparis
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

nice design, effective protection

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
the design is great and protects well.............
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
60ishPaul
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Pretty good set

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: nothing comes to mind
Ordered on line, picked up in store. Fits well and does what it is supposed to do. Easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrjaybugsymalon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
easy and simple does what it states also its easy to fit onto mtb
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ed27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

This product is easy to fit and looks good

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to fit
Cons: Expensive
Seems a good product - easy to fit and adjust and looks good. Perhaps a bit more expensive than it needs to be but bought with a new bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrMagoo89

Great Mudguards

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These mudguards are pretty good; easy to fit & easy to adjust. The quick release feature is really handy, especially when putting the bike in the back of the car. They also look cool
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drawde
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Easy to fit and works like a charm

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these as I was sick of having a face full of mud and a wet back. Fit perfectly to my Gary Fisher HiFi. Very slight reduction in front travel, one particular bump on my commute pretty much bottoms out the front fork when I hit it at close to 30mph :) and the tire rubs the front mudguard, but there is no visible damage after 20+ runs and it never caused a problem. And lets face it if I was doing serious stuff, as opposed to some XC on my daily commute, I'd just take it off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davew5169
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

PostedMay 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
A very good item, does what is required to, stops the water
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
weirdu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality product so good that I have bought 2 sets

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
This is a quality product that was extremely easy to fit to both my full suspension MTB and my wifes hardtail. A small tighten up after the first use on the front mudguard is all the attention this fine set of mudguards has required. Fast delivery from Evans AND cheaper than Amazon....what is not to like?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Potter1986
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

This product is really easy fitting

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
The front and back mud guard set is worth the money and it is really easy fitting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This mudguard set keeps water and mud off very well , they are well made from quality materials and look great .
Found it a bit fidgety to fit the front mudguard a wedge size between the two supplied would help .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaveyR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Highly recommend.

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought 2 sets for both my sons Specialised Hardrock bikes. Easy to fit and very good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lifecycle

Great Quality and Value

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I fitted these guards to my Voodoo Canzo FS MTB and they were simplicity themselves to fit and look great. They are easy to remove for cleaning and look like they were made for the bike.
Buying them as a pair rather than individually makes for great value.
Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bonniemax
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Purchase

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I reviewed several mud guards on the market and eventually went for these. Glad I did, really pleased with them, good value, easy to fit and they look cool!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
porsche924
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very practical - probably the best available

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is the 2nd set of these i have bought.
Used the 1st set last winter on my off road comute in kent and found them to be very worthwhile, so have now fitted them to my wife's bike to keep her cleaner during our winter weekend rides.
The front mudguard attaches to the forks so still gives protection when cornering. Very easy to take on and off so you only need to use them when the conditions are bad.
They do add a bit of weight, which is mainly in the fixings but they are durable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spooky21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent wheel coverage

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, perfect adjustability
These are so easy to fit and they come with 2 different size wedges for the front guard for fitting to almost any fork. The best part about the front guard is that you can remove the 2 guards without undoing the guard carrier. Very handy for cleaning. The rear is adjustable to a high standard with endless positions to suit every rider and wheel type.
VERY IMPRESSED.
Great price too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
AmoBee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Great BULKY mud guards!

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
These are great for mountain bikers but they are a little big for folding bikes and commuting people. They fit well but add on a more weight and are just bulky. That said, they are awesome in wet and muddy conditions which is what they are designed for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Defender Mudguard Set M1/M2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doug87
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Excellent product

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Really pleased with these mudguards. I used to have some £15 ones that were really flimsy, kept warping and looked bad. I'm pleased that I spent the extra £10 when they needed replacing.
The mudguards look good, seem to be made of quite strong plastic and stay in position.
My local shop only had the mudguards stocked as individual items, which was about £8 more expensive, but you can order them in as a set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>