Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4

Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4

Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4
Review 1 for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thompson003
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid case and stem mount for iphone

Posted22 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Well made and has an excellent quick release mechanism for the iphone and ability to easily turn the phone from portrait to landscape. Also comes with rubber protective seal cover to keep rain and dust off.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Posted 07 July 2012
Initial impression good, light & secure. Have had bad experience with 2 previous mounts so pleased this is better. Only problem I can see so far is going to be to keep phone sufficiently charged for longer rides, as with ease of access on bars I'm using it more whilst riding (navigation etc) and can't use a charging case.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Glennennie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Expensive

Posted17 April 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Good fit , easy to fit takes minutes & I like the click to Panorama mode.
Issue I have is when moved into a higher view rather than resting on the handle bar it doesn't stay up.
Finally I think its very expensive at just over £30,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sixstringer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Secure mounting for your iPhone

Posted22 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Sturdy and well designed. Looks good. Difficult to fault. I've ridden at speed over some pretty rough surfaces with my iPhone mounted on this and I have absolute confidence in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Sturdy and looks like manufacturer fit

Posted11 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I originally wanted an iPhone bike mount because I wanted to run Strava live showing segments, average speed and heart rate. I also run music through the iPhone so changing tracks / volume is also quite important for power tunes!
I originally (and impatiently) was going to get another mount as the Topeak wasn't available at that time, but it would have meant mounting on the handlebars and I was advised from Evans guy not to waste money on that one as it's not as good as the Topeak one, so I waited and got this one.
I am not disappointed, it mounts on the top of the stem, and took me around 25 seconds to fit. The iPhone neatly glides and clicks on the mount, and unclips easily.
The angle can be adjusted, this is done when not tightened with the allen key to have any angle, or horizonal view.
The waterproof jacket that comes with it makes it waterproof, however there is no hole for charging or headphone jack - a good thing maybe? However I have modified mine, by putting a tiny hole so I can feed the headphone jack in. If the headphone jack is always plugged then it will always be watertight.
Value for money = Excellent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kate172
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Clear, solid, easy navigation.

Posted03 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This is a little on the pricey side, but I bought it as a replacement for the Topeak drybag, which really didn't last very long at all.
This ridecase fits on the stem in the middle of the handlebars, so is right in front of me for easy viewing. It clips in easily, feels solid and has a useful rain cover. It doesn't bounce about too much off road. I'm struggling to fault it really. I also bought the powerpack that sits underneath. Some pricey gadge, but means that the navigation with the iPhone can be a real bonus and we have no worries about a day of exploring on the bikes. Every two-wheeled commuter, explorer and geocacher should get one!
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i4u2nv
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product.

Posted23 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, reassuring fit
I have been using the Ridecase for my commute to work for a few weeks now, via the 'stem mount' piece of the kit. I do a 15mile round trip daily on a road bike and some parts of the ride are quite bumpy and cause vibration in my bars. So, my concern before buying was that it may 'let go' of my iphone4 and result in a costly replacement. However, the iPhone4 clicks into the case with a very posative click and is very tight fit. Almost a little difficult to get the phone out at times. Same again when clicking the case onto the stem mount. The stem mount is sturdy, and not budged since fitted.
The waterproof cover is effective at keeping light rain off, and does not effect the operation of the touch screen. I haven't been out in really heavy rain though, and I suspect it wouldn't be great at stopping water Ingres from the underside.
The components are manufactured to a very high quality and the finish is very elegant.
Overall I'm very happy with the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Notthedoctor
Country:United Kingdom

High quality, secure and easy fit.

Posted10 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I fitted this on front stem in 2mins. Especially like the way the holder replaces my previous iPhone case as its beveled back looks cool. Phone can be rotated at any angle and vertically too so you can use the camera function and record your trip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Badmark
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Disappointing - lost my phone

Posted29 July 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: failed
Used this 3 times and then lost my phone whilst using on the road. Topeak showed no interest and just offered me test results to avoid a claim and didn't even re-call the product. My advice is only use this product with a spare phone you can afford the risk of losing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulTC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Much better than a conventional bike computer

Posted03 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This case is fully waterproof (just returned from Lake Geneva ride, and it was wet!), and with an app on the phone provides much data, maps etc
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Habbers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product with versatile attachment.

Posted02 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, you can permanently leave phone in case
Cons: not totally waterproof
If you have an iPhone and want to fully utilise the apps and GPS facilities, this is the product. The case is snug and encloses the back and edges of the phone and just slides on to the fixed mount whenever you want to ride. I use this case all the time and never notice the fixing slide on the back. The holder on the bike has two options, screw in to stem cap or use the bar mount with cable tie provided. I found using the stem cap makes the phone a little too close, so I used the bar mount but fixed on the stem and this works nicely. The waterproof cover is very snug and will protect in all but heaviest downpours.
Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Ride case for iPhone 4
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mjl81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks good, Expensive but secure

Posted20 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Looks great, Was happy untill i went to fit it.
Just take note the stem cap mount wasnt compatable my expanding stem cap. It may work with others!
I guess it designed to be used with a star fangled nut.
Have now ordered the handlebar mount which was another fiver and as far as i can tell it won't give me the tilt function.
After clipping the phone into the case it looks secure and even though its expensive its cheaper than a new phone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.